Best Answer

The Houston Comets defeated the New York Liberty (65-51) to win the first ever WNBA Championship in 1997. The Comets won the first 4 WNBA Championships.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-12-19 20:06:09
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What WNBA team won the first championship in 1997?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What WNBA team won the first championship?

the first wnba championship was the shocks!

Who was the first team to win the WNBA championship?


Who was the first team in the WNBA to win a championship?

The Houston Comets won the first four WNBA Championships. The first was in 1997 when the Comets defeated the New York Liberty 65-51.

Which WNBA team won the championship in 2012?

In 2012, the Indiana Fever were the WNBA champions.

Which team in the WNBA won the championship?

Cheese people

What WNBA team won the 2006 championship?

Detroit Shock

How long have the Houston Comets been in the WNBA?

The Comets were one of the original teams when the WNBA started in 1997. They won the first four WNBA titles and have won the most WNBA titles of any team in the league.

Who was the first black WNBA player?

The first woman to be signed in 1997 (the opening season of the WNBA) to any team was Sheryl Swoopes. Swoopes, an African-American woman, was signed to the Houston Comets.

What are Lisa Leslie achievements?

4x olympic gold medalist(1996,2000,2004,2008),First player to dunk in a WNBA game,First WNBA player to reach 3,000 point plateau,MVP of both WNBA finals and All-Star game at the same season(2002),Led WNBA in rebounds in 1997 and 1998,First player to win both WNBA finals MVP and All-Star game MVP,3x WNBA MVP (2001,2004,2006),First player to dunk in a WNBA game,7x WNBA All-Star (1999-2003,2005,2006)2x Defensive Player Of The Year (2004,2008),All-Decade Team,All-WNBA First Team(1997,2000-2004,2006),All-WNBA Second Team(1998,1999,2005),All-Defensive First Team(2006),All-Defensive Second Team(2005)

What WNBA team won 2007?

The Phoenix Mercury defeated the Detroit Shock in five games (3 games to 2) to win the 2007 WNBA Finals. Phoenix point guard Cappie Pondexter was named the Finals MVP and this was the Mercury's first WNBA Championship.

First unranked team to win the championship?

This was the first unranked team to win the championship

People also asked