answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

That would depend on how the runner was retired at second base. For example, if the runner slipped and fell on his way to second base and the outfielder had the time to throw him out on a force play, the batter would not get credited with a base hit. If the runner made it to second base safely and then slipped rounding the bag and the outfielder threw to second base and the runner was tagged out, the batter would be credited with a base hit. If a runner is forced out at any base, regardless of where the ball was hit, the batter is not credited with a base hit.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-05-01 23:34:07
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: There is a runner on 1st base with 1 out Next batter hits a ground ball to the outfield and reaches first base and runner is out at second base Does the hitter ger credited for a single?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Does the hitter get credited for a single if he makes a ground ball hit to the outfield and the runner at first gets forced out at second base?

No. In no situation can a batter be credited with a base hit if a runner is forced out.


If a ground ball to the infield scores a runner when they throw to first to get the batter is it a sac for the batter?

No, it is scored as a ground out and the batter is credited with an RBI.


How do you score a ground out with an rbi?

The batter would be credited with an RBI, and 0-1 for that plate appearnace


Is a batter out if the first-baseman controls the ball on the ground before the batter reaches first?

no.Unless the first baseman is touching first base.


What does A means in baseball fielding?

"A" is the abbreviation for an "Assist", a scoring record of a fielder who throws out a runner, such as a ground ball to short and the batter is thrown out at first, the shortstop is credited with an Assist. Two "Assist" may sometimes be credited, such as when the ball is hit to the outfield, the outfielder may throw to another fielder who then throws the baserunner out. In that case both players involved in throwing out the runner is credited with an "Assist".


How many ways can a batter reach second base?

I don't know how many ways, but here are the ones that I can think of. The batter hits a home run. (Even though he passes the base, he still reaches it) The batter hits a triple. The batter hits a double. The batter hits a ground-rule double. The batter hits a ball that gets stuck or lost in the outfield wall (or ivy) or other structure. The batter hits a single, but a fielder's error allows the batter to take an extra base. I can't think of any others.


What is the official scoring of a ground ball that hits the runner?

The baserunner is out and the batter is credited with a single. The putout goes to the fielder closest to the ball when it hit the runner.


Why do few large plants beneath conifers?

Lite light reaches the ground


If a ball is hit over third base and the third baseman reaches across the line and catches the ball is the batter out?

If the ball never touches the ground before the 3rd baseman catches the ball the batter is out.


What would the name of a developing tornado be before it reaches to the ground?

Before it reaches the ground a developing tornado is known as a funnel cloud.


What would the name of a developing tornado be before it reaches the ground?

Before it reaches the ground a developing tornado is known as a funnel cloud.


What are two ways ground water reaches the earths surface?

Ground water is on or in the ground, it does not reach it.


Does the batter get a sacrifice if the runner on first tags and goes to second?

Yes as long as the runner advances Assuming you mean the runner tags up on a fly ball and advances to second, it is not scored as a sacrifice, but, simply as a fly out and the batter is charged with a time at bat. If the batter bunt a ground ball, the runner would not be required to "tag up" to advance and the batter would be credited with a sacrifice. If the batter is attempting a sacrifice bunt and pops up and the runner, tags up and somehow advances to second the batter is not credited with a sacrifice.


Can a fielder's choice result without an out taking place?

Yes. A fielder's choice is when a defensive player plays a ground ball and tries to throw out a runner other than the batter. A fielder's choice can be credited when no out is recorded on the play if the official score keeper determines that the batter would have been out if the play went directly to first. In this case it would be a Fielders Choice and the batter would not be credited with a hit.


Some precipitation never reaches the earth because?

it evapourates again before it reaches the ground


If A batter hits a line drive that hits a base on a fly and is caught is the batter out?

No the batter is not out- The bag is on the ground and that is considered a bounce off the ground.


How much sunlight reaches the ground of the Taiga forest?

20%


How do you tell when a thunderstorm is at its Mature stage?

When precipitation reaches the ground.


How ground water that is used as drinking water reaches home?

No


Pitched ball hits ground then batter?

If the ball hits the ground in play then it hits the batter it is call a hit by pitch and the batter will take first base ... You can also hit the ball as it bounces off the ground ...


Does the batter get to advance to first base if the ball hits the ground and then the batter?

Yes, as long as the batter makes an attempt to get out of the way of the pitch they are awarded first base on a pitched ball that touches the ground and then the batter.


Rules of rounders?

1- Teams can be a minimum of 6 players and a maximum of 15 players. 9 players are on the field for each team at any one time. 2- One team bats while the other team fields and bowls. 3-The bowler bowls the ball to the batter who hits the ball anywhere on the Rounders pitch. The batter then runs to as many posts as possible before the fielders return the ball to touch the post the batter is heading for. 4-If the batter reaches the 2nd or 3rd post in one hit, the batting team scores ½ Rounder. If the batter reaches 4th post in one hit, the batting team scores a Rounder. 5-A batter can be out if the fielding team catch the ball hit by the batter before it touches the ground or by touching the post the batter is heading to with the ball before the batter reaches it.


What is the ruling when the pitched ball hits the ground and then hits the batter?

It's still a dead ball (batter takes his base). Recommendme and message me if this was useful A hit by pitch can also be called on a pitch that has touched the ground. Such a bouncing pitch is like any other, and if a batter is hit by such a pitch, he will be awarded first unless he made no attempt to avoid it. A batter hit by a pitch is not credited with a hit or at bat, but is credited with a time on base and a plate appearance; therefore, being hit by a pitch does not increase or decrease a player's batting average but does increase his on-base percentage. A batter hit by a pitch with the bases loaded is also credited with an RBI per MLB rule 10.04(a)(2). [5] A pitch ruled a hit by pitch is recorded as a ball in the pitcher's pitch count, since by definition the ball must be outside the strike zone and not have been swung at. The batter doesnt get to take his/her base. It happened last year to a girl on my softball team. When it hits the ground it is a dead ball.


What happens to the rain when it reaches the ground?

Freeze, run into streams or rivers, or soak in to ground. Good luck!


A meteor that reaches the ground?

If a meteor survives the trip through the atmosphere and hits the ground, we call it a "meteorite".