answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

YES ... throwing a ball to an unoccupied base is a balk ...

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-06-20 05:36:13
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Runners on 2nd and 3rdPitcher fients a throw to 3rd turns and fients a throw to 1st with no runner there Is this a Balk?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Runner on second and third were is play made?

you could check the runners at 2nd and 3rd, and then throw to first base. Once that is done, throw it home to prevent the runner on 3rd to go home.


When a runner is thrown out at 1st base and no other runners are on base Where does the 1st baseman throw the ball?

I believe he throws it back to the Pitcher.


Can you get 6 hits and no runs?

yes, single, single and the runner is thrown out trying to advance from first to third, 1 out, single and the runner is thrown out trying to advance to third, 2 out, single runner to 2nd, single runners to second and third, a line drive to left and they throw the runner out going to second but it is ruled a single.


How does a Runner advances a base without the batter striking the ball walking or getting hit by the ball?

A runner, or runners, may advance in several ways; stealing, wild pitch, passed ball, wild throw in pick off attempt, catcher interference with batter, balk, fielder interference with base runner, error by fielder on attempted steal, error on catcher on throw on attempted steal.


What is the umpire interference rule in high school baseball?

There are two types of umpire interference: when the umpire hinders the catcher's attempt to throw the ball and when an umpire is struck by a fair batted ball before it touches or passes an infielder, other than the pitcher. In the case of interference on a catcher's throw; if the throw retires the runner, the play stands, if not, the ball is dead and all runners return to their bases. In the case of interference on an infielder, the batter-runner is awarded first base and all other runners advance only if forced to do so.


With runners in 2nd 3rd a ball is batted to the pitcher the pitcher looks the runner at 3rd back but makes no play or throw to any base Is this a base hit or fielders choice?

It is a fielders choice


Is it still considered a force if with a runner on first the fielder chooses to throw to first but the runner is safe but the runner from first falls and the first baseman throws to second base?

Once the batter/runner is forced out at 1st base, the force out of all other base runners is no longer in effect. Therefore, even if the original runner at 1st falls, he must be tagged out. He could, in fact, return to first and be safe there if he is not tagged out.


Can runners advance on a ball thrown out of play?

Yes. On the first throw by an infielder, all runners advance 2 bases from where they were at the time of the pitch. If the throw is a subsequent throw during an extended play or a throw by an outfielder, all runners advance 2 bases from the last base they legally held at the time of the throw.


Can a runner on third base steal home when the batter gets ball four?

Yes. The game is in play unless someone call time out. Any runner can still advance although if forced, the runner on first or the runners on first and second get free passes. The batter can take his time going to first but all other runners are in play. That's why you never see a catcher trying to catch a the runner going from 1st to second on a steal because on ball 4, if there's an error on the throw, everyone can still advance.


If you have a runner on first base and a runner on third base can the pitcher fake throw to first and then throw to third?

Yes. But he has to be careful not to balk.


With runners on first and third if a pitchers fakes a throw to third can he then fake a throw to first?

yes.


How many runners did Roberto Clemente throw out?

266


Does a pitcher have to throw to third when playing on a runner?

No, he could throw to home plate!


When a runner is on first and third and the runner on first advances to second with out a throw from the catcher is the runner credited with a stolen base?

yes


If a thrown ball hits a runner is he or she out?

No...unless it is determined by the umpire that the runner purposely interferred with the throw, the runner my be called out for interferrence.


What happens when batter bunts. throw goes to third runner is safe?

The runner is safe at third and the runner is safe at first.


In little league if the runner leaves the base early and the batter gets a hit what is the call?

Well, if by he leaves early you mean steal, and by hit you mean the ball is not caught, this is call a hit and run. Or The rule book takes a full page attempting to explain what to do in all possible situations when any runner leaves early before a hit. I will try to simplify it. It's not easy though. There is one loophole in the rule that allows the offense to go unpenalized. If a runner or runners are forced to advance and have left early and the batter gets a "clean" hit. No penalty is imposed. A "clean" hit means it was a single, double or triple in the umpire's judgment. If it was a hit and an error or an advance on the throw, the batter will be sent back to the base that was the scored value and all runners must go back to the bases they originally held or the one nearest the batter. Any time a base becomes available after a hit, runners will be sent back. Here are some basic keys that help simplify the rule: 1. If one runner is guilty they are all guilty. 2. You move the batter-runner back to where you judge the value of the clean hit. Any advance made by him, beyond his scored hit, is nullified. 3. Place all runners back on their original bases whenever possible. Put them as close as possible to the batter-runner after placing the batter-runner at the base judged to be the clean hit. 4. If any bases become empty due to any runner or the batter-runner being put out, return the runners to those bases. EXAMPLE: Bases loaded, no outs. Batter hits a "clean" double, and tries for third thinking the throw is going home. The throw is cut-off and they get him out at third. Before the hit a runner left early. Guess what? The batter is out and ALL runners return. Because his out left bases empty, you put all runners back to their original bases. In that same play, if the out on the batter had been the third out, no runs would count due to the fact that they could have been put back if it had not been the third out. When a runner leaves early he remains guilty even if he returns before or after a hit. EXAMPLE: A runner on 2nd leaves early, then a fly ball is hit to right field. The runner retouches after the catch and heads for 3rd. The throw gets past F5 and the runner scores. RULING: You put the runner back on second. They love that call too!


It is an error if the runner beats out the throw to first?

No it is no


If a runner is returning to a base to tag up after a fly ball and the outfielder's throw back to the base goes out of play how many bases is the runner awarded?

Two bases from the base the runner occupied at the time the wild throw was made.


Runners are on 3rd and 1st. The ball is hit to the 2nd baseman. The shortstop covers the bag and the batter reaches 1st before the throw reaches 1st base. The runner at 3rd scores. Is it an at bat?

Yes. The batter would be credited with an at bat and an RBI.


There are runners on first and second and a line drive is hit to the left fielder who makes the throw to third to get the force out Does the batter get awarded a base hit or is it a fielder's choice?

A batter is never awarded a base hit when a runner is forced out, regardless of where the ball is hit.


If a batter who has bunted the ball in fair territory and is running to 1st base now intentionally trying to block the throw to the first baseman from the catcher and is hit by the ball on the throw?

This is umpire's discretion, but usually if the runner is in the runner's lane (the two parallel lines starting half-way up the foul line between home plate and first base) the runner will not be called out. However, if in the umpire's judgment the runner is in the runner's lane but is deliberately trying to interfere with the throw, the runner can be called out for interference.


Is runner to 3rd or batter out when batter interfers with throw to 3rd base?

Runner returns to prior base.


What is a 'forced run' in softball?

FORCE RUN: A runner does not have to advance to the next base unless someone is behind him/her running to the base that the first runner is on. If there is a runner, and you are forced to advance to the next base, it is a forced run. For example, a batter hits the ball and safely runs to second base (making sure to step on 1st base). The next batter hits the ball but only runs to first base. The first runner therefore does not have to run to third base. Now there are two runners on bases and the next hit would make both runners run to the next base. When runners are forced to run, the fielders only have to throw the ball to the next base with somebody catching it. If a runner runs at will (that is not being forced to run), then the fielder must touch the player with ball and not just the base. If not a forced run, you have to tag the runner. If it is a forced run, you tag the base.


Can a batter be called out on ball 4 for interfering with a catcher's throw?

In a normal Base On Balls call, the catcher wouldn't have to throw the ball. If it's a passed ball or a wild pitch, the batter is still awarded first base and can't do anything else. If there are other runners and they try to advance and the batter interferes after that, he is certainly called out and the runner will have to go back to the base he started from. But on a normal base on balls, the ball is dead and the runners would only advance if they were forced and the catcher wouldn't have to throw the ball anywhere except to the pitcher.