answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes. If the ball is kicked to them or thrown-in to them directly from a team-mate. If the goal keeper releases the ball from their hands they cannot pick it back up again until another player touches it.

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2010-04-24 15:03:28
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Newcastle United FC Reserves and Academy staff contact

➑️
See all cards
4.2
β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…
5 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is there a situation in soccer when the goalkeeper may not handle the ball inside the penalty box?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

How do you get a peneltey?

You get a penalty when you are fouled inside the opposing team's penalty/goalkeeper's box.


Can a goalkeeper inside the penalty area use his hand to touch a ball outside the penalty area?

No. It doesn't matter where the goalkeeper is.The ballmust be in the penalty area (on the line is inside) for the keeper to touch it.


May a goalkeeper touch the ball with is hand when standing on the edge of the penalty area?

As long as the ball is inside their penalty area a goal keeper may handle the ball. The position of the ball is important. The position of the goal keeper is not.


Who can be in the penalty area when a penalty kick is taken?

When a penalty kick is taken, only the kicker, the goalkeeper, the referee, and one assistant referee are allowed to be inside the penalty area.


What are penalty kicks in soccer?

Penalty kicks are when an offensive player is fouled inside the penalty box. Then a player from that team will kick the ball from the penalty spot. Only the goalkeeper and the kicker are allowed inside the penalty box at the time of the kick. The goalkeeper must stay on the goal line until the ball is kicked. The ball must go completely over the line for the goal to count.


After a goalkeeper made a save can the goalkeeper punt the ball inside the penalty arc to distribute the ball to his team mates?

The purpose of the penalty arc is to ensure that, when a player takes a penalty kick, his teammates and opponents stay ten yards away from him at all times. While the goalkeeper has the ball in his possession, no player is allowed within the penalty arc until the keeper releases the ball.


Can a goalkeeper move the ball from outside of the penalty area to the inside with his foot and then pick it up?

if it was not a pass back then he's allowed


Can players score from inside the goalie box in soccer?

Yes. The only times other players aren't permitted in the penalty box are on the goalkeeper's goal kicks and on penalty kicks.


If a goalkeeper advances from goal and misses the ball but while he has gone outside the area he manages to gather the ball which is inside?

it is not a handball as long as the ball is inside the penalty box.


What is the difference between free kick and penalty?

The main differences are that a penalty is only taken from the penalty spot inside the box, and a free kick is taken from where the offence took place, and can happen anywhere on the pitch unless it was a penalty. The opposition is allowed to put up a wall of players to defend the free kick, in a penalty it is only the penalty taker against the goalkeeper.


Can a goal keeper handle a ball that is inside the penalty area if they are outside the area?

The ball position is all that matters.


What is the soccer penalty area?

The penalty area is an 18 yard deep and 44 yard wide rectangle centered in front of the goal at either end of an Association Football pitch. This is the only area in which a defending goalkeeper may handle the ball. If a defending player commits a direct free kick offense within this area, the attacking team is awarded a penalty kick instead of a direct free kick. There is a smaller area, 6 yards deep and 20 yards wide, called the goal area, inside of the penalty area.

People also asked