Yes, a member of the receiving team can signal for a fair catch. But, even if he doesn't, he must be given an unimpeded opportunity to catch the kick. The protection terminates if the ball touches the ground or he muffs the kick.
Yes, the penalty is the receiving team takes possession 30 yards beyond the spot of the kick. For example, if the spot of the kick was the kicking team's 30 yard line, the receiving team takes possession at their 40 yard line.
Yes. However, according to NFL Rules: " If ball hits ground or is touched by member of kicking team in flight, fair catch signal is off and all rules for a kicked ball apply. " Therefore, if the onside kick touches the ground, it may not be fair caught. Since the vast, vast majority of onside kicks are on the ground, it would be a rare sight to see an onside kick fair caught.
Find the best answer here: http://en.allexperts.com/q/College-Football-2792/2009/5/college-football-35.htm ANSWER: It's always had a fair catch rule. The fair catch originates with calling a mark in rugby.
football (the one with the brown oval shaped ball)
Yes. When a player signals for a "fair catch," this only means they must be given the opportunity to catch the ball without the threat of being hit, with the stipulation that they cannot advance it. Once the ball hits the ground, the opportunity has been given and the fair catch is off. The player may then touch the ball, advance it, etc.
if u mean on the defencive side then u can tackle him as soon as he i think catches the ball.
After a safety, the team that was forced into a safety must punt the ball to the opposing team instead of kicking a normal kickoff. I guess it just depends on how far the ball is being punted, there are no rules on how far the ball must be punted after a safety. So the answer is yes but it's not called an onside kick.
It's a fair question.
The answer is simply yes, you can make a field goal after a fair catch.
A squib kick is a kick where it is shorter than a regular kickoff but longer than a short onside kick, often in the last few seconds in the half. It is still an onside kick, so it can be recovered by the kicking team. In case you have no idea how long it is, it is often 25 yards or so, and it's usually kicked low to the ground, so the receiving team can't fair catch it. Squib kicks are important because I don't think it has ever been returned.
The onside kick from scrimmage was eliminated, in the collegiate game, before WWI -- around 1912, I believe. The NFL started in 1920. So I guess the answer is -- never. In the NFL, an onside kick is only possible on a kickoff or on a free kick after a safety. But has there ever been an onside drop kick? I don't know, but lets consider why that would rarely (if ever) happen: Kickoffs are required to be a place kick (from a tee). So the only time you could even attempt an onside drop kick is after a safety, which is one of the rarest plays in football. An onside kick after a safety is very dangerous, as the kick must be from the 20 yard line. The opponent could recover the ball already in field goal range. An onside kick must hit the ground to prevent the other team from calling for a fair catch. This is more difficult to pull off with a drop kick.
Using the keyboard settings, you have to press the "E" key while the ball is in the air to call a fair catch