A field goal is measured from where the ball is kicked from, not from the line of scrimmage. If Team A is kicking a field goal from the 20 yard line, the distance of the field goal would me measured as follows: Length to Goal Line: 20 Yards Length of Endzone: 10 Yards Place of Kick: 7 yards behind the line of scrimmage (typically kicks made from 6 to 7 yards behind the los) Total Distance of Field Goal: 37 yards.
No if it hits the turf it is a dead ball and place where the line of scrimmage was
The ball is always live. The kicking team, however, can only recover it after the opposing team touches it. If the Field Goal is blocked it can be recovered by the kicking team if the ball never crosses the line of scrimmage.
If a field goal is attempted on any down other than fourth, the rules state that once the ball crosses the line of scrimmage the kicking team no longer has possession. This means that if a field goal is attempted on second down and the kick is blocked and the kicking team recovers behind the line of scrimmage, they retain possession. If the ball crosses the line of scrimmage, regardless of whether the kicking team recovers or not, possession goes to the defensive team.
Yes, as long as the ball never crosses the line of scrimmage and the kicking team recovers.
I assume you mean "field goal." Yes, this is possible, if the ball is blocked and never crosses the line of scrimmage, and the kicking team recovers. The kicking team could also recover the ball past the line of scrimmage if the kicking team touched the ball first.
yes, if it is blocked behind the line of scrimmage and recovered by the kicking team on 3rd down or less
Yes. In both college and the NFL, if a field goal attempt does not cross the line of scrimmage and is recovered by the kicking team, they will continue with possession of the ball. This ruling doesn't really come into play on 4th down kicks because the kicking team will lose possession of the ball on downs. But on third down, if a field goal attempt is blocked and the ball does not cross the line of scrimmage, should the kicking team recover the ball they keep possession and it will be fourth down. If the ball crosses the line of scrimmage, possession goes to the defense.
The ball is placed at the original line of scrimmage unless the defensive team touches or takes possession of the ball after the initial block.
It depends on if the kicking team player was 10 yards past the line of scrimmage and also on whether it was a punt or kick off. If it was a kick off and the player was 10 yards past the line of scrimmage, then it would be a touchdown. If the player was not 10 yards past the line of scrimmage, then it is a penalty. If it is a punt the ball is placed where the player hit the ball.
Attempt an extra (1) point, by kicking a field goal.Attempt a (2)-point conversion by running or passing it, an the line of scrimmage is at the 5-yard line.
yes... they can its happened to me beforeNo. A scrimmage kick can only be recovered by the receiving team. It's exactly the same as a punt: If the kicking team is first to touch the ball, that constitutes an illegal touch. The only way the kicking team could maintain possession after kicking a field goal is if:The kick was no good, and the receiving team fields the ball and then loses possession.The kick was no good, and the receiving team touches the ball first within the field of play and beyond the line of scrimmage.The kick is taken on first, second, or third down, is blocked, doesn't cross the line of scrimmage, and the kicking team recovers.If a team caught its own field goal kick, the ball would be dead where the catch was made, and the opposing team would put it into play from that spot.