answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No. If a batted ball is touched by a defensive player before it touches a runner, the ball is live and the runner is not out.

Also, if a batted ball passes a fielder that could make a play on the ball and touches a runner, the ball is live and the runner is not out. This situation is very rare and would only occur when the infield is playing in and are in front of the runner(s).

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

If a runner runs into a fielder making a play on a batted ball, it is interference, and the runner is out; the ball is dead, the batter is awarded first base, and all other runners return to their last legally occupied base at the time of the pitch, unless forced by the batter.

If in the umpire's judgment the interference is flagrant, the batter may also be called out.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

10y ago

MLB Rule 7.08(b) states: Any runner is out when -- He intentionally interferes with a thrown ball; or hinders a fielder attempting to make a play on a batted ball;

Rule 7.08(b) Comment: A runner who is adjudged to have hindered a fielder who is attempting to make a play on a batted ball is out whether it was intentional or not.

If an umpire decides that the base runner has "hindered" a fielder by running in front of him, then that runner is out. But this is a judgement call.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago

Yes, the ball is in play and the runner is not delared out. See Rule 5.07(f) in Official Major League Baseball Rules.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago

No. A runner is out if hit by a batted ball but not out if hit by a thrown ball.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is the ball still in play if it hits a runner after it passes a fielder?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Is the batter out or safe if a base runner gets hit by a ball?

No. If a fielder has a legitimate opportunity to make an attempt at the ball, but the ball passes the fielder and then touches the runner, he is not out. The rules state a runner is out when a batted ball touches him before it passes a fielder.


A runner not touching the base and a fielder touches him with a glove and ball is?

The runner is out as long as the fielder you touches has the ball in his glove


Does the fielder or runner have the right of way?

on a batted ball the fielder has the right of way if the fielder is in the basepath and the ball isn't near him the runner has the right of way


Is the runner out if the runner and fielder incidentally collide?

if the fielder is a) in the baseline, and b) doesn't have the ball, then no. If the runner goes out of the baseline to strike the fielder, he is out for leaving the baseline. If the fielder has the ball, and as a result of the collision he tags the runner, then runner is out. If the fielder has the ball and is trying to tag the runner, but the collision knocks the ball loose, then the runner is out if the umpire felt the contact was intentional, but it is a loose/live ball if the contact was accidental or otherwise part of the game.


Is runner out if fielder does not field the ball and the runner is then hit by the ball?

If a runner in fair territory is struck by a batted ball prior to the ball having been fielded, the runner is out.


If a player is in the line of the runner and the runner runs into the player are they out?

If the fielder has fielded a ball and has it in his possesion yes. If the fielder is in the path of the base and does not have the ball, the answer is no New answer: The fielder may enter the base path to field a BATTED ball and the runner must avoid contact whether the fielder has possession or not. The above answer is correct for a thrown ball only. (ie. the third baseman cannot position himself on the basepath while waiting for a throw from left field while the runner is advancing from 1st to 3rd on a hit.


Is the runner safe or out if the fielder loses the ball while tagging the runner?

Safe


Is it an error if the runner and fielder get tangled up and the foul fly ball is dropped by fielder?

No. The runner would be called for interference if, for some reason, he ran into the fielder.


When tagging up does the runner have to wait for fielder to have possession or first touch?

The fielder has to have the ball in his possession but if he drops it he doesn't have to tag up. Actually, the fielder doe NOT have to have possession of the ball for a base runner to tag up and advance. Once the runner is on the base ("tagging up") he may advance as soon as the fielder touches the ball, whether he has possession or not. In other words, the base runner may advance even if the fielder is bobbling the ball and then catches it, i. e. has possession.


Is the ball alive or dead when hitting a runner in fair territory?

It depends. Is the ball being thrown or is it hit. If it's hit off the bat and hits a base runner it's a dead ball and the runner is out if the ball has not passed a fielder. If the ball has already passed a fielder then the ball is live and the runner is not out. It is as if it never happened. If it hits the runner when it is thrown it is perceived as if it never hit the runner.


What is the scoring decision if a batter hits a ground ball to shortstop and the runner on second collides with the fielder as he is going to third base?

Fielder has the right to occupy the territory necessary to field the ball, runner must give right of way to the fielder. In this case, runner is out.


Is the runner out if the fielder touches him with his body and not the ball?

No, he must be tagged with the ball, either while still in the glove or with the ball. He can't just be touched with the glove without the ball in it either.