Yes, either you swing or you don't, there is no middle ground.
If there are less than two outs, yes. If there are two outs, this is a timing play. If the runner crosses home plate before the batter is thrown out at second base, the run counts. If the batter is thrown out at second base before the runner crosses home plate, the run does not count.
Technically yes, but no umpires ever call it because it violates the spirit of a strike as a "good pitch to hit".
If the walk off home run scores another runner that was already on base and that was the run to win it then there is no need for him to cross the plate and he is not called out. For example, in a tie game with the bases loaded if the batter hits a home run the only run that needs to cross the plate is the runner on third. Once that runner crosses the game is over and any more scoring becomes redundant so the game ends on the score sheet. If it is a solo shot or if the hitters run is detrimental to his or her team winning the game than the batter must cross the plate for the run to count.
Yes. If a runner crosses home plate before the third out is made (unless it's a force out), the run counts. For example, say the Yankees have runner on third with two outs. The batter hits a ball to the gap in right center. The runner scores, but the batter is thrown out at third trying to stretch a double into a triple. Since the runner on third crossed home plate before the batter was out at third, the run counts. On a force play (at any base) the runner would not be allowed to score even if he crosses the plate before the force is made.
That is considered a strike.
I believe, since home plate is in fair territory, the ball would be fair and the batter would be called out for making contact with a live, fair ball. The equivelent to runner interference with the ball on the base paths. ---------- The question is unclear. If a pitched ball hits home plate, it can then be hit by the batter (former Astros player, Enos Cabell, comes to mind). However, if the batter hits the pitch, and the ball then hits the plate and bounces up into the air, and the batter then hits it a second time, he's out. The rule says if the bat hits a batted ball a second time, the batter is out, which is different the the ball hitting the bat a second time.
After the batter has successfully hit the ball with the bat in fair territory she must be able to touch all bases with out being put out and successfully reach home plate (not necessarily rounding all the base with one hit). A success touch the home plate is a score or known as a run in softball or baseball
Yes. The umpire calls the pitch by determining if any part of the ball crossed any part of the plate within the strike zone. If the pitch does not cross home plate, the umpire calls a ball. If the pitch crosses any part of home plate, the umpire determines the height of the ball as it crossed the plate. If the beight is within the strike zone, it is called a strike. If it is outside the strike zone, it is called a ball.
Batting around the order happens when the 10th batter comes to the plate (actually the first batter up in the line-up)
well you can do anything you want. first of all both feet have to be in the batters box while making contact with the ball. if your foot is on home plate while making contact with the ball you are out!!
It would be considered a fair ball.