answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Technically yes, but no umpires ever call it because it violates the spirit of a strike as a "good pitch to hit".

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-07-09 02:32:14
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a pitcher throws a pitch into the dirt in front of the plate and it crosses the plate in the strike zone is it a strike if the batter doesn't swing?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Who gets the putout when a batter hits the ball but he is out of the batters box and does the pitcher get a strike out?

The batter is out, scored 2u, not a strike out.


What if pitcher hits batter?

If the pitcher hits the batter on a pitch then the batter is awarded first base. However if the batter swings at the ball and it hits her then it is a strike


Is it scored a strike out for the batter if he is hit in fair territory by his own batted ball?

No. The batter is indeed "out," but the play is not a "strike out" for either the batter or the pitcher.


What does it mean when the pitcher fanned the batter?

He swung (fanned the air) at the ball for a strike


What is the stike of softball?

A strike in softball is when a pitcher pitches a softball to the batter [located in the batter box in front of the catcher] and the batter misses. When it is a strike, it is thrown in a particular area from the batter's armpits to the bottom of their knees.


If a pitcher throws the ball to the batter and he doesn't hit it?

If the batter attempts to hit the ball and misses, it is a strike. If the batter does not attempt to hit the ball and the ball enters the strike zone, it is a strike. If the batter does not attempt to hit the ball and the ball does not enter the strike zone, it is a ball (unless it hits the batter, then the batter is awarded 1st base).


If a batter steps out of the batters box while the pitcher is delivering a pitch is it an automatic strike?

no


What does the pitcher do on a baseball team?

The pitcher stands 60 feet and 6 inches away batting plate and tries to strike the batter out.


Does a dropped third strike count as an at bat?

yes, it counts as a strikeout for both pitcher and batter


A batter is in the batters box the pitcher throws and the batter hits the ball into his foot and the ball goes foul but what is the call?

its a dead ball and a strike, but not strike 3, just like a foul.


What is the definition of Strike vs Ball?

A ball is when the pitcher pitches a ball that cannot be hit. A strike is when a pitcher throws a good pitch, but the batter does't swing the bat or the first two fouls are both strikes, if they are side by side. After the batter gets 4 balls they are able to walk to 1st base. A strike is a pitch the batter offers at or apitch that enters the strike zone and is not offered at. A ball is a pitch that does not enter the strike zone and is not offered at.


In little league you have a batter in full count and change pitcher the new pitcher threw one strike and the batter is out who is responsible for that defensive out?

In any league, the last pitcher to pitch the ball is responsible for that batter. If he strikes him out, the credit goes to him, regardless of how many pitches he throws.

People also asked