answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Pretty much if the pitcher does anything other than pitch the ball while his foot is on the rubber, it's a balk. He must always disengage before doing anything else.

With that rule aside, the rest of the questioned incident is balk-free. A pitcher is allowed to throw to any base, occupied or not, to stop a steal attempt.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

If the pitcher throws directly from the rubber to the shortstop, it is a balk.

However, if the pitcher first steps back off the rubber, he can throw anywhere.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

Yes, it is a balk if any defensive player positions himself in foul territory. This call is often missed by umpires so you may need to remind them of the rule and penalty.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is it a balk if third baseman is holding a runner on in foul territory while pitcher throws to the plate?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Pitcher fields ball on the 1st baseline runner runs into pitcher - pitcher throws ball to first is the runner safe or out?

The runner is probably out for interference by running into a fielder, if not, he is out if the throw to first beat the runner and the first baseman, or whom ever is covering first, had his foot on the bag when he received the ball.


When a runner is thrown out at 1st base and no other runners are on base Where does the 1st baseman throw the ball?

I believe he throws it back to the Pitcher.


Can more than one fielder be positioned in foul territory in baseball?

They can but it would just be dumb. Actually, the first baseman cannot stand in foul territory. The only defensive player allowed to lineup not in fair territory is the catcher, who must take his position behind home plate in the "catcher's box", which is technically in four territory.


In MLB does the baseman need to touch the base to get the runner out?

If it is a force (i.e. there are people on all the bases behind the runner) play, then yes, the baseman needs to touch the base to get the runner out. If the runner is not required to move to that base, then the baseman must tag the runner to get him out. The baseman does not NEED to touch the base to record the out. The defense may tag the runner OR the bag.


Is a first baseman standing on the foul line in fair territory?

There is no such rule Official baseball rule book section 4.03: When the ball is put in play at the start of, or during a game, all fielders other than the catcher shall be on fair territory. However the N.A.P.B.L. Umpires Manual also states: Do not insist on the first baseman playing with both feet in fair territory unless the offensive team protest. Then enforce it equally for both teams.


Who covers first base on a double play when the ball is hit to first baseman?

That depends on where the 1st baseman fields the ball. If the 1st baseman can field the ball, throw to second, and have enough time to get safely back to the base to catch the return throw, then (s)he will cover. If not, then it is the responsibility of the pitcher.


What is the first base-mans job in a softball game?

For defense the first baseman has to catch flyballs and field grounders sent in their direction. The first baseman also has to catch throws from other fielders to touch first base or the runner for the out. When the batter is bunting, the first baseman is expected to cover the space between the pitcher's mound and first base. The first baseman covers the first base bag in case the runner on first wants to steal. The first baseman usually bats for their team, but they do the same batting things as every other player


Who gets credit for an out when a bunted ball hits the batter?

If the runner is in foul territory when the ball hits him, it is a foul ball. If it is a 2 strike bunt attempt, then the pitcher is credited with a strikeout. If the runner is in fair territory the credit would then go to the pitcher, who was the last fielder to touch the ball. My question, then, would be is it an assist or a putout? That answer I do not know.


How many errors were committed if there is a runner on 2nd base when the batter bunts to the pitcher but the throw deflects off the 1st base glove allowing the runner to score from 3rd?

The official scorer would have to determine if the throw was catchable. If the throw was, then the error would be on the first baseman and he would be charged as such. If on the other hand the throw was a bad one and the first baseman had to reach and could not catch the ball, then the error is on the pitcher. Only one error would be charged even though the base runner advanced two base and scored.


How do you rewrite he tags the runner out in imperative sentence?

When writing or "doing the official score book", when a runner is tagged out, the number designated by the field position (so pitcher would be 1, catcher would be 2, ect...) with the letter "U" would be the correct notation. So for instance if the 2nd baseman would to tag a runner going from 1st to 2nd base the notation would be 4U. Meaning second baseman unassisted.


Man at first ground ball first baseman tags first runner does not advance to second stays on first is this a double play?

If the runner remains standing on the bag when the 1st baseman touches the bag and the 1st baseman does not tag the runner prior to touching the bag, then the runner is safe and you have no double play. Answer To clarify, once the Batter becomes a batter-runner, the runner at first loses his right to occupy first base and is forced to advance. If he is tagged while standing on the base, he is out. If the first baseman then steps on first base the Batter-runner is also out -- Double Play. BUT, if the first baseman first steps on the base the batter-runner is out and the force is removed. If the runner standing on first base is now tagged he is safe.


What happens if the pitcher drops the ball while in contact with the runner?

If the pitcher is in contact with the runner, the runner is safe if the pitcher drops the ball. If the pitcher is in contact with the rubber, it is a balk if he drops the ball.