answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Only if it is on the third strike would the batter be out if he swung through the ball. Otherwise it would just be a strike. If it was a true bunt attempt and the ball did not go directly into the catchers mitt but was deflected up a bit, the batter would be out on any strike.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-06-17 12:01:40
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is batter out if bunted foul tip is caught by the catcher?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can a batter be out on a third strike foul ball?

No, but if it was two strikes, then he bunted a foul, then he would be out


If the count is two strikes and a foul tip is caught by the catcher is the batter out?

YES.


Can you be called out on four foul balls?

Only if 1) the fourth foul is caught in the air, or 2) the fourth foul is bunted foul.


How many foul balls are allowed before a batter is out?

There is no limit to the number of fouls in the MLB.The only rules about foul balls is if a batter attempts to bunt with two strikes and the ball is bunted foul, the batter is called out. But there is no limit to the number of foul balls a batter can hit when swinging at the pitch.This is true. However, the first 2 foul balls that are hit and not caught are considered strikes. After that, there is no limit to the amount of foul balls that can be hit, as long as they're not caught.


If a batter foul tips a pitch that is caught by the catcher can a base runner steal?

In MLB, yes. According to MLB rules, a foul tip is a ball that is tipped by the batter that goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. It is considered a swinging strike and not a foul ball.


Is the batter out if a foul tip is caught by the catcher and the count is either no strikes or one strike?

No.MLB rule 2.00 defines a foul tip as follows:" A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand. "So the answer to your question is no since a foul tip that is caught is only considered a strike.


Can a batter be called out on a bunted ball that goes foul?

Yes. If a batter attempts a bunt when there are two strikes and the bunt is ruled foul, the batter is called out and a strikeout is awarded to the pitcher's stats.


When is a foul ball caught by the catcher an out?

The baseball rules differentiate between a foul ball and a foul tip.A foul tip caught by the catcher is a strike. If it's the third strike the result is a strikeout, otherwise the at bat continues.A foul ball caught in the air by any fielder (including the catcher) is a pop out (or fly out, which is scored the same).Major League Baseball rules define a foul tip as follows:A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand.Many people were taught that a foul tip is anything that does not go over the batter's head, or that does not go at least six feet high, but those criteria are not in the rule book.


If a foul hit is caught then the batter is out?

Yes. If a foul ball is caught by a defensive player before it hits the ground the batter is out.


Is a foul tip with 2 strikes that is caught by the catcher an out?

Yes


Does a foul ball count as a ball if the batter already has 2 strikes?

A foul ball never counts as a ball. In Major League Baseball, a foul ball only counts as the third strike if it's a foul tip that was caught by the catcher.


What is the minimum height of a pop up foul tip to be out?

There is no minimum height associated with a foul tip - a foul tip is defined as a foul ball which is caught by the catcher without contacting anything else. If it occurs with two existing strikes, the batter is out.


What happens if the ball is 'bunted' on the 3rd strike in softball?

If the ball stays in fair territory, then everything is like a normal bunt. But if the ball is bunted into foul territory on a third strike, then the batter is automatically out.


Can a bunted ball be foul first?

A bunted ball can be fair, it just depends on where the ball is when it is fielded by the fielder.


Why is a batter not out if he barely makes contact with the ball and the catcher catches the ball?

only the first two strikes and on the third if catcher does not catch the ball then player can run to first trying to beat a throughIt sounds like what you are describing is a foul tip. MLB rule 2.00 defines a foul tip as follows:" A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand. "


Is an out called if the batter nicks the ball and the catcher catches it before it hits the ground?

Only if it is on a third strike. That would be considered a foul tip and, by official rule, is different from a foul ball. A foul tip is when the catcher catches a ball that is 'tipped' by the batter and the ball goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. If the catcher drops the ball it is considered a foul ball and not a foul tip.


If a batter tips the ball with two strikes and the catcher stops it with his chest protector and then catches it is it a out?

I don't know for a fact, but I would guess yes. It's a case of the player "bobbling" the ball, and then gaining control of it. ---- According to MLB Rules, the definition of a foul tip is: "A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand." By definition, if the ball hits the catcher's glove or hand and then hits the chest protector, it can be caught by the catcher and considered a foul tip. If the ball hits the chest protector first, the ball it is considered a foul ball and not a foul tip and the catcher cannot catch it for an out.


Can a catcher use his mask to pick up a foul ball?

No, the catcher can not pick up the foul ball with his mask. If so, a base is rewarded to the batter.


Is it an out if the batter foul tips the ball and it goes in an arc below the batter's head into the catcher's glove?

Yes. Many people learned that the ball must go over the batter's head, or at least six feet high, in order for it to be considered an out when caught. However baseball rules only make an exception for a foul tip, which is defined as follows:"A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand."A ball that traveled in an arc before being caught would be considered a foul ball, and catching it would retire the batter, regardless of whether or not it went over the batter's head. As a practical matter, the case described in the question is very unlikely, so the practical difference between the actual rule of foul tips (sharp and direct) and what many believe the rule to be (below the batter's head or under six feet) is probably irrelevant.


Is a bunted foul third strike a dead ball?

Yes.


Can you strike out by four foul balls?

The batter can foul as often as necessary, unless there are 2 strikes and the batter bunts foul. That becomes a third strike and the batter is out. Also if there are two strikes and the batter foul-tips the ball into the catcher's mitt, that's also strike 3 and the batter is out.


Why is a batter called out if a foul tip is caught?

The foul tip is called out if caught because it could be in bounds or out of bounds. The umps don't know where it is until it touches the ground, so if it didn't touch the ground, how could there be a fair ruling on if it was out or in. SO if the ball is hit and caught without touching the ground, it is an out, if it looks foul or fair.According to MLB Rules, Section 2, a foul tip is defined as:"a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand."


If a batter tips the ball with two strikes and the catcher juggles it but still catches it before the ball hits the ground is the batter still out just as he would be if the catcher caught it cleanly?

All that matters is that the catcher caught the ball. Accordng to MLB Rule 6.05(b), a batter is out if: " A third strike is legally caught by the catcher; Rule 6.05(b) Comment: "Legally caught" means in the catcher's glove before the ball touches the ground. It is not legal if the ball lodges in his clothing or paraphernalia; or if it touches the umpire and is caught by the catcher on the rebound. If a foul-tip first strikes the catcher's glove and then goes on through and is caught by both hands against his body or protector, before the ball touches the ground, it is a strike, and if third strike, batter is out. If smothered against his body or protector, it is a catch provided the ball struck the catcher's glove or hand first. "


What is a foul tip in basball?

A foul tip is when the batter hits the ball with a small piece of the bat and the ball lands foul. A pop up to the catcher is not a foul tip.


What is the difference between a catcher catching a foul tip and catching a fly ball?

A foul tip is considered to be when the batter swings and the bat barely touches, or tips, the ball. The ball goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. A fly ball is when the batter makes contact and the ball goes up into the air for a significant distance. If a catcher catches a foul tip with less than two strikes the play is simply considered a strike and not an out. But if the catcher catches a foul tip when the batter has two strikes, the batter is scored to have struckout.