answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If the batter touches home plate, while making contact with the plate, he is out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-10-03 01:52:53
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is batter called out if he steps on home plate?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

If the batter attempts to bunt and misses and steps on home plate is he out?

No. There is no rule prohibiting the batter from stepping on home plate.


How is it scored in the book if a batter steps on the plate?

Nothing is scored because of a batter stepping on home plate. There is no rule in MLB prohibiting a batter from stepping on home plate.


If a batter steps on home plate after hitting a fair ball is he out?

No.


What if a batter steps on the plate while batting?

When a batter has attempted a swing or a bunt the momentum can carry him out of the batter's box and cause him to step on home plate. Once the batter has struck at a ball or attempted a bunt, he is allowed to step out of the box, even if he steps on home plate. He cannot do so any other time during his at-bat. Unless "Time" is called, he must keep at least one foot inside the batter's box.


If a batter steps on home plate while bunting and the ball rolls foul is he out?

There is no rule in MLB prohibiting the batter from stepping on home plate. However, the batter may be out for bunting foul with two strikes.


If a batter steps on home plate after hitting a ball is he out?

In Major League Baseball, there is no rule prohibiting a batter from stepping on home plate after he hits the ball. Often, a right handed batter will step on home plate on his way to 1st base after hitting the ball, especially when he bunts.


Is a batter out after hitting a foul ball then steps on home plate using high school rules?

No


Is a batter out if he steps in front of home plate and hits foul?

If the batter's entire foot is outside of the batter's box when he makes contact with the pitch, the ball is dead and the batter is Out, whether the ball is hit Fair or Foul.


What is batters interference at home plate when catcher is throwing down to 3rd base?

Batter's Interference is if the batter in question steps in the way of the Catcher that'll prevent him from throwing to a base.


When a batter believes he has been walked but has'nt and the runnners advance an they are tagged are they out?

Then the runners who are tagged out are called out and the batter goes back to home plate.


How far in front of home plate is the batter's box?

It's behind home plate


How do you score a gran slam if the batter is called out for failing to touch home plate?

3 rbi triple


Can a catcher balk in baseball?

The catcher can cause a balk, but the balk is charged to the pitcher. If, during an intentional walk, the catcher steps out of the catcher's box before the ball leaves the pitcher's hand, it is a balk. Or, if a runner is trying to score from 3rd base by a steal or squeeze play and the catcher touches the batter or the batter's bat, or steps on home plate or in front of home plate without the ball, it is a balk.


If a batter steps on home plate to avoid being hit by a pitch is the pitch a strike?

If the pitch passes through the strike zone, or if the batter swings at the pitch and misses, it's a Strike. Otherwise it's a Ball. It has nothing to do with where the batter is standing.


If a batter stands close to home plate when batting is he an inside batter or an outside batter?

Inside.


Does a batter have to call time or can he just back out?

A batter must request and then be given time from the home plate umpire. If the batter backs out of the batter's box without time being called the pitch is legal and valid.


Where does a right hand batter stand at home plate?

On the right side of the plate.


Can a batter hit a ball that bounces off home plate 1st?

Yes. Home plate is in fair territory.


Is the batter out if he bunts while stepping on home plate?

No. There is no rule in MLB prohibiting a player from stepping on home plate.


Is it a strikeout if a batter steps on the plate?

One Answer:Before the hit yes. After no. the home plate is in fair territory between the batters box and first base so it is often stepped on, however the batter must hit the ball while inside the batters box. Correct Answer:There is no rule in MLB prohibiting a batter from stepping on home plate.


Is there a legal pitch where the ball bounces off the ground before it goes over the home plate?

Well No, but remember if he swings its a strike The pitch is legal but it cannot be called a strike unless the batter swings and misses or hits the ball foul. The batter may swing at a ball that hits the ground before home plate and if he hits it fair play goes on. In other words, if a batter were to hit a home run on a pitched ball that hit the ground before home plate, it would be ruled a home run.


What is the distance from the batters box to home plate?

There is no distance from the batter's box to home plate. The batter's box is adjacent to the 8 1/2 inch side of home plate. They are 4 feet wide and 6 feet long for major league baseball.


If a batter digs in at home plate what type of challenge is it to the pitcher?

Pitch close to the batter.


The Pitcher throws towards home plate. the ball bounces in the dirt before home plate and it hits the batter is it a dead ball or hit batter?

It is a dead ball and the batter is awarded first base and is ruled a hit by pitch


If the batter steps on home plate and does not swing is he out?

There is no rule in fastpitch softball nor in baseball regarding the batter stepping on plate. Major league baseball rule 6.02(b) specifically states "The batter shall not leave his position in the batter’s box after the pitcher comes to Set Position, or starts his windup." Home plate is considered outside the batter's box; and a player may only leave the box for a few specified reasons (swinging, avoiding a pitch, time is called, etc). The penalty is specified in 6.02(c) "If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out."