answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Only if it's the third strike.

A ball tipped by the bat but caught by the catcher without hitting the ground is ALWAYS considered a strike, thus eliminating any controversy on whether the batter actually tipped the ball or not.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-10-26 01:54:58
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is a tipped ball an out if the catcher catches it?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Is an out called if the batter nicks the ball and the catcher catches it before it hits the ground?

Only if it is on a third strike. That would be considered a foul tip and, by official rule, is different from a foul ball. A foul tip is when the catcher catches a ball that is 'tipped' by the batter and the ball goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. If the catcher drops the ball it is considered a foul ball and not a foul tip.


Is the batter out if the catcher catches a tipped third strike?

Yes, this counts as a strike out.


Catcher catches ball in front of plate?

It's a fair ball.


Is a tipped ball directly into the catcher's mitt live or dead?

Dead


If the ball bounce on the plate then in the air caught by catcher fair or foul?

It depends on where the ball is when the catcher catches it. The fact that the ball hit the plate does not matter one bit. It doesn't even matter where the catcher himself is when he catches it. If the ball is in or over fair territory it is fair, if the ball is in or over foul territory it is foul.


Is the batter out if the catcher catches a tipped ball?

Only on a third strike. If it is tipped and caught at any other time it is simply a strike. Keep in mind that this is only for a foul tip if the ball significantly changes direction in an upward direction and is coming back down then it would considered a pop foul and would be an out if caught.


How are the frames of reference used in baseball?

A frame is when the catcher catches the ball and rolls his glove into the strike zone.


If there is no strikes and a batter hits the ball not in the air in the faul taritory and the catcher catches is it a out?

If the batted ball is on the ground and touched by a defensive player while the ball is in foul territory, before passing 1B or 3B, then it is foul, and the batter is not out. But if the batted ball is hit in the air, a pop up, and the catcher catches it while in foul territory, the batter is out.


What is the difference between a catcher catching a foul tip and catching a fly ball?

A foul tip is considered to be when the batter swings and the bat barely touches, or tips, the ball. The ball goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. A fly ball is when the batter makes contact and the ball goes up into the air for a significant distance. If a catcher catches a foul tip with less than two strikes the play is simply considered a strike and not an out. But if the catcher catches a foul tip when the batter has two strikes, the batter is scored to have struckout.


What is a foul tip out?

it is when the batter tips the ball but the catcher catches it and it is called an out because it is the same thing as someone fouling the ball but a pop up but catching it.


Why do people wear batting gloves?

Because when the catcher, catches the ball it protects his or her hand because the ball is very very very hard! -ThankYou!


Who catches the baseball thrown by the pitcher if the batter doesnt hit it?

In that case, the catcher is supposed to catch the ball , but sometimes they don't.

People also asked