answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Any bunt that goes foul on a third strike is an out, so long as the umpire rules it a bunt. If the batter crosses legs to attempt a slap bunt, it will be ruled a bunt.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2014-03-14 17:00:50
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is a slap bunt that goes foul on the third strike a out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

This happens if you bunt with two strikes and it goes foul?

You are called out as soon as a ball is bunted foul if that is the considered 3rd strike...


Do 3 foul balls equal 3 strikes?

yes and no. a foul ball on the third strike goes uncaught then it is not a third strike. if a foul ball is caught on the third strike, including a foul tip, the batter is out.


There is 1 out with a man on third 2 strikes on the batter The batter attempts a bunt that goes foul behind first base no one catches it the batter is out Can the runner from 3rd base advance?

NO. A runner cannot advance on a foul ball that is not "played" (i.e. if a foul fly ball is CAUGHT, the runner may tag up). A foul bunt on a 2 strike count is a dead ball out.


When are foul balls strikes?

Only the first 2 foul balls are counted as strikes unless a subsequent foul is a foul tip into the catches glove and they maintain possesion of it or the batter attempts to bunt with two strikes and the ball goes foul. This would be strike three.


Can a batter be called out on a bunted ball that goes foul?

Yes. If a batter attempts a bunt when there are two strikes and the bunt is ruled foul, the batter is called out and a strikeout is awarded to the pitcher's stats.


What is a foul ball in baseball?

When a batter hits a ball but it goes outside the white lines (these line up with 3rd and 1st base)it is called a "foul ball" and it counts as a strike. However if the batter already has 2 strikes it does not count as anything because you can not "strike out" on a foul ball. You cannot have a foul ball on a bunt attempt if you have two strikes, however, as that is considered an out.


On a third strike why can you foul tip the ball many times but if you try to bunt and nick the ball you are out?

It's important to know that there are different types of bunts. There's bunting for a base hit, swinging bunts and, most commonly used, sacrifice bunts. The limited foul attempt rule is in effect for all bunts. However, for the first two aforementioned types, the batter is trying to get on base; thus, is wary of the ball/strike count and will rarely attempt a bunt with a two strike count. The only instance the rule comes into play is when a player is asked to lay down a sacrifice bunt in order to advance a base runner.A sacrifice bunt is viewed as the simplest way to put the ball into play. A batter performs a sacrifice bunt by holding the bat in the strike zone until the ball meets the bat. Due to the apparent simplicity, the umpire, in attempt to move the game along, will not allow an unlimited amount of foul attempts. Answer Actually, when you foul tip a ball on the third strike you're out!And a foul tip is when the batter skims the ball and the ball goes into the catchers glove.ClarificationThe first answer given is completely wrong. The umpire makes no assumption on the reasoning behind why a batter is bunting. A sacrifice bunt can be performed with 0 strikes just as a bat for a hit can be performed with 2 strikes - the rule applies to both of these. A "swinging bunt" is not defined in the Rules; it is a term used to describe when a batter swings, but the ball only goes a few feet, much like a bunt.When there is any "swinging motion" whether a full swing, half swing, check swing or "swinging bunt", the 2 strike bunt rule does not apply. This has been a rule as long as baseball has been around. A logical reason for it would be to level the playing field for pitchers and batters alike -- it wouldn't be very fair for a pitcher if a batter were given chance after chance to lay down a bunt until successful. The same reason is behind the 2 strike caught foul tip on a swing rule.


What happens if a ball hits the ground then hits the pitching rubber and then goes into foule territory?

If it goes into foul territory before it passes 1st or 3rd base, it's a foul ball. Just like a grounder or bunt that starts fair and rolls foul. If it goes into foul territory past the base it is a fair, live ball.


Who goes for ball in bunt p or 1b?

If the bunt goes towards the pitcher or third base line the pitcher. If up the first base line the first baseman and the pitcher covers first


Ball goes OVER third base bag but lands in foul territory fair or foul ball?

If a fly ball goes over the third base bag and lands in foul territory, the ball is called foul. If a ground ball goes over the third base bag in the air, the ball is fair regardless of where the next bounce is.


A batter is in the batters box the pitcher throws and the batter hits the ball into his foot and the ball goes foul but what is the call?

its a dead ball and a strike, but not strike 3, just like a foul.


Any ball that goes outside the 1st and 3rd baselines?

If the ball had any contact whatsoever on or within the baseline, it is fair. Otherwise, it's a foul and counted as a strike, but a foul cannot strike you out.


Is an out called if the batter nicks the ball and the catcher catches it before it hits the ground?

Only if it is on a third strike. That would be considered a foul tip and, by official rule, is different from a foul ball. A foul tip is when the catcher catches a ball that is 'tipped' by the batter and the ball goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. If the catcher drops the ball it is considered a foul ball and not a foul tip.


What is a foul tip in softball?

A foul tip in softball is when the pitched ball hits the bat and goes directly and sharply to the catcher, who catches it.It is not a foul tip, when it is not caught - it's a foul ball then.A foul tip is a strike and can be strike 3 (and therefore result in a strikeout). The ball is live and runner may advance (and thrown out).The height of the ball (e.g. "not higher than the batter's head") is no more part of the rule - the ball has to go directly and sharply to the catcher.It does not matter, whether it was a regular swing or a bunt attempt.


In kick ball if the ball goes past third and goes out is it a foule?

if it lands in foul territory then yes


If a ball is hit down the third base line rolls on the fair foul line hits third base and goes foul Is the ball fair or foul?

It's a fair ball if the batted ball hits the base.


If a batter hits a ball and it goes over the third base bag but lands foul is this a fair or foul ball?

A ground ball its fair. A fly ball is foul.


Why isn't it an out on a caught foul tip ball on a first and second strike but it is an out on the third?

According to MLB Official Rules 2.00 Definition of Terms:" A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher’s hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher’s glove or hand. "According to the rules, a foul tip and a foul ball are two different things.


How many foul balls can a batter have?

You can technically have infinite foul balls (assuming they go out of the playing field and are not caught). The exception is if there are already 2 strikes and you foul the ball off but it goes right into the catchers mitt. Then you're out. Also, if they're are 2 strikes and you attempt a bunt and hit it foul then you are out. ---------- Above answer is almost correct... A batter can hit an unlimited number of fouls, but a foul that is caught in the air is not counted as a foul. It's simply an out. Also, a ball that is hit straight back to the catcher who then catches it is not a foul...it is a "foul tip," and the ball is still alive, so that's not a foul either. And it doesn't matter if there are 2 strikes, or 1 strike or 0 strikes, or what the count is at all.


What is a foul tip in baseball?

A foul tip is a ball tipped by the bat that goes directly to the catcher's glove and is caught in the air. It is treated exactly the same as any other strike. The ball remains live.


If a ball goes over third base and hits the foul line and goes into fair play is it a foul ball?

NO - if it hits the line after the base and comes into play, it's fair. NO - if it hits the line after the base it's fair.


If a batter foul tips a pitch that is caught by the catcher can a base runner steal?

In MLB, yes. According to MLB rules, a foul tip is a ball that is tipped by the batter that goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. It is considered a swinging strike and not a foul ball.


If a batted ball hits fair and bounces over first or third base and then lands in foul territory is it fair or foul?

In general, if the ball goes over the 1st or 3rd base bag, it is always a fair ball. Unless it goes into the stands, in that case, the ball is always foul.


Is the batter out if a foul tip is caught by the catcher and the count is either no strikes or one strike?

No.MLB rule 2.00 defines a foul tip as follows:" A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand. "So the answer to your question is no since a foul tip that is caught is only considered a strike.


If a ball hits the ground in foul territory then goes fair is it fair or foul?

well if its rolls into fair territory before it passes either the third or first base then it would be fair

Study guides

๐Ÿ““
Create a Study Guide