answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No. If a batted ball is touched by a defensive player before it touches a runner, the ball is live and the runner is not out.

Also, if a batted ball passes a fielder that could make a play on the ball and touches a runner, the ball is live and the runner is not out. This situation is very rare and would only occur when the infield is playing in and are in front of the runner(s).

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-09-13 00:55:41
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is a runner out if the ball hits them after the ball has hit a defensive player?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If first base runner is hit in foot by grounder while running to second is he out?

If the ball hits the runner before it passes a defensive player other than the pitcher, he is out. If the ball has passed another player (like the 2nd baseman) and then it hits the runner he is not out.


Is the batter out if the ball bounces off another player and it is caught before hitting the ground?

Depends. If the ball bounces of a defensive player, and is caught, the batter is out. If it hits a runner, the ball is dead and the runner is out but the hitter is awarded first base.


If a batted ball hits a base runner is the batter safe or out?

When a batted ball hits a runner, A) the runner is out for interference, unless B) the ball first touches a defensive player or an umpire, then the runner is not out and the ball is live, unless C) the umpire judges the runner deliberately made contact with the ball, whereupon the umpire may call the runner out for interference and may also call the batter out for the runner's interference.


What is base runner interference?

Base runner interference occurs whenever a player on base (offensive player) impedes the play of a defensive player. There are several ways to impede a defensive player. 1. The offensive player physically blocks, holds or collides with a defensive player. (There are exceptions to this rule, such as when the offensive player is trying to safely reach a base.) 2. The offensive player touches a batted ball while it is in play. 3. The offensive player blocks the throw of a defensive player when trying to throw the ball to another defensive player. The throw is blocked if it hits the offensive player. Interference is called by an umpire. The interfering player is out and play stops.


Is the batter out if he hits the ball and it ricochets off of a runner and the ball is caught by a defensive player before it hits the ground?

Rules 6.08(d) and 7.08(f) say that if a fair batted ball hits a runner in fair territory before touching or passing an infielder, then the runner is out for interference. The ball is dead, and all runners must return to the base last occupied, unless forced by the batter who is awarded 1B. As soon as the ball hits the runner, it is dead, so it doesn't matter what happens...caught or not caught...after that.


If a batted ball hits a base runner is the play dead?

If a batted ball hits a base runner in fair territory before the ball has been touched by a defensive player or an umpire, the ball is dead, the runner is called out for interference, the batter is awarded first base, and all other runners advance one base if forced. If, however, the ball has been touched by a defensive player or an umpire before hitting the base runner, the ball is live and play proceeds as usual (unless the runner is judged by the umpire to have deliberately made contact with the ball, then the runner can be called out for interference, the ball is dead, the batter is awarded first base, and all other runners advance one base if forced, or, if flagrant, the batter can also be called out and no runners advance).


Is the ball dead or live when a batter ball hits a runner?

It is a dead ball and the runner is out. If the ball hits two runners, only the first runner is out, because the ball is immediately dead when it hits the first runner.


What happens to the batter when the ball hits the runner?

If the runner is in fair territory then the runner is out. But if the ball hits the runner in foul territory, then it would just be a foul ball. If the ball hits the runner in fair territory, the runner is out but if the batter is safe to 1st then they would be safe.


If the ball hits the runner stealing home plate is he out?

No... The base runner is never called out when the ball is thrown and hits the runner ...


If the ball hits a runner is it a hit or a fielders choice?

If a ball hits the runner, the runner is out and the play is scored a hit for the batter.


Is a runner out if a fielder throws the ball and hits the runner?

No. A runner is out if hit by a batted ball but not out if hit by a thrown ball.


If a batted ball hits a runner on third base but the ball hits the runner on the foot which is in foul territory is he still out?

No

People also asked