Best Answer

I have the same question as in last nights Vikings Packers game that is exactly what happened and there was no flag. I thought there should have been. Now I don't know. The result of that play was a tipped ball for an interception.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: In the NFL can a player on defense step out of bounds then back onto the field of play and catch an interception?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

When a receiver does not catch a pass what is it called?

An incomplete pass. Unless a member of the defense catches it, then it's an interception.

If you in bound can you catch a football out of bound?

No. *Yes. If no part of the player is out of bounds, they can catch a ball whether it has crossed the plane of line or not. The same applies for running: the ball can be in the air out of bounds, but if the player is still fully inbounds there is no problem.

Is a player out of bounds if the ball and his upper body are out of bounds before his knee hits the ground in bounds?

Rules vary from state to state but in this case it is perfectly legal. So along as the players feet are in bounds. In highschool football its normally if one foot is in bounds and the other is not out of bounds and the player has control of the ball then its a catch

Out of bounds pass in football?

In American Football, if a player has one foot out of bounds when he catches the football, he is out of bounds. If he has is in bounds when he catches the football then he caught it and it is a completed catch. If the player goes out of bounds and comes back in bounds and catches the football it is still an incomplete pass. However, if he was knocked out of bounds or if the ball was tipped, it may be a completed pass. The rules keep changing at all levels of the game.

In the NCAA if a receiver makes a catch and his first foot comes down out of bounds and his second foot in bounds is it a catch?

No. The first foot has to be in bounds.

Does an NFL offensive player have to reestablish his eligibility after stepping out of bounds before he can make a catch?


Is it illegal to stand out of bounds to catch a punt in the NFL?

You cannot catch a punt while out of bounds in the NFL.

This player is the only player in nfl history to catch a pass and make an interception in a Super Bowl who is it?

Deion Sanders did in Super Bowl XXX with the Dallas Cowboys.

Can you bobble the football to the ground in football?

In order to complete a catch, a receiver must maintain possession throughout the entire process. In the field of play, the ball can be bobbled so long as the player ends the catch in bounds with control of the ball. However, if a player does not have full possession of the ball as he goes out of bounds, or the catch is in any way aided by the ground, it is considered incomplete.

Is there still a College football force out rule and what is the definition ie if the player is pushed out of bounds while in the air and doesn't have the opportunity to come down?

There is no "force out" in college football. Only one foot is required in bounds for a completed catch, unless a receiver's normal progression to the ground is interrupted by a defensive player (for example, if a receiver was hauled out of bounds when he would have landed in bounds).

Who had the 1st player to catch an interception and run it in for touchdown in a Super Bowl?

Herb Adderley, Green Bay Packers, Super Bowl II vs The Oakland Raiders

How many feet do you need on the ground for it to be ruled a complete pass if forced out of bounds in the NFL?

If a receiver is knocked out of bounds by a defensive player and the official believes the receiver would have come down in bounds with both feet had he not been contacted by the defender, then it's ruled a completed pass. ---- This rule has been changed for the 2008 season. There is no longer a 'force out' rule in the NFL.