answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes. For example, if the batter pops up into foul territory behind the catcher, the catcher can be scored for an error if he gets under the ball, the ball drops into his glove, but he then drops the ball. The batter gets another chance to bat, but no matter what happens later in his at-bat, the run will be unearned due to the catcher's error.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-10-30 00:40:56
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: In baseball can you make an error on a foul ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Foul ball tuched by a player in foul territory then falls into fair territory is it foul or fair?

It's where the ball would have fallen originally so if the ball would have landed foul by the estimation of the umpire it would be ruled a foul ball. Also, if it was a play that didn't require uncommon effort to make the player that tried to make the play would be given an error.


If the player is in foul territory and drops the ball is the batter safe?

If the ball is in fair territory, the fact that the fielder is standing in foul territory does NOT make the ball foul. the same as if a ball is foul, the fielder standing in fair territory doesn't make the ball fair.


Is the batter out if he inadvertently make contact with a slow rolling ball in foul territory?

If the ball itself is in foul territory, then the batter would not be out, because once the ball is foul it's considered a dead ball. Anybody can touch it.


How many fouls are needed to foul out in baseball?

In baseball a batter can ONLY be called out on a hit foul ball if said foul ball is caught without it hitting the ground ... and personally I think that rule is very foully itself. In order to speed up the game of baseball and make it more exciting, I propose there be a strict limit on foul balls. Change the rules in professional baseball and make it that once the count reaches two strikes, the batter may only hit ONE MORE FOUL BALLwithout penalty. On the second foul after the second strike, the batter is OUT ... and it's scored as a strikeout for the pitcher. It's that simple!


How do you catch a foul ball in baseball safely?

1st use a glove If no glove is available make sure that as you catch the ball move your hand in the direction the ball is moving there by increasing the time it take for the ball to decelerate


Do the foul ball girls in MLB make money?

They do their job.


Can a player make a second contact with the ball?

no. it will be considered a foul. . .


In basketball why can't ypu hit a person and it be called a foul what happen when the other person hits you and you don't have the ball and they do?

You can foul someone whether you or them have the ball. If you make "illegal contact" with another player its a foul.


How high does a foul fly have to go and be caught for an out?

It doesn't make a difference how high the ball is if it's in foul territory just as long as one of the players catches the ball.


Is a wild pitch an error?

No, a wild pitch is a wild pitch -- it is considered a mistake charged to the pitcher. An "error" in baseball is a fielding mistake. A pitcher can make an "error" but only on a batted or thrown ball.


Can pitcher make a error in baseball?

Yes. Any defensive player can make an error.


What is reaching in foul?

Reaching in is not a foul. The term is nowhere to be found in any rulebook. There must be contact to have a foul. The mere act of reaching in, by itself, is nothing. If contact does occur, it's either a holding foul or an illegal use of hands foul. When a player, in order to stop the clock, does not make a legitimate play for the ball, holds, pushes or grabs away from the ball, or uses undue roughness, the foul is an intentional foul.

People also asked