answersLogoWhite

0

Reaching in is not a foul. The term is nowhere to be found in any rulebook. There must be contact to have a foul. The mere act of reaching in, by itself, is nothing. If contact does occur, it's either a holding foul or an illegal use of hands foul. When a player, in order to stop the clock, does not make a legitimate play for the ball, holds, pushes or grabs away from the ball, or uses undue roughness, the foul is an intentional foul.

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

FranFran
I've made my fair share of mistakes, and if I can help you avoid a few, I'd sure like to try.
Chat with Fran
JordanJordan
Looking for a career mentor? I've seen my fair share of shake-ups.
Chat with Jordan
MaxineMaxine
I respect you enough to keep it real.
Chat with Maxine
More answers

A "reach in foul" is when a player tries to steal the ball from his opponent, but draws contact with his opponent while attempting to steal. If the player makes no contact, there's no foul.

User Avatar

Wiki User

10y ago
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is a reach in foul in basketball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp