answersLogoWhite

0

Yes, provided he has control of the ball at the time.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

What else can I help you with?

Related Questions

If a runner has to return to a base on a caught flyball is that a force out?

Yes. The fielder covering the base does NOT have to tag the runner. The runner is forced out when the fielder steps on the base before the runner can make it back. Got that.


If a ball is a pop fly and the opponent catches it is the hitter out?

Yes, the hitter is out and if the fielder who caught the ball can get it to a base before the runner gets back the runner is out making it a double play


Can you throw the ball at a runner in baseball to try and get them out?

Yes, in baseball, a fielder can throw the ball at a runner to try to get them out.


Can a baseball fielder brush up against the runner to get an out?

yes


What are all outcomes from an at bat in baseball?

Hit (single, double, triple, home run), put out (thrown out at any base or a strike out), fly out (caught on the fly, i.e line out or pop out), fielder's choice (fielder opts to put out another base runner), or an error. Note: a walk is not considered an at bat.


Why use double first base?

To prevent collisions between runner and fielder


If play is not a force out what must a fielder do?

he must tag the runner with the baseball


What are the baseball tag out rules for a runner trying to advance to a base?

In baseball, a runner can be tagged out while trying to advance to a base if the fielder with the ball touches the runner with the ball or glove before the runner reaches the base. The runner must also be tagged out if they are not on a base when a fielder touches the base with the ball in their possession.


What is a force out in baseball and how does it differ from a tag out?

A force out in baseball happens when a runner is forced to advance to the next base because the batter becomes a base runner. The fielder only needs to touch the base with the ball to get the runner out. A tag out, on the other hand, occurs when a fielder tags a runner with the ball before the runner reaches the base.


If a player bobbles the baseball is the runner out?

The runner is safe as long as the runner touches the base and is not tagged out. An out can only be recorded if the fielder has possession of the baseball the whole time through a play.


What happens if there is an infield fly rule with a runner on first only?

If there is an infield fly rule with a runner on first only, the batter is automatically out, regardless of whether the ball is caught or dropped by the fielder. The runner on first can advance at their own risk after the ball is caught or lands.


When does a run not count on a fly ball?

When the runner doesn't properly 'tag-up' after the fly ball is caught. In baseball, to tag up is for a baserunner to retouch or remain on their starting base (the time-of-pitch base) until (after) the ball either lands in fair territory or is first touched by a fielder. By rule, baserunners must tag up when a fly ball is caught in flight by a fielder. After a legal tag up, runners are free to attempt to advance, even if the ball was caught in foul territory. On long fly ball outs, runners can often gain a base; when a runner scores by these means, this is called a sacrifice fly. On short fly balls, runners seldom attempt to advance after tagging up, due to the high risk of being thrown out. When a base runner fails to tag up on a caught fly ball (for instance, if they started running too early, thinking the ball wouldn't be caught), they may be "doubled off", which results in them being called out. To double a runner off, a fielder must touch the runner's starting base while in possession of the ball before the runner returns to the base. If the baserunner appeared to tag up, but a fielder suspects the baserunner may have left the base too early (thus failing to legally tag up), the fielder may attempt to double the runner off by touching the runner's starting base while controlling the ball, before the next pitch is thrown. This is considered a type of appeal play. If the umpire agrees that the runner did not retouch after the ball was touched by a fielder, the umpire will call the runner out, and anything else the runner did during the play (such as score a run) is negated. Doubling a runner off is considered a "time play" (as opposed to a force play), which means that even if the doubling-off is the third out of an inning, any runs which score before the double-off will count (unless the run was scored by the same runner that was doubled off, in which case the run will not count in any situation).