answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The pitcher who got the last out in the previous bottom of that inning. In other word, that pitcher can be credited with the win by making only one pitch. If I'm called in as a reliever and get a ground out to end the inning and then my team goes ahead in the top of the next inning, I would be the winning pitcher. Even if i only threw one pitch.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-04-25 13:25:12
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If your team goes ahead in the top of the inning and a new pitcher goes in in the bottom of the inning - which pitcher gets the win - the starting pitcher or the 2nd pitcher?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Starting pitcher finishes 7 inning game tied visitors go ahead in 8th inning new pitcher starts the 8th inning who gets the win?

The starting pitcher.


If the starting pitcher is relieved in the 3rd inning and his team is ahead at that time who gets the win the starting pitcher or the reliever?

I dont want to be mean but, THE RELIEVING PITCHER!!!!


If a starting pitcher is taken out of a game in the 6 inning with the score 12 - 4 and the final score ends 20 - 15 does the starting pitcher get the win or no decision?

If the other team did not tie the score or go ahead after the starting pitcher was taken out of the game, the starter would get the win. If the other team did tie the score or go ahead after the starter was taken out, the starter would get a no decision.


Does the pitcher before the save get the win?

Not necessarily. The "winning" pitcher is the one who most recently pitched when her/his team went ahead, without ever surrendering the lead. A starting pitcher must pitch at least five innings. Thus, the pitcher before the one that gets the save MIGHT get the win, but it is not guaranteed. If a team went ahead in the first inning and maintained the lead, and that team's starting pitcher pitched for more than five innings but had two relief pitchers to follow him, then the starter would be the "winning" pitcher and the final pitcher would have a chance at a save. But the second pitcher would have no chance for either a win or a save.


When does a pitcher get a no decision?

A no decision is given to a starting pitcher who does not get credit for either a win or a loss for that game. A starting pitcher may come out for a relief pitcher with the score tied. Only the pitchers in the game when the final go-ahead run is scored get credit for a win or loss.


What inning did Mickey Mantle hit the home run that put the New York Yankees ahead of the Brooklyn Dodgers in the perfect game pitched by Don Larsen in the 1956 World Series?

On October 8, 1956, when Don Larsen pitched the perfect game, Mickey Mantle hit the go-ahead home run in the bottom of the fourth inning. It was off of Dodgers pitcher Sal Maglie.


What has to happen for a pitcher to save the game?

the pithers team has to be winning by 3 or less runs to save the game A pitcher must enter the game after the fifth inning, his team must be three or less runs ahead, and the pitcher must preserve the lead.


What does it take for a relief pitcher to get the win for the starting pitcher?

If a relief pitcher enters the game with the score tied or his team behind and leaves or ends the game with the lead and his team wins, HE (the relief pitcher) gets the win rather than the starting pitcher. He can also get the win if he enters the game with more than one runner on base and the other team takes the lead based on those runners scoring (the runners already on base are charged to the previous pitcher) as long as he leaves or ends with the lead and his team wins.If the relief pitcher enters the game with his team ahead and the other team never ties the score or gets ahead, then the win goes to the starting pitcher. The relief pitcher is credited with a "save" if he finishes the game without giving up the lead.Also - the starting pitcher has to go 5 innings to get credited with the win.


Pitcher enters a game in the top of the 9th. His team is down by 1 run. A runner is caught stealing before he throws a pitch. His team wins the game in the bottom of the 9th. Is he the winning pitcher?

Yes. Even though the pitcher did not throw a pitch he was the pitcher of record when the winning runs scored. So he would get credit for the win. Let's say this happened in the 6th inning: A pitcher comes in with the bases loaded, two out, and his team is trailing 6-4. He picks the runner off of first base before he throws a pitch. In the bottom of the 6th the pitcher is pinch hit for and his team scores 4 runs to put his team ahead 8-6. The game ends with a score of 8-7. The pitcher would be credited with the win in this case because, as before, he was the pitcher of record when the go-ahead runs scored. I cannot recall this ever happening but, by rule, a pitcher can be credited with a win without throwing a single pitch.


How many innings does a starting pitcher have to go to earn a win?

Under current rules, a starting pitcher must pitch five innings to get a win, whereas a reliever need only pitch a third of an inning to get a win. When the go-ahead run (that is, the run that puts a team ahead and the other team does not tie or get the lead for the remainder of the game) is scored, the winning pitcher is the last pitcher of the half-inning before the go-ahead run is scored, unless that pitcher is a starter with less than five innings pitched, in which case the official scorer awards the win to one of the relievers. This gives discretion to the official scorer. I would propose the following change which would give a starter more of a chance for a win is to give the first pitcher with the most outs in the entire game the win if the go-ahead run is scored before a reliever takes the mound. This would end situations where a starter pitched 4-1/3 innings and a reliever pitching only one or two innings gets the win at the scorer's discretion when the go-ahead run was scored during the starter's tenure. This rule would cover five inning games as well as exhibition games where pitchers are limited to a certain number of innings. Peter


If a pitcher is losing a game in the 4th inning 4-5 and the team never ties the game but ends up losing the game 6-7 who gets the lose the starter or relief pitcher?

The loss is charged to the pitcher who is charged with the go-ahead run whether it is earned or not. The go-ahead run is the tie breaking run which puts the winning team ahead and the other team never catches up for the rest of the game. Peter Gaposchkin


What is the bottom of the ninth?

That is when the home team is batting in the ninth inning. If the home team is ahead after the visiting team makes its three outs in the 'top' of the ninth (their turn to bat in the ninth inning) there is no bottom of the ninth because the game is over and the home team has won. If the home team is tied or behind the visiting team after the visiting team makes their three outs in the ninth inning, the home team comes to bat and it is called 'batting in the bottom of the ninth inning'.

People also asked