MLB Rule 6.08(b) states that a batter is awarded first base when: "He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless (1) The ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, or (2) The batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball; If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a strike, whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a ball if he makes no attempt to avoid being touched." So, if the ball was in the strike zone when it touched the batter, it would be called a strike. If the ball was outside the strike zone when it touched the batter, it would be called a ball.
It depends. If the batter tried to make contact with the ball, it is a strike. If the batter's hand was in the strike zone, it is a strike. Otherwise, it is a hit by pitch.
If the pitch is in the strike zone, and the batter does not swing, it is a "strike." If the pitch is not in the strike zone, and the batter does not swing, it is a "ball."
The batter watches a strike go by and doesn't swing the bat. A batter swings at a strike and misses. A batter swings at a ball and misses. A batter could also attempt to bunt on the third strike, bunting it foul would lead to the batter being called out.
The strike zone varies from batter to batter. The width of the strike zone is the width of home plate. The height is from the batter's chest (usually the letters) down to the batter's knees. The strike zone doesn't necessarily go by how tall the batter is, but by how the batter's stance is in the batter's box while waiting for the pitch.
If the batter attempts to hit the ball and misses, it is a strike. If the batter does not attempt to hit the ball and the ball enters the strike zone, it is a strike. If the batter does not attempt to hit the ball and the ball does not enter the strike zone, it is a ball (unless it hits the batter, then the batter is awarded 1st base).
No. The only player who can strike out is the batter.
A runner doesn't get a strike, a batter does.
No. The batter is indeed "out," but the play is not a "strike out" for either the batter or the pitcher.
The batter can make an attempt to reach first, but if the ball is fouled off by the batter, the batter is out (strike out).
The batter is out, scored 2u, not a strike out.
In softball, the batter can be walked, strikeout, or they can get a hit. Walks are caused by the batter accumulating 4 balls. A ball is a pitch thrown outside of the strike zone. A strike is a pitch thrown inside the strike zone. A batter can get a strike by either swinging and missing the ball, or they can get a strike from not swinging at a strike within the strike zone.