answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The batter can make an attempt to reach first, but if the ball is fouled off by the batter, the batter is out (strike out).

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-06-23 18:11:30
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a cather misses a third strike bunt can the batter advance to first?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

What are 3 ways a strike is called on a batter for softball?

The batter watches a strike go by and doesn't swing the bat. A batter swings at a strike and misses. A batter swings at a ball and misses. A batter could also attempt to bunt on the third strike, bunting it foul would lead to the batter being called out.


What if attempting to bunt batter misses ball then ball hits batter can runners advance?

If a better puts out his bat for a bunt and does not pull it back, the pitch counts as a strike (as long as the ball does not hit the bat of course). It does not matter if the ball is in the strike zone or is 10 ft outside of it. Given that it is a strike, the runners do not advance, although they can attempt to steal.


How do you score a missed third strike if catcher drops third ball and the batter is safe at first?

It is scored as a strike out for the pitcher (as far as the pitcher's stats) but not an out against the team at bat. The base runner's advance to 1st is scored as a passed ball (error) on the cather.


If a batter swings a bat at a pitch and misses the ball but is hit by the ball in the process is the batter awarded first base or is it a strike due to the swing?

Its a strike


What is the stike of softball?

A strike in softball is when a pitcher pitches a softball to the batter [located in the batter box in front of the catcher] and the batter misses. When it is a strike, it is thrown in a particular area from the batter's armpits to the bottom of their knees.


If a pitcher throws the ball to the batter and he doesn't hit it?

If the batter attempts to hit the ball and misses, it is a strike. If the batter does not attempt to hit the ball and the ball enters the strike zone, it is a strike. If the batter does not attempt to hit the ball and the ball does not enter the strike zone, it is a ball (unless it hits the batter, then the batter is awarded 1st base).


If a batter steps on home plate to avoid being hit by a pitch is the pitch a strike?

If the pitch passes through the strike zone, or if the batter swings at the pitch and misses, it's a Strike. Otherwise it's a Ball. It has nothing to do with where the batter is standing.


Are little leaguers supposed to be taught to run on the third strike regardless of whether or not the catcher misses the ball?

No. There is no 'uncaught third strike' rule in Little League. A base runner can advance if a third strike is not caught but the batter may not reach first base due to an uncaught third strike.Majors and minors can't, but juniors and seniors can.


When does a strike in softball occur?

if the batter swings and misses or if the pitch is between the chest and kness


Can a runner advance if a batter bunts foul on his 3rd strike?

No a runner cannot advance


How do you score a missed third strike if catcher drops the ball and the batter is out at first?

"Dropped third strike", batter swings and misses the third strike, he then runs to an unoccupied first base, but catcher throws him out at first to complete the STRIKE OUT. it's a STRIKE OUT (Capital "K" in the book).


When a batter swings at a pitch and misses is?

Baseball is a game of balls and strikes: the pitcher throws the ball, and the batter tries to hit it. If the batter swings at the ball and misses, that is called a strike. A batter gets three strikes (three efforts to swing at the ball) before being called "out."


What happens if a batter is hit in the arm by a ball while swinging?

If the batter is hit in the arm while swinging and he misses the ball the call is a strike.


Can it be a strike to swing at a ground ball?

A pitched ball that touches the ground is a live ball. If the batter swings and misses, it is a strike. If the batter swings and hits the ball, it is treated as any other hit ball.


If a catcher misses a third strike can a batter run to first?

yes, unless first base is occupied.


What is it called when a pitcher misses the batter with the ball?

Either a Strike or a Ball. Depending on your where the ball ends up.


Can batter advance on dropped third strike?

yes, but he can be thrown out if the ball beats him to first after the dropped 3rd strike.


Can runners advance on a dropped 3 rd strike and less than 2 outs?

Runners can advance in any case even with 2 outs. The batter is different. If first base is occupied with less than 2 outs then the batter cannot advance but everyone else can... It would be more of a steal than drop strike though. If there are 2 outs and he strikes out on a dropped strike, the batter is allowed to advance with a runner already occupying first. In any other case you can go whenever you please


Can a runner on first steal a base on a strike swing?

if a batter swings and misses and a runner is on base and the runner is stealing then he can steal a base. Not sure what you mean though on a strike swing.


If the batter swings and misses the third strike but the ball hits the ground first and the catcher catches it cleanly is it still an out?

it is considered a dropped third strike. the batter must be tagged or thrown out, same as if the catcher had dropped the ball. -LM, umpire


Can a batter advance on strike 3 when bases are loaded?

Yes, if the catcher drops the ball


What ball sport has 'walk' in the terminology?

Baseball. A "walk" occurs when, in the umpire's judgement, the pitcher misses the "strike zone" with four throws to a single batter. The batter is then awarded first base.


Is it possible to have a four-strikeout half inning in baseball?

Yes On the third strike of the third strike out if the ball gets by the catcher the batter can reach first base safely but the at bat is counted as a strike out. The next batter comes up ,strikes out and the cather holds on to the ball this time. Theoretically, if your catcher cannot handle the third strikes, you can have unlimited number of strikeouts in an inning. If every batter reached safely after a dropped third strike (which IS recorded as a strike out for the pitcher), you could lose, say, 20-0 without ever giving up a hit and by striking out every batter.


When can or can not a batter advance to first on a dropped third strike?

MLB rules state that if there is a runner on first base and less than two outs, the batter is out and the runners may advance at their own risk. If there is not a runner on first base and less than two outs, the batter may attempt to advance to first base and all other runners may advance at their own risk. The uncaught third strike rule always applies when there are two outs.


With a runner on third batter swings and misses on the third strike and the ball hits the batter the runner on third crosses homeplate when the ball bounces away from the catcher Does the run score?

Batter is out, the ball is dead when it hits the batter. Runner at third returns to third.