I will assume you mean when a batter has hit a ground ball to an infielder and the throw to first pulls the first baseman off the bag. On any force play, and the above would be considered a force play since the batter is forced to run when (s)he hits the ball, the batter would be called out because it is only necessary to have full possession of the ball and touch the base before the runner does.
No, the runner would not be out. The fielder would have had to have tagged the runner with the ball itself or with the ball was in the glove in order for the runner to be out.
For more clarification:
"A TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove; or touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove"
This is directly from the Major League rules. Tagging is not just tagging a runner off base. Tagging can also be throwing a runner out as per Major League rules.
Read rule 7.08
If the play at the base is a force out, yes. MLB rules state that a player must have complete control of the ball with the glove or bare hand for an out to be recorded. Control of the ball with the hand or glove and contract with the base is what is needed to make a force out. The rule is different, however, if the play is a tag play instead of a force out. In that case, if the fielder had the ball in his hand and tagged the runner with the glove, the runner would be safe. On tag plays the runner must be tagged with the ball or with the glove that is securely holding the ball.
No, the ball must be in the glove in order to record a tag out with the glove hand. If the ball is in your throwing hand, you must make the tag with that hand.
MLB Rule 2.00 makes this clear:
A TAG is the action of a fielder in ... touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove.
That happens almost all the time. The only time that you can touch the bag before the runner gets there and it'd be an out is if it's a force out, or if the runner has no choice and he has to run to the next base, no matter what.
So long as the fielder has full possession of the ball the runner is considered out whether the ball is in the glove, in the bare hand, or in the glove covered with the bare hand.
the player is safe. catcher must have control of the ball
Yes, the runner would be out because of the force play meaning that the runner has to go no matter what.
The fielder has to have the ball in his possession but if he drops it he doesn't have to tag up. Actually, the fielder doe NOT have to have possession of the ball for a base runner to tag up and advance. Once the runner is on the base ("tagging up") he may advance as soon as the fielder touches the ball, whether he has possession or not. In other words, the base runner may advance even if the fielder is bobbling the ball and then catches it, i. e. has possession.
He needs to catch it, and if he drops it the runner doesn't need to tag up.
If the pitcher is in contact with the runner, the runner is safe if the pitcher drops the ball. If the pitcher is in contact with the rubber, it is a balk if he drops the ball.
If the fielder catches the ball and, during the motion of reaching into the glove to grab the ball to throw, the ball drops to the ground the batter is called out. As long as the fielder has complete control of the ball before attempting to throw, the umpire will call the batter out.
In this case it's a judgment call for the scorer. If the ball was deep enough that the runner on third could score anyway on a tag-up, then there should be no error and the batter would be given credit for a sacrifice fly. However, if it is a short pop fly and the scorer doesn't think the runner could've tagged up and scored, then it would be an error. Of course, if there are two outs when this happens the run doesn't count and this is a moot point.
This is a judgement call by official score keeper. If, in his opinion, the only reason the runner coming home from third was "safe" was because he out-ran the throw, then that would be considered an infield hit. It's the same situation as when a batter outruns the throw to first. If, however, the score keeper thinks the shortstop made a bad throw, or took to long to handle the ball, then it would be an error. In general, throwing to the "wrong" base is not an "official" error. Bad judgement, perhaps, but not an error.
If the runner at second is out by being forced out, the batter is not given a base hit .... the play is ruled the same as if the ball was hit to an infielder that threw to second to force the runner. If the runner at second is out by being tagged because they rounded the base too far, the batter is given a base hit.
If he drops it yes
The definition of an error in baseball would be when a fielder misplays a ball that allows a batter or base runner to advance one or more additional bases when a regular or ordinary play would have prevented the advancement. An error can be when a fielder drops a fly ball, makes a poor throw, or isn't able to field an easy ground ball.