answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No Because no smart coach wouldattempt a frickin field goal on second down unless it is overtime, Duh:p

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-12-07 19:33:55
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If the kicking team recovers a blocked field goal on second down can they reatempted another field goal?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

If a punt is partially blocked is it a live ball allowing the kicking team to recover it?

Yes it is a live ball and if the kicking team recovers they still have to get the first down and if the defense recovers its a turnover. The ball is live, however, the kicking team cannot regain possession of the ball unless the receiving team touches it first.


Can an onside kick be advanced if kicking team recovers it?

If the kicking team legally recovers an onside attempt, the ball is dead, the clock is stopped, and the kicking team gets the ball for an offensive series at the spot of recovery.


During a punt if ball is partially blocked but ball advances past scrimmage line can the kicking team recover and advance the ball?

No, unless the defensive team touches or recovers the ball after the initial block.


After a Field goal is blocked and then recovered by the kicking team can that same team kick another field goal on the next play or does the ball go over to the opposing team?

If it doesn't cross the line of scrimmage and the kicking team recovers the ball, the kicking team can kick again on the next down. This happened this week in Iowa vs Northern Iowa. Read about it here: http://scores.espn.go.com/ncf/recap?gameId=292482294


Can a blocked extra point be advanced by the kicking team?

No


Can a team attempt a feelgo on 3rd down miss the kick then get the ball back on 4th down?

I assume you mean "field goal." Yes, this is possible, if the ball is blocked and never crosses the line of scrimmage, and the kicking team recovers. The kicking team could also recover the ball past the line of scrimmage if the kicking team touched the ball first.


If a team tries for a field goal on 2nd down and misses do they still get the third and fourth downs?

If a field goal is attempted on any down other than fourth, the rules state that once the ball crosses the line of scrimmage the kicking team no longer has possession. This means that if a field goal is attempted on second down and the kick is blocked and the kicking team recovers behind the line of scrimmage, they retain possession. If the ball crosses the line of scrimmage, regardless of whether the kicking team recovers or not, possession goes to the defensive team.


Is it a touchdown or a touchback if the kickoff goes into the endzone and the kicking team recovers it?

Touchdown on a kickoff.... Touchback on a punt


What if a field goal is blocked past the line of scrimmage and the kicking team recovers the block on or past the first down marker?

The ball is placed at the original line of scrimmage unless the defensive team touches or takes possession of the ball after the initial block.


What is the call if the kicking team recovers the ball before ten yards?

the kicking team gets a penalty and the receiving team gets it ten yards forward from where they picked it up.


If the receiving team touches the ball before it goes ten yards and the kicking team recovers the ball the ball did not go ten yards who would get the ball?

Once the receiving team touches it becomes a live ball and if the kicking team recovers it regardless how far it went they have the ball.


Can the kicking team pick up a blocked punt then throw a forward pass?

no.


Can the kicking team run in a blocked extra point?

Of course they can, only if they can make it!


Can the kicking team advance a blocked punt?

Yes they can, although that is almost impossible.


When is a blocked field goal a live ball for the team kicking the field goal?

The ball is always live. The kicking team, however, can only recover it after the opposing team touches it. If the Field Goal is blocked it can be recovered by the kicking team if the ball never crosses the line of scrimmage.


Is it considered a turnover when an onside kick does not travel 10 yards but is touched by the receiving team and the kicking team recovers the ball?

yes?


Is it a touchdown if the defensive team blocks a punt and recovers it in the endzone?

Yes it would be a touchdown. If the kicking team recovers it and is downed in the endzone or the ball goes out of bounds in the endzone the defensive team will get a safety and receive the ball via free kick.


In football on an onside kick if the ball touches the receiving team and then the kicking team recovers is it a turnover?

the defence doesnt have to touch the ball in order for the offence to get it.


Can a block third down field goal be re-kicked?

Yes, as long as the ball never crosses the line of scrimmage and the kicking team recovers.


Can the kicking team score on a blocked punt?

Yes, but only if the ball doesn't cross the line of scrimmage. Once it does, the kicking team can still recover the ball but can't advance it.


What if the punter in football misses a kick?

If a punter misses a kick it is a live ball. If the kicking team recovers, they turn the ball over on downs. (Assuming they are unable to recover the ball and covet.) If the defending team recovers it plays out the same way as a traditional fumble would.


Can the kicking team regain possession after a blocked punt?

If they retain the ball and advance it past the first down marker


Do you rekick if an onside kick is too short?

no, if the kicking team recovers it and it's too short it's a penalty, but the receiving team can pick up the ball no matter how long it was kicked


What is passing in soccer?

Kicking the ball from one player to another.


Can a blocked extra point try be recovered by the kicking team?

Yes, as long as it doesn't cross the line of scrimmage or if it touches a defensive player.