answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

YES.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2004-09-09 03:18:30
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If the count is two strikes and a foul tip is caught by the catcher is the batter out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Does a foul ball count as a ball if the batter already has 2 strikes?

A foul ball never counts as a ball. In Major League Baseball, a foul ball only counts as the third strike if it's a foul tip that was caught by the catcher.


Is the batter out if a foul tip is caught by the catcher and the count is either no strikes or one strike?

No.MLB rule 2.00 defines a foul tip as follows:" A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand. "So the answer to your question is no since a foul tip that is caught is only considered a strike.


When the catcher catches a foul ball behind the plate is the batter out or does it matter what the count is?

If a batter swings, and the ball becomes a fly ball, and that ball is caught by ANY fielder (including the catcher) before it hits the ground; the batter is out no matter what the count happens to be or whether the ball is fair or foul. MLB Rule 2.0 states that "A FLY BALL is a batted ball that goes high in the air in flight." No specific rule exists on what "high in the air" means it's entirely the judgement of the umpire.If the batter swings and partly hits the ball but the ball "goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught" (again, MLB Rule 2.0), that is a foul tip. If the catcher does not catch the ball partly hit by the bat, the umpire can rule that the ball was a foul meaning the batter is NOT out if there are two strikes on him. The umpire can also rule that the ball was not hit by the bat meaning the swing was a strike and the batter is (again) out if there are two strikes on him.


How many strikes or balls will you get in a softball game?

In an at bat a batter as to get 4 balls before they walk. A walk meaning they get to be on first base. In a at bat where there are no foul balls they batter gets three strikes before they are out. If there are foul balls they count as pitches, but a batter can not strike out on a foul ball that is not caught.


What are 3 balls and two strikes on the batter?

it is called a "full" count.


What does a full count mean when said by the empire in softball?

When an umpire calls a full count, that means the batter has 3 balls and 2 strikes. A full count (3-2) is the highest number of balls and strikes a batter can get before he is either awarded a base (on balls) or is out (on strikes).


Batter has 2 strikes and 1 ball if he gets injured does the pinch batter take the same count or start over?

The pinch batter assumes the count that the original batter had.


What is a 3 2 count in baseball?

A 3-2 count is also known as a full count. 3=the number of balls the batter has. 2= the number of strikes the batter has.


With change of pitcher can batter be changed?

Yes. The batter can be changed. The balls and strikes are on the pitcher. If there is a new pitcher, the count goes to zero balls and zero strikes.


If the umpire's count on the batter is 2-1 how many strikes are on the batter?

There is one strike on the batter if the count is 2-1 That is something that shouldn't really be asked online that is obvious


Batter has a count of 2 and 1 and foul tips the ball what is the count now?

Two balls and two strikes


A batter has a count of three balls and two strikes what is the call?

It's called a full count according to my grandpa.

People also asked