answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No. There is no rule prohibiting the batter from stepping on home plate.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-05-28 15:30:02
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If the batter attempts to bunt and misses and steps on home plate is he out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Is batter called out if he steps on home plate?

If the batter touches home plate, while making contact with the plate, he is out.


If a batter steps on home plate to avoid being hit by a pitch is the pitch a strike?

If the pitch passes through the strike zone, or if the batter swings at the pitch and misses, it's a Strike. Otherwise it's a Ball. It has nothing to do with where the batter is standing.


How is it scored in the book if a batter steps on the plate?

Nothing is scored because of a batter stepping on home plate. There is no rule in MLB prohibiting a batter from stepping on home plate.


If a batter steps on home plate after hitting a fair ball is he out?

No.


If a batter steps on home plate while bunting and the ball rolls foul is he out?

There is no rule in MLB prohibiting the batter from stepping on home plate. However, the batter may be out for bunting foul with two strikes.


When a pitcher is intentionally walking a batter can the batter step over the plate to make contact with the ball?

No, if a batter steps out of the batters box and makes contact with the ball, he is out.


Is a batter out after hitting a foul ball then steps on home plate using high school rules?

No


What if a batter steps on the plate while batting?

When a batter has attempted a swing or a bunt the momentum can carry him out of the batter's box and cause him to step on home plate. Once the batter has struck at a ball or attempted a bunt, he is allowed to step out of the box, even if he steps on home plate. He cannot do so any other time during his at-bat. Unless "Time" is called, he must keep at least one foot inside the batter's box.


If a batter steps on home plate after hitting a ball is he out?

In Major League Baseball, there is no rule prohibiting a batter from stepping on home plate after he hits the ball. Often, a right handed batter will step on home plate on his way to 1st base after hitting the ball, especially when he bunts.


Is a batter out if he steps in front of home plate and hits foul?

If the batter's entire foot is outside of the batter's box when he makes contact with the pitch, the ball is dead and the batter is Out, whether the ball is hit Fair or Foul.


What is batters interference at home plate when catcher is throwing down to 3rd base?

Batter's Interference is if the batter in question steps in the way of the Catcher that'll prevent him from throwing to a base.


Is it a strikeout if a batter steps on the plate?

One Answer:Before the hit yes. After no. the home plate is in fair territory between the batters box and first base so it is often stepped on, however the batter must hit the ball while inside the batters box. Correct Answer:There is no rule in MLB prohibiting a batter from stepping on home plate.

People also asked