answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes all the other bases are a force out. The runner going to first forces the runner at first to second. The runner at first forces the runner at second to third. The runner at second forces the runner at third to home. You only have to tag the runner when a runner that was "forcing" you (from a previous base) is out.

In the scenario you have mentioned the only time the third baseman would have had to tag the runner from second to third would be if the initial force out was behind the runner at either at first or second (the putout thus not forcing the runner from second to third, which would now require a tag. If the initial force out was at first or second, the runner on second would have the choice of going to third or retreating to second, and not "forced" to run. Since the initial force out was at home, the runner from second to third is still being "forced" to run by the runners behind him.

Make sense?

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-06-02 14:58:50
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
No Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If the bases are loaded and the force is at home plate are the other bases a force out or does the third baseman have to tag the runner?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

In MLB does the baseman need to touch the base to get the runner out?

If it is a force (i.e. there are people on all the bases behind the runner) play, then yes, the baseman needs to touch the base to get the runner out. If the runner is not required to move to that base, then the baseman must tag the runner to get him out. The baseman does not NEED to touch the base to record the out. The defense may tag the runner OR the bag.


Is a runner out if the ball gets to home base before them?

not unless the bases are loaded, creating a force at home for the runner on third otherwise the runner must be tagged to be put out


Does the runner on second have to run to third base when the batter hits the ball?

The runner only has to run if there is another runner behind him (bases loaded) or if there is a force at secoind base.


If the first baseman tags a runner instead of the base is it a force out?

yes it is a force out


Bases loaded 1 out ball is hit to firstbaseman who tags runner and throws home is it a force at home still and can runners revert?

By tagging a trailing runner, the force has been removed, so there is no force at home.


When can a baseman tag the base for an out?

There are two situations when a baseman can tag the base for an out.The first is the force out. A force out happens when a baseman tags the base of the only possible location for the runner. For example, if a batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman, the first baseman only needs to tag first base because it is the runner's only possible destination. Also, if there was a runner on first base and a ground ball was hit, there would be a force out at both second and first base because they runner on first base would be forced to progress one base. With a man on first and second base, you can force at first, second and third, and with the bases loaded, there is a force at every base. If there is a runner on second and/or third, but not first, the runners are not required to progress one base, so there is only a force at first.The second is on the fly ball. If a fly ball is caught, a base runner must touch the base again ("tag up") before moving on to the next base. If they do not tag up after the ball is caught, the baseman at the base from which they left can tag that base for the out. For example, if there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a fly ball, and that ball is caught, the runner must touch the base after the ball is caught before he can leave for the next base. If he doesn't touch the base after the ball is caught, the baseman only need tag the base while holding the ball for the out.


If the bases are loaded and the force is at home plate are the other bases a force out?

Yes it is a forced out as long as you get them in order from 4,3,2,1


When bases are loaded and the first out occurs at home is there a force play at third?

Yes. The runner going to 3rd is still forced since there are runners "forced" to each base behind him.


Rule on force out with bases loaded and two outs?

Fielder can step on any base for a force out.


If a relief pitcher comes in with the bases loaded and gets a force out at second does the runner that is now on first get charged to the previous pitcher since his runner was forced out by choice?

No. Any base runner that gets on base and scores is charged to the pitcher that pitched to him, regardless whether the batter reached base by a force out, error, catcher's interference,etc.


Bases loaded 1 out ball hit to SS runner scores SS tags man going to 3rd throws to 2nd for the force and last out does the run count?

The run does not count. This is a force out, not a "time" play. The tag by SS on runner going to 3rd is still a force. Regardless, the throw to 2nd is force out for the 3rd out. No run can score on a play in which the 3rd out is a force out. The time when the runner touches home is irrelevant. If the 3rd out was a "tag" play (not a force), then the run would count since the runner touched home before the 3rd out.


What does closed bases mean in youth baseball?

Not only in youth baseball but in all levels of baseball, a closed base means that the next base that a base runner needs to get to has a runner already on the bag. E.G.: There's a runner on first and second, so a ground ball will force a throw from second base to first base considering that those bases are "closed" with base runners. In a bases loaded situation, all bases are "closed" because all bases have a base runner and the batter is considered on home plate.


When there is a runner on first and the batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman should the first baseman throw the ball to second?

If the first baseman has time they should tag the runner. If the runner is already too far they should throw it. If the first baseman is close to first, they should step on first and then throw the ball to the shortstop at second. Note: Tagging first base first takes away the force out at second and the runner must then be tagged. They are also allowed to return to first base.


How do you get a force -play in baseball?

Lets say there is a man on first base, and the batter gets an infield ground hit that is picked off by the shortstop. The shortstop throws the ball to the 2nd baseman who steps on 2nd base before the runner a at 1st can reach it. This is a force out as the 2nd baseman does not have to tag the incoming runner. If the shortstop caught the ball before the ball hit the ground and can throw the ball to the 1st baseman before the runner at 1st can get back and put his foot on the bag, then that would also would be a force out.


Man at first ground ball first baseman tags first runner does not advance to second stays on first is this a double play?

If the runner remains standing on the bag when the 1st baseman touches the bag and the 1st baseman does not tag the runner prior to touching the bag, then the runner is safe and you have no double play. Answer To clarify, once the Batter becomes a batter-runner, the runner at first loses his right to occupy first base and is forced to advance. If he is tagged while standing on the base, he is out. If the first baseman then steps on first base the Batter-runner is also out -- Double Play. BUT, if the first baseman first steps on the base the batter-runner is out and the force is removed. If the runner standing on first base is now tagged he is safe.


When stealing home plate can the catcher jump in front of the plate to tag the runner?

YES the catcher is SUPPOSED to block the plate as long as he has the ball. if the batter swings and hits the catcher the runner would return to third and the batter awarded first base. If the bases were loaded the catchers interference would force the runner home.


When the bases are loaded and 2 out a ball is hit to SS The runner scores before the SS throws the batter out Does the run count?

No the run does not count. An out at any base would be a force out and no runs can score, If the runner scored and the third out is made because a runner is called out on an appeal play such as failure to retouch on a fly ball out or a runner missing a base the run would count


If the bases are loaded with 1 out and a ground ball is hit to the 1st baseman and the 1st baseman makes an error is it an earned run?

No, it would be listed as an unearned run.  A double-play is never assumed but a force play (at home or first) would be especially if the official scorer gave him an error (which basically means that the out should have been made).


When must a base runner be tagged in softball?

When there isn't a runner behind them forcing them to run. For example, if a runner is on 2nd base but there is no one on 1st base, the runner must be tagged on their way to 3rd in order to get them out. However, if there IS a runner on 1st, the 3rd baseman can simply touch the base because it is a force out.


If bases are loaded and the batter is tagged out is there still a force out on the other runners?

No, there would be force out. the runners may stay at their current base.


Bases loaded with 2 outs they try to get the force on 3rd but the runner makes it before the throw but overruns 3 the runner on 3 makes it home be4 the over-runner is tagged out does the run count?

Yes the run scores, it would be scored the same as if s runner was thrown out trying to stretch a single into a double and a run crossed the plate before the put was made


With the bases loaded and 2 out a ball is hit to SS. The runner scores before the SS tags the runner from second. Does the run count?

yes it does But in the situation where the ball is thrown to first base witch would be a force out, even if the 3rd base runner has scored the run does not count! ----------------------------------------------------------------------- WRONG. The run cannot count if the third out was made on a batter/runner before he reaches a base he was force to advance to. Doesn't matter if he was tagged or the ball was thrown to the base.


When do have to tag the runner?

Whenever there is no force play or you decide to tag him between bases. A force play is when the runner has to advance due to a runner behind him or batter. In this case he has to advance bases because if he stays there will be two people imon this base and the other person can't go back because if the same reason


With runners on 1st and 2nd no one out batter hits the ball to third the third baseman tags the base then throws to 2nd is it a force play or do you have to tag the runner?

If it was a ground ball, then it would be a force out.


With less than two outs does the runner at first have to advance if the batter is forced out at first?

No. But this rule does not come into effect until AFTER the force out at first base occurs. In other words, until that force out at first happens, the runner who was on first must advance. But AFTER the force out occurs, the runner who was on first need not do so. If a first baseman steps on first and then immediately fires to second base, the person covering second base must tag out the runner coming towards second base. I've seen twenty-year veterans of MLB forget this -- they take the throw from the first baseman after a force out at first base, step on second base, and then walk away without tagging the runner.