The Ball is still in play. Back surface is the only out-of-bounds part of the backboard. (Supporting elements, such as pipes or poles or arms, etc. are obviously not part of the backboard or rim and are out of bounds.)
The ball traveling OVER the top of the backboard is OUT of bounds. I believe this rule was put in place because Wilt Chamberlain would score from the other side of the board.
Some sources say that if the backboard is 'fan shaped' or arched top, then the over-top rule does not apply, but does if the backboard is rectangle.
It's amazing to me how many times this happens at the gym and players call it out of bounds. Cmon! You gotta know the rules if you want to play the game. No one ever knows this rule, but here it is:
Rule 4, Section I - c. All five sides of the backboard (top, bottom, both sides and front face) are in play. As long as the shot stays on the top of the backboard, it is still in bounds. When it falls through the basket, the goal counts. But once the ball crosses over the backboard - regardless of where it comes to rest - it is out of bounds.
Only if it stays there. If it comes down inside the lines, then it's still in play.
If the ball touches the very top of the backboard it is considered and declared out of bounds to most referees.
If the ball goes off the rim and over the backboard then it is out of bounds. If it goes off the rim and hits the top of the backboard but falls back in play on the front side of the backboard, then it isn't out of bounds.
If the Basketball touches the side of, or goes over, the backboard, then the ball is called out of bounds and the play is called dead.
If you save it before it hits the ground i think
No. If it touches the top of the backboard, it is ruled as out of bounds, therefore, a turnover
Yes, it is out of bounds.
that made no sense at all... It does make sense or atleast I understand, I do believe that it is considered out of bounds. I could be wrong but I think that if it goes over the backboard most refs call that out.
no it can not. once it hits or goes over the top of the backboard it is officially out of bounds and its the other teams ball
It is not legal under NCAA rules:Art. 3. The ball shall be out of bounds when it passes over the backboardfrom any direction.In NBA the rule is slightly different:b. Any ball that rebounds or passes directly behind the backboard, in either direction, from any point is considered out-of-bounds.Note the word 'directly'. Here's the official interpretation from NBA vice president of referee operations Joe Borgia in 2009:"Think of the backboard as a long tunnel that goes straight back," Borgia said. "If the ball goes through that tunnel, it's a violation. If you looked at Rondo's shot, it was an arching shot up and over the backboard. It never passes through the tunnel."This is why Bird's shot is waived off while other shots that flew over the backboard but not from behind the backboard are valid.Bird's shot is legal under FIBA rules.
The ball has gone "in touch" and the restart is a throw-in.
A ball is out of bounds if it goes over the baseline (the line that goes in a rectangle all around the court)
Out of bounds in basketball is passed the line at the end of the court. If a person with the ball stands out of bounds the other team gets the ball. Someone on Team A is on offence (they have the ball) and someone on Team A knocks the ball out of bounds, Team B gets the ball. But if Team A was on offence and Team B knocks the ball out of bounds, Team A keeps the ball.
it should not it is considered out but most refs don't know that
Probably no. If you shoot it OVER the rim and it hits nothing, it will go out of bounds and be awarded to the other team.If the shot is from the corner, a team mate could get a rebound and pass it back.So, possibly, but not likely.AnswerNo, that would be considered travelling. Well think about this if you shoot the ball over the backboard it will likely go out of court and tha ball will be awarded to the other team. but also even if you did shoot the ball over the backboard it is called a voilation of the rules so the other team will get the ball so most likely the other team will get the basketball even if the same team catches the ball
The ball is not "out of bounds" unless the ball or the player who possesses it touches the ground in an out of bounds area. So in the case where the ball is in flight over the sideline, and a player who is inbounds catches it and demonstrates control before stepping out, the pass is complete.
In the game of basketball it is out when either the ball is bounced on the line or anywhere in the out of bounds area or when u have the ball and any part of you body (or ball) touches the line or goes over the line. Hope this helps!!
If you throw it in the square on the backboard correctly. it will most likely go in. :D
If the ball crosses wholely over the goal line (but not inside the goal) and was last touched by the attacking team, the defensive team is awarded a goal kick.