answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The Ball is still in play. Back surface is the only out-of-bounds part of the backboard. (Supporting elements, such as pipes or poles or arms, etc. are obviously not part of the backboard or rim and are out of bounds.)

The ball traveling OVER the top of the backboard is OUT of bounds. I believe this rule was put in place because Wilt Chamberlain would score from the other side of the board.

Some sources say that if the backboard is 'fan shaped' or arched top, then the over-top rule does not apply, but does if the backboard is rectangle.

It's amazing to me how many times this happens at the gym and players call it out of bounds. Cmon! You gotta know the rules if you want to play the game. No one ever knows this rule, but here it is:

Rule 4, Section I - c. All five sides of the backboard (top, bottom, both sides and front face) are in play. As long as the shot stays on the top of the backboard, it is still in bounds. When it falls through the basket, the goal counts. But once the ball crosses over the backboard - regardless of where it comes to rest - it is out of bounds.

User Avatar

Wiki User

9y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

Only if it stays there. If it comes down inside the lines, then it's still in play.

If the ball touches the very top of the backboard it is considered and declared out of bounds to most referees.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

If the ball goes off the rim and over the backboard then it is out of bounds. If it goes off the rim and hits the top of the backboard but falls back in play on the front side of the backboard, then it isn't out of bounds.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

If the Basketball touches the side of, or goes over, the backboard, then the ball is called out of bounds and the play is called dead.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

If you save it before it hits the ground i think

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

No. If it touches the top of the backboard, it is ruled as out of bounds, therefore, a turnover

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

Yes, it is out of bounds.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

yes

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

no

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If the ball goes over the backboard in the NBA is it out of bounds?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Is it out of bound if the ball hits the side of the backboard in basketball?

that made no sense at all... It does make sense or atleast I understand, I do believe that it is considered out of bounds. I could be wrong but I think that if it goes over the backboard most refs call that out.


Can the basketball go over the goal and roll back in when playing?

no it can not. once it hits or goes over the top of the backboard it is officially out of bounds and its the other teams ball


Can a basketball legally hit the top of the backboard?

It is not legal under NCAA rules:Art. 3. The ball shall be out of bounds when it passes over the backboardfrom any direction.In NBA the rule is slightly different:b. Any ball that rebounds or passes directly behind the backboard, in either direction, from any point is considered out-of-bounds.Note the word 'directly'. Here's the official interpretation from NBA vice president of referee operations Joe Borgia in 2009:"Think of the backboard as a long tunnel that goes straight back," Borgia said. "If the ball goes through that tunnel, it's a violation. If you looked at Rondo's shot, it was an arching shot up and over the backboard. It never passes through the tunnel."This is why Bird's shot is waived off while other shots that flew over the backboard but not from behind the backboard are valid.Bird's shot is legal under FIBA rules.


When the soccer ball goes out of bounds over the sideline what is this called?

The ball has gone "in touch" and the restart is a throw-in.


What is a 'outofbounds' in basketball?

A ball is out of bounds if it goes over the baseline (the line that goes in a rectangle all around the court)


What does out of bounds mean in basketball?

Out of bounds in basketball is passed the line at the end of the court. If a person with the ball stands out of bounds the other team gets the ball. Someone on Team A is on offence (they have the ball) and someone on Team A knocks the ball out of bounds, Team B gets the ball. But if Team A was on offence and Team B knocks the ball out of bounds, Team A keeps the ball.


If a shot ball sails over the top of the backboard and goes in -does it count?

it should not it is considered out but most refs don't know that


If a basketball player throws the ball off the backboard the ball does not hit the rim and he catches the ball is that travelling?

Probably no. If you shoot it OVER the rim and it hits nothing, it will go out of bounds and be awarded to the other team.If the shot is from the corner, a team mate could get a rebound and pass it back.So, possibly, but not likely.AnswerNo, that would be considered travelling. Well think about this if you shoot the ball over the backboard it will likely go out of court and tha ball will be awarded to the other team. but also even if you did shoot the ball over the backboard it is called a voilation of the rules so the other team will get the ball so most likely the other team will get the basketball even if the same team catches the ball


In football if the ball goes out of bounds and a player is inbounds and catches the ball when it is out but he isn't is it a complete pass?

The ball is not "out of bounds" unless the ball or the player who possesses it touches the ground in an out of bounds area. So in the case where the ball is in flight over the sideline, and a player who is inbounds catches it and demonstrates control before stepping out, the pass is complete.


When is it out in basketball?

In the game of basketball it is out when either the ball is bounced on the line or anywhere in the out of bounds area or when u have the ball and any part of you body (or ball) touches the line or goes over the line. Hope this helps!!


Can you inbound ball over the backboard?

If you throw it in the square on the backboard correctly. it will most likely go in. :D


The defense is given a goal kick when the ball goes out of bounds over what line?

If the ball crosses wholely over the goal line (but not inside the goal) and was last touched by the attacking team, the defensive team is awarded a goal kick.