Yes. The only rule restricting who may recover a fumble occurs in the final two minutes of a half. This rule states if the ball is fumbled forward in the last two minutes of a half, if the player that fumbled the ball is not the player that recovers the ball, then the ball goes back to the point where it was fumbled. If the player that fumbled is also the player that recovers, the ball is spotted where the recovery was made.
In other words, let's say there are less than two minutes left in a half and a player is on the 5 yard line and fumbles the ball forward into the end zone. If the player that fumbled the ball also recovers the ball, the play is ruled a touchdown. If any other offensive player recovers the ball, it is not a touchdown and the ball is brought back to the 5 yard line and the offense keeps possession. If a defensive player recovers the ball, it is ruled a touchback.
Up to the fumble, that is receiving yards for the person that caught the ball. After the recovery, that is considered fumble recovery yards, but those yards are not kept up with in an offensive player's career stats.
The football player fumbled the ball, costing his team the game.
I think the whistle would be whistled berfore the fumble could actually happen.
I believe it would be ruled as a touchdown, but I have no research to prove this. In the NFL, it would be a touchdown at all times except the final two minutes of each half. In the final two minutes of a half, if a ball is fumbled forward it must be recovered by the player that fumbled it for the yardage to count. So in those instances, the ball would go over to the other team on downs at the point of the fumble. At all times in the NFL, the only offensive player who is eligible to recover a fumble going forward on fourth down is the player who fumbled it. Within the last two minutes of either half, the same rule applies on every down. The ball is considered dead at the spot of the fumble under these circumstances, so the defense would take over at that spot. This play would never result in a touchdown.http://www.nfl.com/rulebook/fumble
Any fumble, whether forward or backwards, is a live ball. The offense can recover the fumble, with certain stipulations: If the play is a fourth down, OR if play is within the last two minutes of either half, only the player who fumbled the ball can legally recover for the offense. A forward pass that hits the ground before a player gains possession is a dead ball and the play stops. A backward pass that hits the ground before a player gains possession is a live ball or considered a fumble and the recovering team will gain possession of the ball.
BenJarvus Green-Ellis has the longest streak of carries to start an NFL career without a fumble (589).
A defensive player may go out of bounds and then come back in bounds and make a tackle or recover a fumble. An offensive player may not go out of bounds voluntarily and then catch a pass. The only other rule about going out of bounds in the college rulebook is that a member of the kicking team may not go out of bounds voluntarily and then come back onto the field to make a play.
A fumble is down when the recovering player is down or when the ball goes out of bounds...so yes, if the ball is fumbled forward and recovered by the offense, or goes out of bounds, past the first down marker, it is a first down. The exception is on fourth down. In the NFL, only the player who fumbled the ball can advance it on fourth down.
When the ball is fumbled, it can be recovered by any player on the field. if the defense recovers the fumble, the defensive player can attempt to run the ball in order to gain yards, because once it is clear that the defense have the ball, it is officially in their possession. If the offense regains control of the ball it is an automatic first down.
any player on the offensive team
No. The kicking team may only recover and retain possession of the kicked ball, but not advance it -- UNLESS a receiving-team player had possession and fumbled the ball.