answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The winning pitcher is determined by the official scorer, if the starting pitcher's team is in the lead and never gives up the lead for the remainder of the game. If not, the winning pitcher is the pitcher of record when his team takes and keeps the lead. To be the "winning pitcher", the starting pitcher must pitch five complete innings in a game that is scheduled for six or more innings.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-03-01 21:51:04
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a starting pitcher throws 3 innings in a seven inning game and no reliever throws more than 3 innings who gets the win?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If the starting pitcher is relieved in the 3rd inning and his team is ahead at that time who gets the win the starting pitcher or the reliever?

I dont want to be mean but, THE RELIEVING PITCHER!!!!


Who gets the win if 3 pitchers each throw 2 innings and the 4Th pitcher throws 1 inning in a 7 inning game?

According to the rules in Major League Baseball, in the event of the home team winning and keeping the lead but the Starting Pitcher only lasting 2 innings and then the second pitcher lasts two innings to make it through the 4th inning and then the third Pitcher lasts two innings to make it through the 6th inning then it would be up to the home team's Official Scorer to determine which of the Relievers had pitched the best and that reliever would be awarded the Win.


How many innings must a relief pitcher pitch to get a win?

Unlike the starting pitcher, a relief pitcher has no minimum number of innings pitched. Given the definition of a win, however, it's impossible for a pitcher to achieve it without pitching at least 0.1 inning (one out).


How many innings must a starting pitcher pitch to win a 9 inning game?

In a Major League Baseball game, Starting Pitchers can pitch as many innings as needed, it is up to the discretion of his Manager however Starting Pitchers must pitch 5 innings in order to qualify for a win.


How many innings does a starting pitcher have to go to earn a win?

Under current rules, a starting pitcher must pitch five innings to get a win, whereas a reliever need only pitch a third of an inning to get a win. When the go-ahead run (that is, the run that puts a team ahead and the other team does not tie or get the lead for the remainder of the game) is scored, the winning pitcher is the last pitcher of the half-inning before the go-ahead run is scored, unless that pitcher is a starter with less than five innings pitched, in which case the official scorer awards the win to one of the relievers. This gives discretion to the official scorer. I would propose the following change which would give a starter more of a chance for a win is to give the first pitcher with the most outs in the entire game the win if the go-ahead run is scored before a reliever takes the mound. This would end situations where a starter pitched 4-1/3 innings and a reliever pitching only one or two innings gets the win at the scorer's discretion when the go-ahead run was scored during the starter's tenure. This rule would cover five inning games as well as exhibition games where pitchers are limited to a certain number of innings. Peter


If your team goes ahead in the top of the inning and a new pitcher goes in in the bottom of the inning - which pitcher gets the win - the starting pitcher or the 2nd pitcher?

The pitcher who got the last out in the previous bottom of that inning. In other word, that pitcher can be credited with the win by making only one pitch. If I'm called in as a reliever and get a ground out to end the inning and then my team goes ahead in the top of the next inning, I would be the winning pitcher. Even if i only threw one pitch.


How many innings do you have to pitch to be awarded the win in a seven inning game?

A starting pitcher most pitch 6.2 innings of regulated play with the lead or retake the lead at any point with less then half the game to play ...


How is basedball IP calculated?

For each full inning pitched, calculate 1 into the IP. If a pitcher only pitches part of an inning, find the number of outs and calculate it into a decimal. For example, let's say a pitcher pitched 5 innings and left the game with two outs. His IP would be 5.2. The reliever for him pitches 2 innings and leaves the game with no outs. Since he came in with two outs and continued two more innings, he would have 2.1 IP. The closing pitches pitches the rest of the game, or 2 innings. He would have 2 IP.


Nickname for a Major League Baseball pitcher?

Randy Johnson - The big Unit The nicknames of a baseball pitcher are as follows; hurler, fireballer ( a good fastball pitcher), starter ( usually only starts games) ace ( your best starting pitcher), reliever ( takes over in later innings for a starter), setup man ( 8th inning guy who sets up for the 9th inning) closer ( comes in usually only for the 9th inning to close out a game) middle reliever, southpaw ( a left handed pitcher), lefty, righty, some one who is "on the bump" is a pitcher and it refers to the pitcher's mound, Knuckleballer ( a pitcher who usually only throws a slow, hard to hit knuckleball), specialist ( usually refers to a left handed pitcher that only pitches to left handed batters). That's all I can think of right now.


When calculating a pitcher's ERA and the pitcher is relieved before the inning is over do you credit a full inning pitched for the ERA stat or how do you divide the inning up?

The pitcher is credited with a fraction that represents how many outs there were in the inning when they are relieved. If the pitcher is relieved is one out, they are credited woth 1/3 (one-third) of an inning. If the pitcher is relieved with two outs, they are credited with 2/3 (two-thirds) of an inning. A pitcher who starts the game and is relieved with one out in the seventh inning is credited with 6 1/3 innings pitched ... if relieved with two outs in the seventh inning is credited with 6 2/3 innings pitched. ... if relieved with no outs in the seventh inning is credited with 6 innings pitched.


If you pitch a different pitcher 3 innings can you pitch the pitcher that pitched the 2nd inning in the 4th?

Yes, providing that pitcher did not leave the game, but moved to a different position on the field for the 3rd inning.


Starting pitcher finishes 7 inning game tied visitors go ahead in 8th inning new pitcher starts the 8th inning who gets the win?

The starting pitcher.

People also asked