If a batted ball hits a base runner in fair territory before the ball has been touched by a defensive player or an umpire, the ball is dead, the runner is called out for interference, the batter is awarded first base, and all other runners advance one base if forced. If, however, the ball has been touched by a defensive player or an umpire before hitting the base runner, the ball is live and play proceeds as usual (unless the runner is judged by the umpire to have deliberately made contact with the ball, then the runner can be called out for interference, the ball is dead, the batter is awarded first base, and all other runners advance one base if forced, or, if flagrant, the batter can also be called out and no runners advance).
No - the entire plate is in fair territory, so a batted ball that hits the plate is in play; however, if it goes foul after hitting the plate, it is a (foul) dead ball.
No it's live ball,but if the batter is hit by a pitch it's a dead ball.
The ball is only dead until the batter reaches first base and the pitcher has the ball. After that the batter can steal and the pitcher is free to do what he wants.
A ball is considered dead when it goes out of bounds or is fumbled.
no they can chill
no it is considered a dead ball
The ball is considered dead when it touches the court out of bounds or touches a player that is out of bounds. In this case, the ball would go to the team that blocked the shot. Had the ball touched the court out of bounds before touching the player, the ball would go to the shooting team.
no because it will be considered a dead ball
No, the ball is not dead and the batter may attempt to hit it.
Yes. Encroachment is when a defensive player makes contact with an offensive player before the snap of the ball.
If you are referring to runners already on base, then that runner is considered out because of interference with the ball that was in play.Clarification:Above answer refers to a batted ball that was not touched by a defensive player first. In a situation where a thrown ball or a deflected ball gets stuck in a offensive player's (runner's) jersey then it is a dead ball. The runners will get to advance to the base they are going to and then the play is over
No, this would be considered a dead ball play. A blatant obstruction might be deemed interference and the runner awarded a base.
If a field goal attempt is deflected by an opposing player, that deflection is considered a Blocked attempt.
When the ball is thrown and it hits the ground it's dead. Or if the runner loses the ball after his knee is down the ball is dead. And in cases where flags are thrown the ball and the play is dead.