no they can chill
No.
Funny you ask -- this exact play occurred last night during a game I watched on TV, and I immediately shouted (like I normally do) "Ball is dead, no runners can advance." And I was correct.
If a batted ball hits a base runner in fair territory before the ball has been touched by a defensive player or an umpire, the ball is dead, the runner is called out for interference, the batter is awarded first base, and all other runners advance one base if forced. If, however, the ball has been touched by a defensive player or an umpire before hitting the base runner, the ball is live and play proceeds as usual (unless the runner is judged by the umpire to have deliberately made contact with the ball, then the runner can be called out for interference, the ball is dead, the batter is awarded first base, and all other runners advance one base if forced, or, if flagrant, the batter can also be called out and no runners advance).
No, the ball is not dead.
yes
If the fielder falls into the stands or the dugout after catching the foul, the ball is dead and runners are awarded base from the base they occupied at the time of the pitch.
No, this would be considered a dead ball play. A blatant obstruction might be deemed interference and the runner awarded a base.
If you are referring to runners already on base, then that runner is considered out because of interference with the ball that was in play.Clarification:Above answer refers to a batted ball that was not touched by a defensive player first. In a situation where a thrown ball or a deflected ball gets stuck in a offensive player's (runner's) jersey then it is a dead ball. The runners will get to advance to the base they are going to and then the play is over
No, it is not a ground rule double. If an offensive player other than the batter kicks a batted fair ball out of play, he is out for interference, the ball is dead, the batter is awarded first base, and all runners return to the base they occupied at the time of the pitch. Note: the umpire may also call the batter out, at the umpire's discretion. If the batter kicks a batted fair ball out of play, he is out for interference, the ball is dead, and all runners return to the base they occupied at the time of the pitch. If any offensive player kicks a batted foul ball out of play, the ball is dead, and it is up to the umpire's discretion as to whether the ball is foul or whether the player or batter is out for interference and which bases the runners and batter are awarded. If a defensive player kicks a pitched ball out of play, the ball is dead, and all runners, including the batter if the pitch was ball four, are awarded one or two bases from the base they occupied at the time the ball was kicked (see MLB rule 7.05 for whether one or two bases). If a defensive player kicks a batted foul ball out of play, it is a foul ball. If a defensive player kicks a batted fair ball out of play, the batter is awarded second base, and all runners are awarded two bases from the base they occupied at the time of the pitch. If a defensive player kicks a ball out of play which has already been touched by another defensive player, all runners including the batter advance two bases from the base they occupied at the time the ball was kicked.
Yes. Ball is dead. Batter is awarded 1st and all runners advance 1 base. Rule 5.09 (f)
No. You answered your own question. The ball is dead if it comes into contact with the batter. Play should immediatly halt. I can see in softball, if the fourth ball is pitched and it hits the player, and is counted as a ball, then both runners would move. Of course if the runners on base are forced runs. Aside from that. I cant see a scenario where the runner would move bases based on a dead ball.
When the ball is thrown and it hits the ground it's dead. Or if the runner loses the ball after his knee is down the ball is dead. And in cases where flags are thrown the ball and the play is dead.