answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No. Once a batted ball strikes a baserunner the ruling is a dead ball. In this instance, if the runner is in fair territory, they player struck by the ball is out, and the batter is credited with a single --- if the runner is in foul territory and struck this is a foul ball. Same would apply with hitting the batting coach

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-06-16 18:37:54
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a line drive ball off the bat hits the runner on third base and flies in the air is the batter out when the third baseman catches the fly ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If the a line drive strikes the pitchers rubber and the catcher catches it is he out?

No he is not out. Hitting the rubber is like hitting the ground. He would have to throw out the batter, runner at first base.


Is it considered an error if a third baseman drops a line drive but gets a runner out who decides to try for home from third - unforced - and gets thrown out?

No error, batter is credited with reaching first on a fielder's choice.


When was the first triple play in MLB?

The first recorded triple play was by the Hartford Dark Blues on May 13, 1876 in a game against the New York Mutuals. With runners on first and second the Mutuals tried a hit and run. The batter hit a hard line drive to the second baseman who caught the ball for out #1. The second baseman threw to the first baseman to double off the runner for out #2. The first baseman then threw back to the second baseman to catch the runner off second base for out #3.


How do you get an unassisted triple plays in Baseball?

On a hit and run play, runners on first and second, the batter hits a line drive to the second baseman, he makes the catch for the first out tags the first base runner for the second out and steps on second for the third out.


Is it possible to get 4 outs in one inning?

YES! A very weird situation has to happen though. With runners on 2nd and 3rd and 1 out, a line drive is caught by the 2nd baseman. The runner on 3rd runs on contact (without tagging). The runner on 2nd can't get back to the base. Instead of just tagging 2nd base for the 3rd out, the 2nd baseman runs after the runner and tags him AFTER the runner on 3rd touches home. When the 2nd baseman went after the runner, it became a "pickle" situation. The other runner's run counts (if it was scored before the tag) unless the defense appeals to 3rd where the runner left early and therefore would be the 4th out. Confusing, but true. 1st out- before the situation 2nd out- Caught line drive 3rd out- tag of runner 4th out- appeal to 3rd where runner left early.


Can the dh play in the field in baseball?

actually, they could, all you really need for a game, is a pitcher and a batter, the fielders are just for real games. although the only way for the batter to get out is to get struck out or if the batter hits a "line drive" to the pitcher and he catches it.


Is a 2002 Toyota 4 runner front wheel drive?

No , a 2002 Toyota 4 - Runner is rear wheel drive or 4 wheel drive


What should you do if car catches fire?

drive to the nearest ocean


Is batter out if hit by ball that he hit?

When a batter hits a ball and then leaves the batter's box, he immediately becomes a base runner. Rule 7.08(f) states that a runner is out if "He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder." I suppose a wildly spinning, batted ball could bounce towards the first base line and touch the batter-runner while he was running to first base. In that case, the batter - runner would be out. Satchel Paige loved to tell the story of how "Cool Papa" Bell once hit a screaming line drive that hit Bell as he was sliding into second base. In that case Bell would clearly have been out.


How old do you have to be to drive a wave runner?

Does not really matter a 8 year old kid can drive a wave runner into the dock.Probably at least 13 to speed.


Is 4 runner in two wheel drive front or rear wheel drive?

Rear wheel drive


There are runners on first and second and a line drive is hit to the left fielder who makes the throw to third to get the force out Does the batter get awarded a base hit or is it a fielder's choice?

A batter is never awarded a base hit when a runner is forced out, regardless of where the ball is hit.


If a runner is already on 1st base and the batter rips a line drive into center field and the center fielder throws out the runner at 2nd base is the batter credited with a hit or is it a FC?

One answer:it would be considered a force play. Another answer:The runner from 1st base would be out on a force play. The batter would be credited with a base hit. It would only be a fielder's choice if the official scorekeeper felt the batter could have been thrown out at 1st but the fielder chose to throw to 2nd (thus the term "fielder's choice"). It is unlikely that the batter would have been thrown out at 1st on the play you describe, but the final authority is the official scorekeeper.


Is a runner out if he gets hit by a line drive?

If a runner is hit by ANY kind of batted ball, before a fielder has a chance to catch it, the runner is out and play is halted.


If a runner who is in play is advancing from third and the is hit by a line drive that is called foul is the runner out?

If a runner is in foul territory is hit by a batted ball, it is simply a foul ball and the runner returns to his base. However, if he is in play, he is out.


Has there ever been one baseball player to make all three outs in one inning?

Yes, it's known as an unassisted triple play. It's extremely rare, usually occurs when there are at least two runners on consecutive bases (1st & 2nd, for example) and the defensive player (in this case the second baseman or short-stop) catches a line drive or fly ball (1 out) steps on the base (2 out) and tags a runner (3 outs). I think the last time it happened was in 2009.


How many unassisted triple plays were there in major league baseball and who made them?

There have been 15 unassisted triple plays in Major League history. Neal Ball SS July 19, 1909 2nd Caught line drive, Touched 2nd, Tagged runner. Bill Wambsganss 2B October 10, 1920 5th Caught line drive, Touched 2nd, Tagged runner. (World Series Game) George Burns 1B September 14, 1923 2nd Caught line drive, Tagged runner off 1st, Touched 2nd before runner returned. Ernie Padgett SS October 6, 1923 4th Caught line drive, Touched 2nd, Tagged runner. Glenn Wright SS May 7, 1925 9th Caught line drive, Touched 2nd, Tagged runner. Jimmy Cooney SS May 30, 1927 4th Caught line drive, Touched 2nd, Tagged runner. Johnny Neun 1B May 31, 1927 9th Caught line drive, Tagged runner off 1st, Touched 2nd before runner returned. Ron Hansen SS July 30, 1968 1st Caught line drive, Touched 2nd, Tagged runner. Mickey Morandini 2B September 20, 1992 6th Caught line drive, Touched 2nd, Tagged runner. John Valentin SS July 8, 1994 6th Caught line drive, Touched 2nd, Tagged runner. Randy Velarde 2B May 29, 2000 6th Caught line drive, Tagged runner, Touched 2nd. Rafael Furcal SS August 10, 2003 5th Caught line drive, Touched 2nd, Tagged runner. Troy Tulowitzki SS April 29, 2007 7th Caught line drive, Touched 2nd, Tagged runner. Asdrubal Cabrera 2B May 12, 2008 Caught line drive, touched 2nd, tagged runner. Eric Bruntlett 2B August 23, 2009 9th (game ending) Caught line drive, touched 2nd, tagged runner.


Can you drive your car with expired license?

Not legally. You can do anything but that doesn't mean you won't get in trouble for it if a cop catches you.


Runner steals home with two outs and batter hits line drive which is caught but the runner tags home before ball is caught. Does the run count?

Yes it does count cause he scored before the out. If he scores after the out then it doesn't count. It's just like if he stole home plate and during a run down a guy gets caught between bases after. The score happened before the caught line drive. Sorry..the run does not count as the batter hit the pitch for an out. In fact, had there been less than two outs, the runner from third could be thrown out by tagging 3rd before he returned. Think, line drive to a fielder with a runner on any base, and, after the catch, the fielder throws to the base to double up the baserunner. The situation is completely different from the run down situation described above.


Is a runner who is standing on a base out if hit with a line drive?

if they're in foul territory or on base then no.


What is the age to drive a waverunner in Florida?

The age I believe to drive alone on a wave runner is 13 but you have to have a boaters licence. Any age can drive with an adult of age 18+.


Is the 2005 Toyota 4 runner front-wheel drive?

It is 4 wheel drive when the system is engaged. In 2 wheel drive the vehicle is driven by the rear wheels.


What does hit and run mean in baseball and when is it used?

A hit and run is when there is a baserunner, lets say on first base, and the runner takes off for second after the pitch as if he is trying to steal. The batter will swing at the pitch and try to put the ball in play. If the batter is successful and can get a base hit, the runner will probably advance one extra base than normal because he was running with the pitch. If the batter swings and misses or the defensive team called a pitchout, the runner will attempt to steal second base. If the batter hits a line drive at one of the infielders that is caught, chances are the runner will be doubled up for a double play. The hit and run is a risky play that can used as a way to open up holes in the infield for a batter to hit the ball through and as a way to create runs for a team that does not have many power hitters in their lineup. Click on the 'Hit and Run' link on this page to read more about the hit and run and how it is used.


If A batter hits a line drive that hits a base on a fly and is caught is the batter out?

No the batter is not out- The bag is on the ground and that is considered a bounce off the ground.


If the ball is hit to the pitcher with a runner on first base who covers second base?

Assuming that the hit to the pitcher is a grounder, the shortstop should cover second base, and the second basemen should back-up the throw, so that it doesn't leak into center field. Of course, if the hit is a line-drive or pop-up that is caught by the pitcher, causing an out, the pitcher can throw the ball to the first baseman and get another out, if the runner is caught off that bag.