answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2007-12-06 16:35:41
This answer is:
๐Ÿฆƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides

Softball

25 cards

What is the function of the heart

From what country did the Munich Massacre hostages originate

In what year did the Munich Massacre take place

How do you take an accurate pulse

โžก๏ธ
See all cards

Sports

10 cards

Sample of oath of sportsmanship

What is the most common form of violence in sports

What sport was banned by European missionaries because it was considered immoral

What is another name for non-traditional sports

โžก๏ธ
See all cards

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a fly ball is caught and then in the transfer of the ball from the glove to the hand the ball is dropped is the batter called out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

What is a fly out in softball?

An infield fly is when the batter hits it really high in the infield and no matter if it is caught or dropped, the batter is out. Or just a regular fly ball is when the batter hits the ball into the air and one of the fielders catches it and the batter is out.


If the ball is caught and then dropped - while the player is tumbling on the ground - is the batsman out?

Usually the batter is not out, but if the fielder drops the ball in the act of throwing it to an infielder the batter is out. So your question's answer is no he is not out.


In baseball is it a dropped third strike if the pitcher throws a pitch in the dirt with the count 2-2 and the batter swings and misses and the catcher catches the ball off the dirt on one bounce?

It has to be caught it-the-air first. "Dropped Third Strike" is a misleading term. It should be called the "Uncaught Third Strike". So, if the ball touches the dirt before reaching the catcher, it is indeed a dropped third strike.


Rule concerning a ball caught in the air and dropped when hitting the ground?

If there were less than 2 outs and were runners on base, the runners go back to their bases and the batter is out.


Is a pitched ball that hits the ground before reaching the batter considered to be a dropped third strike?

In MLB, yes. MLB Rule 6.05(b) states that a batter is out when "A third strike is legally caught by the catcher" with the added comment "'Legally caught' means in the catcher's glove before the ball touches the ground".


What are the ways a batter can be declared out in softball?

Three strikes, dropped third strike (if the catcher gets them), breaks the rules/ anything illegal or a caught fly ball if the ball doesn't hit the ground.


Can a runner tag and run on a foul ball which is caught and dropped?

If the ball is held long enough to have possession and called an out then yes. If the ball is not held long enough for an out to be called then no.


If a player drops a Foul ball is it an error?

Yes. A dropped foul ball can be considered an error if the official scorer deems that the player should have caught the ball. The batter will not reach base in this case. However, if the batter subsequently scores a run, the run will be unearned. Notably, an error on a dropped foul ball would not disrupt a pitcher's attempt to record a perfect game.


If a foul hit is caught then the batter is out?

Yes. If a foul ball is caught by a defensive player before it hits the ground the batter is out.


What should the batter when a fly ball is caught?

When a fly ball is caught, the batter doesn't do anything but go back to the dugout.


Is it a strike if the catcher doesn't catch a strike?

The batter can run to first if the 3rd strike isn't caught. However, the batter still can be thrown out by the catcher at first base. Yes. A strike is called if the ball crosses home plate at the correct height, which is usually between the knees and the letters. A pitched ball does not have to be caught by the catcher to be called a strike.


Rule in a sentence?

what is the rule in this sentence I caught it; however, I then dropped it.


How did people die in 1900?

they caught the plague and dropped dead


What is the call on the batter on a fly ball?

If there are runners on 1st and 3rd or bases loaded with less than two outs and the fly ball is in the infield, the umpire calls "Infield fly, the batter is out." In this case, the batter is out whether the ball is caught or dropped and all runners may return to their bases with no risk. If a runner wants to advance a base, they may do so at their won risk.If a batter hits a fly ball to the infield without the condition stated above, then it is like a normal fly ball, if it is caught it's and out. If it is not caught it is a safe ball and the defensive player must try to make the play at the base. These same rules for a fly-ball hit into the outfield.


If A batter hits a line drive that hits a base on a fly and is caught is the batter out?

No the batter is not out- The bag is on the ground and that is considered a bounce off the ground.


What are ways a batter can be called out in softball?

They can strike out, hit the ball and it be caught, or hit the ball and either be tagged (with the ball) or a player gets to the base before them (with the ball).


How many foul balls are allowed before a batter is out?

There is no limit to the number of fouls in the MLB.The only rules about foul balls is if a batter attempts to bunt with two strikes and the ball is bunted foul, the batter is called out. But there is no limit to the number of foul balls a batter can hit when swinging at the pitch.This is true. However, the first 2 foul balls that are hit and not caught are considered strikes. After that, there is no limit to the amount of foul balls that can be hit, as long as they're not caught.


Is a ball caught in the stands an out?

no the batter gets a home run and its not a out


Is it out if the ball hits the pad then the bat then caught?

If the pitch hits the plate, it would be called a Ball, but if the batter hits it after the ball bounces off the plate, he's not Out automatically.


What is with the apples in twilight the movie?

because of when edward caught the apple that Bella dropped in the cafateria


How does Ponyboy and Johnny think the church caught on fire?

They thought they dropped a lighted cigarette.


Where to catch jirachi in Platinum?

the only way to get jirachi is to transfer one you have caught in either sapphire or ruby and transfer it into platinum


How do you catch rayqauza in Pokemon black?

You'll need to trade for it or transfer it into the Poke Transfer Lab. It cannot be caught in the wild.


If a runner is on first and forced to run to second do they need to tag-up on a fly?

A baserunner on 1st is not forced unless the batter hits a ground ball, a base hit on a fielding error (he is also forced to advance on a walk, hit batter, catcher interference, etc.). The runner is not forced on a fly ball unless it is dropped or falls in for a hit. If a fly ball is caught, the runner is not forced, but may choose to "tag up" and try to advance to 2nd after the catch. If a fly ball is dropped, the runner need not tag up before advancing to 2nd. THEY CAN RISK IT...BUT IF THE BALL IS CAUGHT HE HAS TO GET BACK TO FIRST BASE.....OR IT WILL BE A DOUBLE PLAY....BUT THEY DONT HAVE TO TAG UP Just to clarify. If a fly ball is caught, the runner on 1st may try to advance, but to do so, he must be on 1st base, or return and touch 1st base, before attempting to advance. The "tag up" must take place after the ball is caught by the fielder.


Why is caught out batter out is effective?

for offense you can get a runner from 3rd to home. For defense you get an out.