No. According to MLB Rule 2.00, the definition of an infield fly is: "An INFIELD FLY is a fair fly ball (not including a line drive nor an attempted bunt) which can be caught by an infielder with ordinary effort, when first and second, or first, second and third bases are occupied, before two are out. The pitcher, catcher and any outfielder who stations himself in the infield on the play shall be considered infielders for the purpose of this rule. When it seems apparent that a batted ball will be an Infield Fly, the umpire shall immediately declare "Infield Fly" for the benefit of the runners. If the ball is near the baselines, the umpire shall declare "Infield Fly, if Fair."The ball is alive and runners may advance at the risk of the ball being caught, or retouch and advance after the ball is touched, the same as on any fly ball. If the hit becomes a foul ball, it is treated the same as any foul. If a declared Infield Fly is allowed to fall untouched to the ground, and bounces foul before passing first or third base, it is a foul ball. If a declared Infield Fly falls untouched to the ground outside the baseline, and bounces fair before passing first or third base, it is an Infield Fly. Rule 2.00 (Infield Fly) Comment: On the infield fly rule the umpire is to rule whether the ball could ordinarily have been handled by an infielder-not by some arbitrary limitation such as the grass, or the base lines. The umpire must rule also that a ball is an infield fly, even if handled by an outfielder, if, in the umpire's judgment, the ball could have been as easily handled by an infielder. The infield fly is in no sense to be considered an appeal play. The umpire's judgment must govern, and the decision should be made immediately. When an infield fly rule is called, runners may advance at their own risk. If on an infield fly rule, the infielder intentionally drops a fair ball, the ball remains in play despite the provisions of Rule 6.05 (L). The infield fly rule takes precedence." An infield fly resulting from an attempted bunt does not qualify under the infield fly rule.
If there are less then 2 outs and runners on 1st and 2nd or the bases are loaded. If a ball is popped up on the infield in fair territory the umpire will call "Infield Fly", the batter is out, and the runners are not required to advance, but can do so if they determine at their own risk of being safe or out. The ball is still a live ball in play, and it does not matter if the ball is caught or not. The infield fly rule does not apply to bunted balls that are popped up
The infield fly rule is in effect when there are runners on first and second or bases are loaded with less than 2 outs.
no because the infield fly rule is if a ball is hit in the air for something like 5seconds then it is automttically an out
If the infielder is under the ball making it look like they are then yes there is an infield fly rule.
Yes, the batter is out once the umpire makes the call for the infield fly rule.
If, (while the infield fly rule is in effect), the ball is caught, the runners must tag up. If the ball is dropped or falls to the ground untouched, the runners may advance at their own risk.Clarification:The infield fly rule was enacted to prevent teams from getting an easy double or triple play by letting a popup in the infield drop. An infield fly is just like any other fly ball, with the exception that the batter is immediately out, with results in the runners not being required to advance in the even that the ball is not caught
'cause it's an out
Infield fly rule.
Runners on 1st and/or 2nd, less then 2 outs, ball popped up in the infield, batter is automatically out.
When the Infield Fly Rule is in effect [see Section 2.00 of the rulebook] the ball is alive, and runners may advance at the risk of the ball being caught, or retouch and advance after the ball is touched, the same as on any fly ball.
No, as long as it is a fair ball. Once the umpire signals the infield fly rule the batter is automatically out. However, if the ball is dropped and is ruled a foul ball, the umpire reverses his call and the batter continues his turn at bat. Nevertheless, the batter can not reach first from that batted ball. You will often find an umpire state "Infield fly, Batter is out if Fair". When the rule is in effect, the batter may not get on first base.
Yes, if you hit it high enough in the infield it is called the infield fly rule, the umpire calls you automatically out no matter what
The infield fly rule still applies, and is in effect when the following situations are met: 1. Fewer than two outs 2. A fly ball is hit that an infielder can reasonably catch (umpires discretion) 3. There are runners on 1st and 2nd, or bases are loaded. 4. When the above conditions are met, the umpire will verbally call "infield fly rule" as soon as it is determined the ball is an infield fly. The batter is automatically out, and the runners do not have to advance, even is the ball is dropped. Note: This rule was established to prevent fielders from purposely dropping a fly ball to attempt a double play.
By the umpires judgment as to whether it is a "routine" fly ball.
No. The infield fly rule is only for fly balls within the infield. The reason for this is so that a defender cannot intentionally drop a fly ball in order to create a double or triple play. If a fly ball is dropped in foul territory, no runners may advance.
The infield fly rule is when a better hits a pop-up into the infield and there is a runner on base. The Umpire will call infield fly and the batter is automatically out and the runner on base has to tag up. This prevents the fielder to purposefully drop the fly-ball to turn a double play.
Yes! Under rule 2.00 'Definition of Terms': "Runners may...retouch and advance after the ball is touched, the same as on any fly ball".
If baserunners are at 1st and 2nd base, or the bases are loaded with less than 2 out the umpire may call an "infield fly" if the ball is popped up in the infield area and can be caught with "ordinary" effort by an infielder. If the ball is caught the batter is out and the runners may tag up and advance at their own risk. If the ball is dropped the runners may try and advance to the next base at their own risk (they do not need to tag up/or even advance if they dont want) and the batter is still out. If the umpire fails to call it the rule still apllies. ** Infield fly does not apply to bunts or foul balls -- or line drives.
Baserunner(s) cannot advance or be put out if the ball is dropped.
No, as long as he is on the base he is safe
The infield fly rule is only in effect with runners on first and second or first, second, and third. The rule is put into effect when there is a pop up in the infield that is catchable. When the umpire yells, "Infield fly, batter's out" He means that the batter is out and the runner's don't have to go even if the fielder drops the ball. This is to protect the runners so they don't have to decide whether to stay on first base in case the fielder catches or to go in case he drops. If the fielder drops the ball the team in the field would have plenty of time to get the lead runner(s).
Any fielder is allowed to catch any fly ball he can. If you are referring to the infield fly rule: under this rule, the hitter is called out and play continues as if the fly were caught even if no one catches it. It does not matter who catches it, but if the ball drops, the runner can tag up and run at his risk. The rule is only called when the ball seems certain to be catchable. The purpose of the rule is to prevent an infielder from intentionally dropping pop-up in order to get a double play.
Infield fly rule
Just hitting the ball itself is called "contact." Any other terms depend on what happens after contact is made. A few terms are: base hit, infield fly, fly out, infield hit, bounce out, ground rule double, sacrifice fly.
Any umpire may indicate the infield fly rule is in effect by yelling "Infield Fly" and extending his right hand above his head and pointing. However, the infield fly rule is in effect whether or not any umpire does this.