In Major League Baseball, there is no rule prohibiting a batter from stepping on home plate after he hits the ball. Often, a right handed batter will step on home plate on his way to 1st base after hitting the ball, especially when he bunts.
No
No, if a batter steps out of the batters box and makes contact with the ball, he is out.
Yes they can.
Not sure about all six, but the batter can be out if (s)he bunts foul on strike two (this is actually a strikeout), steps on the plate while bunting the ball, steps on the plate while hitting the ball, hits the ball when it is determined that the batter is out of the batter's box, touches the ball in fair territory with the body while out of the batters box, is hit by a throw to first from behind if not running in the outlined base running area between home and first, is hit by a pitch that is in the strike zone if (s)he intentionally positions a part of the body in a way that results in the ball hitting him/her.
If the batter's entire foot is outside of the batter's box when he makes contact with the pitch, the ball is dead and the batter is Out, whether the ball is hit Fair or Foul.
There is no rule in MLB prohibiting the batter from stepping on home plate. However, the batter may be out for bunting foul with two strikes.
If a batter hits a ball fair or foul while either foot is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batter's box or while touching the plate. The ball becomes dead immediately. The batter is out.
A pitched ball can hit the ground before crossing home-plate. In most cases the batter would not swing and the pitch would be called a ball. But, if the batter decides the swing, the ball is still in play after hitting the ground and the batter may not hit the ball and receive a strike, or he may foul the ball, or hit a base-hit.
I believe, since home plate is in fair territory, the ball would be fair and the batter would be called out for making contact with a live, fair ball. The equivelent to runner interference with the ball on the base paths. ---------- The question is unclear. If a pitched ball hits home plate, it can then be hit by the batter (former Astros player, Enos Cabell, comes to mind). However, if the batter hits the pitch, and the ball then hits the plate and bounces up into the air, and the batter then hits it a second time, he's out. The rule says if the bat hits a batted ball a second time, the batter is out, which is different the the ball hitting the bat a second time.
No - the entire plate is in fair territory, so a batted ball that hits the plate is in play; however, if it goes foul after hitting the plate, it is a (foul) dead ball.
it depends on whether the batter is still in the batter's box when the ball hits him. If he is in the batter's box then the ball is foul. If he is out of the batter's box and the ball hits him in fair territory then the batter is out.