answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes. The only time it is not an official "At Bat", is if a batter reaches base on a base on balls, hit by pitch or catcher interference. A batter is also not charged with an "At Bat" if he hits a sacrifice fly (a fly ball out that results in a runner tagging up and scoring), or a sacrifice bunt that advances a runner or runners. He is also not charged with an "At Bat" if the batter reaches base as a result of an error on a sacrifice fly or sacrifice bunt.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2007-05-01 14:36:58
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a batter reaches base on an error is it an official at bat?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If a batter reaches 1st base as the result of an error but gets thrown out trying to reach 2nd on the same play is the error negated?

The error stands as the batter reached a base safely.


Can an error be charged if nobody reaches or is on base?

Yes. If a fielder drops a foul ball, that is counted as an error, even though the batter does not advance to first. MLB Rule 10.12 (a) (2) is pretty clear: The official scorer shall charge an error against any fielder: .. (2) when such fielder muffs a foul fly to prolong the time at bat of a batter, whether the batter subsequently reaches first base or is put out;


If a batter reaches 1st base on an error and a runner scores because of her hit does she earn an rbi even though she received a base because of an error?

Yes, she would get an RBI, but the run would be unearned to the pitcher, since the batter who scored didn't "earn" her way on base. Generally the batter is not awarded an RBI if a runner scores when the BATTER reaches on an error, if if he hits into a double play.


Does a fielder's error go down as a hit officially?

No. If a player reaches base due to a fielder's error, the batter does not receive credit for a hit, but does get credit for an at-bat. Therefore, the batter's average will descend, but the batter's on-base percentage will increase.


If a batter lays down a bunt with a runner on 1st pitcher fields the ball and overthrows 1st base and the batter gets to 2d on the overthrow is this a 2 base error or a sac and a 1 base error?

That decisionis left up to the person who is the 'official scorer' for the game. If the batter turns and shows bunt before the pitcher throws he usually is credited with a sacrifice whether an error is committed or not. But if the official scorer thinks that the batter was trying for a base hit and not for a sacrifice he may score it solely as an error.


In MLB rules if a player get on base by an error is it called a hit?

No, when a player reaches base on an error the batter is not credited with a hit. He is credited with an at bat, so as far his statistics are concerned, it is as though he made an out.


If a pitcher records two out then the following batter reachs on an error then the batting team scores a run is that considered a earned run?

A batter that reaches base due to an error and later scores is not counted as an earned run.


If a running reaches base on an error and then steals a base does he get credit for the stolen base?

Yes


With two outs batter reaches base on an error next batter clean hit next batter hits home run how many runs are earned and why?

None of the runs are earned. The batter who would have been the third out of the inning reached on an error, so any runs that score in that inning after the error was made are unearned.


If the catcher drops the third strike and the batter is safe at first base is that an error on the catcher?

Yes the official scoring notation is K-E2 (strikeout - error on the catcher)


If a batter after hitting a ball to the outfield attempts to reach 2nd base but is tagged out at 2nd how is this scored?

If the official scorer ruled the batted ball a base hit, it would be scored as a single. If the official scorer ruled the batted ball an error, it would be ruled a one base error.


If a batter reaches base via a bunt is it counted as a hit?

It is.


What is it called if a batter hits and reaches second base?

a double


What is a base hit?

A base hit is a hit in the sport of baseball in which the batter safely reaches base.


What is counted as a hit in baseball?

If the batter puts the ball in play, and reaches base without an error being made by the defense, nor is it ruled a fielder's choice, the batter gets credit for a hit.


Does the batter get an RBI if there's an error?

He could. If in the official scorers judgement, the base runner would score if the error had not occurred, then the batter can be credited with an RBI. If the error occurs, and would have been the 3rd out of the inning, then no RBI would be recorded. If the error occurs that would have put out the base runner attempting to score, then no RBI would be credited.


Does a batter get a RBI if he gets on base by a error of a fielder?

No.


When a batter hits a ball and is able to reach third base but continues to run home and then is thrown out is this considered a hit?

It could and would depend on how the official scorer saw the play. The play could be scored a triple, double and error, single and two base error, or three base error.


What counts as a hit in baseball?

A legally batted fair ball in which the batter safely reaches 1st, 2nd, 3rd, or Home Base without an error being commited by the defense or an out being awarded as the result of a "Fielder's Choice". A batter may be awarded a "hit" by the official score keeper and then advance to other bases on an errors commited by the defense. Example: Batter hits ball to leftfield and the leftfielder lets the ball go between his legs and the batter/runner advances to 2nd base. The ruling by the officail scorer is a "single" hit then the batter advances on the error.


What is a batter credited with when the batter reaches 1st base on a dropped third strike?

The batter would be charged with a strikeout and an at-bat.


Is it still a perfect game if you walk a batter in baseball?

No. It can still be a no hitter. But a perfect game requires the pitcher to retire every batter he or she faces. A perfect game is broken whenever any batter reaches base, including by hit, walk, or error.


Every time a batter reaches first base the next batter hits a double Every time a batter hits a double the runner on first scores Jon reaches first base What can you deduce about Jon?

That Jon will score when the next batter hits a double.


When a player gets on base due to a fielders error is the batter charged for time at bat?

Yes, the batter would have been out if it were not for the error.


Are there any circumstances by which a batter that reaches base due to an error can get an RBI?

yes, for example with a runner on 3rd with less than 2 out, if he hits a ball deep enough to be a sacrifice fly but the outfielder drops it, the batter will get an RBI because he would have got one without the error


If pitcher walks batter and batter scores is it an earned run?

Yes it is The only time a run scored is not counted as an earned run is if the base runner reached base on an error. Hit, walk or hit by pitch count as earned runs even if errors are committed after the runner reaches base.