answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

When the ball hits the baserunner it is a dead ball at the runner the ball hit is out. The batter is credited with a single. Since the batter is given a single, any baserunner required to advance will advance, however, no runners ahead of the runner who was out will advance:

i.e bases loaded, the runner at 2nd is hit by the ball, the runner at 2nd is out, the runner at 1st goes to 2nd and the batter goes to first. the runner at 3rd does not get to advance, he will stay at 3rd, so the bases will remain loaded

runners at 2nd and 3rd, -- the ball hits the guy at 3rd base (while he is in fair territory), runner at 3rd is out, runner at 2nd returns to 2nd, and batter goes to first, you now have runners on 1st and 2nd

hope this helps

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-05-04 15:47:26
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a batter hits the ball and the ball hits a runner leaving 2nd base the runner is out Is the batter out Do the other 2 baserunners get to advance to the next base?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can a runner advance if a batter bunts foul on his 3rd strike?

No a runner cannot advance


In baseball when a basemen has to tag the runner?

A runner must be tagged to be Out if he is not forced to advance as a result of the batter putting the ball into play.


With runners on 2nd and 3rd if the batter gets hit by a pitch can the runner on 3rd advance home?

No. When a batter is hit by a pitch, the ball is dead and no runners may advance. However, if the bases were loaded, then all runners are forced to advance and the runner from third would score.


In Cal Ripken League baseball a runner is on second base with first base unoccupied the batter is walked can the runner on second advance to third base?

I'll be honest that I'm unaware of the rules specific to the league, but generally speaking, a batter-runner advances on a walk only when he is forced to do so by a trailing batter-runner. If a runner chooses to advance when not forced to do so, he is allowed, but is liable for being tagged out as if he were stealing a base.


Is the batter charge with an official at bat if the runner is rule out on a appeal for leaving to early?

No, it would not be an at-bat.


Can a runner advance when the batter is hit by a bunted ball out of the batters box?

no because it will be considered a dead ball


When a batter is hit by a pitch and the ball goes past the catcher can a runner on second advance to home?

When a batter is hit by a pitch, the ball is dead.


Can a runner advance when the batter gets a hit but is called out because he stepped out of the batter's box?

If a batter hits the pitch, either fair or foul, with all of one or both feet completely out of the batter's box, he's out. The ball is dead, and no runners can advance.


In slow pitch softball if the batter-runner is hit by his own batted ball while running to first base he is out can the runners on base advance or must they remain at their base?

batter is out, runners do not advance


There is 1 out with a man on third 2 strikes on the batter The batter attempts a bunt that goes foul behind first base no one catches it the batter is out Can the runner from 3rd base advance?

NO. A runner cannot advance on a foul ball that is not "played" (i.e. if a foul fly ball is CAUGHT, the runner may tag up). A foul bunt on a 2 strike count is a dead ball out.


Runner on second is hit by the batted ball while running to third. How is this recorded?

dead ball, the runner is out and the putout goes to the closest fielder...the batter gets credit for a hit and if there are other runners that are forced to advance by the batter getting first (in this case, a runner on first), he gets to advance also...if there are 2 outs, the batter still gets credit for a hit but the inning is over


When Pitch hits you after you swing and miss?

Batter is charged with a strike, ball is dead (like a time out). No runner can advance.


There is one out a runner is on third and the batter grounds out to shortstop and the runner scores this is recorded as a rbi but is this a sacrifice as well?

No. The only way it is a sacrifice is if the ball is hit in the air and the runner has to tag-up to advance home. The batter is only given an rbi because he did not sacrifice his at bat to score the runner from 3rd.


Can the runner advance on a bounced pitch that hits the batter?

As long as the pitcher is the last person to touch the ball before the batter is hit, the ball becomes dead and is counted as a hit by pitch. The runners can only advance if they are forced over by the hit batter.


Does the batter get a sacrifice if the runner on first tags and goes to second?

Yes as long as the runner advances Assuming you mean the runner tags up on a fly ball and advances to second, it is not scored as a sacrifice, but, simply as a fly out and the batter is charged with a time at bat. If the batter bunt a ground ball, the runner would not be required to "tag up" to advance and the batter would be credited with a sacrifice. If the batter is attempting a sacrifice bunt and pops up and the runner, tags up and somehow advances to second the batter is not credited with a sacrifice.


When can or can not a batter advance to first on a dropped third strike?

MLB rules state that if there is a runner on first base and less than two outs, the batter is out and the runners may advance at their own risk. If there is not a runner on first base and less than two outs, the batter may attempt to advance to first base and all other runners may advance at their own risk. The uncaught third strike rule always applies when there are two outs.


What does ''advance the runner'' mean?

In baseball "advance the runner" is a term used to say get a runner on base to move forward to another base.


Can a runner on 3rd score when a batter hits ball in fair play in front of plate and is out when ball hits her?

If the batter/runner is contacted by a fair ball when they are out of the box they are out and the ball is dead thus no runners can advance. Given this the answer to you question is no they can not score.


A batter is touched by a fair ball and is declared out with a runner on first can the runner on first advance to second or must he stay at first?

If a runner is touched by a fair batted ball, in fair territory, before passing a fielder, it's interference, the ball is dead, the runner is Out, and all other runners must return to the base occupied at the time of the pitch, unless forced to advance due to the batter being awarded 1B on the play.


Can a runner advance from first or second on a caught foul ball?

Yes, a runner can advance if he tags up.


Can a player throw his glove at a baseball?

No. MLB Rule 7.05c states: "Each runner including the batter-runner may, without liability to be put out, advance three bases if a fielder deliberately throws his glove at and touches a fair ball. The ball is in play and the batter may advance to home base at his peril."


If there is a runner on second why do you throw to first and get the batter out and let the second base runner advance to third?

The out to third is more risky, and you might end up with two men on vs an easy out.


If an outfielder juggles a fly ball when do the baserunners have to tag up?

when the ball is touched, it's officially in play and the tagged runner can run.


When do have to tag the runner?

Whenever there is no force play or you decide to tag him between bases. A force play is when the runner has to advance due to a runner behind him or batter. In this case he has to advance bases because if he stays there will be two people imon this base and the other person can't go back because if the same reason


What happens to the batter when there is runner interferecnce?

Nothing happens to the batter. The runner who interfered is called out.