answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

In MLB, yes. According to MLB rules, a foul tip is a ball that is tipped by the batter that goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. It is considered a swinging strike and not a foul ball.

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2008-04-21 14:47:48
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a batter foul tips a pitch that is caught by the catcher can a base runner steal?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

When a batter is hit by a pitch and the ball goes past the catcher can a runner on second advance to home?

When a batter is hit by a pitch, the ball is dead.


What happens when strike three goes by and you swung and missed and the catcher drops it?

This play is referred to as "redeye". If a batter misses (or does not swing) at the 3rd strike, and the catcher drops it, the runner must run to first before the catcher throws the dropped pitch to first. If the runner is beaten by the throw, it is simply a strikeout in the books. If the runner beats out the throw, it still goes as a strikeout, but his advance to first will be listed as an error by either the pitcher or the catcher (depending on how bad the pitch was, and the reason it was not caught). In Little League (60 foot basepaths) batter is out on strike three no matter what the catcher does.


Was there ever a time when a batter who was up when a runner was caught stealing for the third out that he started the next inning with his old pitch count?

No.


What is a sucide squeeze?

A suicide squeeze is when the runner on third breaks for home on the pitch, committing himself before the batter hits the ball. It is called "suicide" because if the batter misses the bunt and the catcher catches it cleanly, the runner will likely be out.


How much latitude does a batter have in leaning over the plate in front of the catcher after a pitch to prevent the throw to 2nd?

Zero. The runner will be called out on batter's interference if the throw is obstructed in any way.


Can batter run if catcher misses a pitch?

Yes


Is it catcher interference if the batter is in the box doing practice swings and makes contact with the catcher's glove?

if there was no pitch then no. if there was a pitch then yes.


If there’s two outs runner at third and the batter swings at strike three but the catcher misses the ball and goes to the back stop the runner at third comes to home but the catcher gets the out at first is the runner at third save or out?

When does it matter? A dropped third strike only matters when first base is unoccupied OR there are two outs. If there is a runner on first base and less than two outs, then a dropped third strike doesn't matter and the batter is out. What can the batter Do? Once a batter either looks at strike three or swings and misses at strike three and the ball is either not caught or dropped by the catcher, the batter becomes a runner and can attempt to make it to first base before either being tagged by the catcher or thrown out at first base. What if the pitch bounces? 99.99% of the time it is not a legal catch and the catcher (even if he fields the bounced pitch cleanly) must tag out the runner or throw him out at first base. Rule 6.05 specifies that a batter is out when a third strike is legally caught by the catcher and goes on to state that this must occur before the ball hits the ground. 0.01% of the time (and no these are not official calculations) the bounced pitch that is fielded by the catcher would be considered a legal catch. This can happen if the hitter swings and fouls off the pitch into the catcher's glove after the pitch has bounced. It is considered a legal catch at that point and the batter is out. What if the runner at first is stealing? If there are less than two outs, it doesn't matter. Even on an attempted steal, first base is considered occupied and the batter is out. What happens when there are two outs? When there are two outs the same rule applies with the addition that first base can be occupied. In this situation a force play can be created on other bases in addition to either tagging out the batter or throwing him out at first. Example: Bases loaded, two outs. Catcher drops the third strike. A force play has now been created at all bases as all runners must try to advance. Catcher can simply step on home plate for the force at home and third out. He doesn't have to make the out on the batter. What if a runner crosses the plate before the batter is thrown out at first or tagged? The run does not count. Example: Runner on third, two outs. Catcher drops the third strike, while he is picking it up and throwing to first, the runner from third crosses home plate. As long as the catcher throws out the runner at first, the run doesn't count. The force play at first is the same as if a ground ball was hit to another infielder. The run doesn't count.


If a Batter is hit by pitch with runner on second base as runner steals third is this legal?

Nope, when the batter is hit it is a dead ball.


What is a wild pitch in fast pitch softball?

Any pitch from the pitcher that can not be caught by the catcher with reasonable effort.


How does a Runner advances a base without the batter striking the ball walking or getting hit by the ball?

A runner, or runners, may advance in several ways; stealing, wild pitch, passed ball, wild throw in pick off attempt, catcher interference with batter, balk, fielder interference with base runner, error by fielder on attempted steal, error on catcher on throw on attempted steal.


Is it against the rules if a batter looks back to see what sign the catcher is using?

No it is not against the rules, however if you get caught you may be finding the next pitch is at your head.

People also asked