answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Probably no. If you shoot it OVER the rim and it hits nothing, it will go out of bounds and be awarded to the other team.

If the shot is from the corner, a team mate could get a rebound and pass it back.

So, possibly, but not likely.

AnswerNo, that would be considered travelling.

Well think about this if you shoot the ball over the backboard it will likely go out of court and tha ball will be awarded to the other team. but also even if you did shoot the ball over the backboard it is called a voilation of the rules so the other team will get the ball so most likely the other team will get the Basketball even if the same team catches the ball

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

NO it doesn't as you are not touching the ball and moving with it in your hands

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

No if it was airball and nobody touched it it would be traveling. Once it has it the backboard its anybody's ball.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

No it is not traveling but if he touches the ball before another player does then that it is traveling.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a basketball player throws the ball off the backboard the ball does not hit the rim and he catches the ball is that travelling?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What is rebounding in basketball?

If the ball bounces off the backboard or rim and you catch it before it hits the ground it counts as a rebound.


What does calling backboard mean?

Calling 'backboard' is a playground term in basketball. It is used in some games when a player is declaring that he is going to bank a shot into the goal using the backboard.


Where do you get parts for 2-player arcade basketball 60012?

Looking for the backboard, 190-60012-124, myself.


What does a backboard in netball mean?

There is no backboard in netball, however there is one in basketball


If a basketball player shoots a 3 pointer only hits the backboard ball hits ground same player retrieves ball is that considered traveling?

no


How is called when a basketball player has the ball and moves without the ball?

A player cannot both have and not have the ball.


Who was the first basketball player to break a backboard?

Before Chuck Connors made his mark as "The Rifleman" on television, he already played a starring role on the basketball court. Before the first home game of the Boston Celtics, Connors makes history: He is the first player to shatter a backboard in the NBA (though it was called the Basketball Association of American until 1949).


Lay up shot is a term associated with which of the games?

In the NBA, a layup is when the player takes FOUR steps towards the basket and leaves off one foot (usually opposite of shooting hand) and attempts to score a basket (backboard or no backboard). The term is the same in NCAA, and HS basketball just 2 steps instead of the NBA 4 stepper.


What happens when a player takes more than 2 steps in basketball?

it is a travel and the other team gets the ball


What is an ally-oop in basketball?

Ally opp is when someone make a pass and the player is in mid air then quicly


When a defense player catches a pass?

When a defensive player catches a pass


Is passing off the backboard in basketball illegal?

It is not illegal to throw it off the backboard, provided that the ball hits the rim at some point. Any time a player does not hit the rim during a free throw attempt (whether it is inadvertent or not) he forfeits his free throw attempt, even if he has one or more free throws forthcoming.