answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No, As soon as it hits anything other then a player, its a hit. For example, If it hits the bag or the wall or your glove then the wall, its a hit.

If it hits someones foot first and then its caught, its a catch

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

No, once the ball touches the wall, ground, or runner (after 1st being touched by a defender) the ball cannot be caught for an out

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

Absolutely, yes.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a baseball touches a fielders glove then bounces off the wall can it be caught for an out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What uses does a baseball have?

A baseball can be used for playing the game of baseball. It is hit by batters, thrown by pitchers and fielders, and caught by catchers and fielders.


If the ball hits the glove when it should have been caught is it a home run?

If the baseball hits the fielders glove, then goes over the wall on a fly in fair territory, it is a home run.


In baseball if a batted ball hits a base in the air and is caught before it touches the ground is it an out?

No, the bases are treated like part of the ground.


What is the scoring if you cannot assume an IF could get the batter but the runner makes a delayed attempt to advance on a bobbled ball and gets thrown out or caught in a rundown?

fielders choice


Does runner have to tag after the catch or upon first contact of the ball?

U have to wait until the ball is caught to "tag up". That is incorrect. Runners trying to advance on a fly ball may "tag up" and advance when the fielder first touches the ball. If that were no so, fielders could intentionally juggle the ball and attempt to pick the runner off who ran too early.


They are the players who are responsible for catching long fly balls?

Long fly balls? The outfielders are usually the players responsible for catching long fly balls, but I suppose if the infielder is very fast, he can run into the outfield and catch it. The manager would be pretty angry and impressed at the same time.


In baseball is it legal to hit a pitch that bounces first?

Yes, you can hit a bounced pitch the same way you can hit any other pitch considered a ball. It's the same as hitting a high pitch and has been done numerous times in the MLB.Also, the official answer can be found in the Baseball Rule Book under Section II: Definition of Terms:"A BALL is a pitch which does not enter the strike zone in flight and is not struck at by the batter. If the pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a "ball." If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. If the batter swings at such a pitch after two strikes, the ball cannot be caught. If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight."


On a third strike is aball which is caught as it bounces out?

In the MLB, the only time a dead ball can occur on a third strike, is on the 3rd out of that half of the inning. Any other called third strike keeps the ball in play until the pitcher steps on the rubber with the ball or calls time.


What is a good sentence with the word caught in it?

Johnny not only caught the baseball his friend tossed to him, he also caught the flu.


If a baseball bounces off an outfield wall and is then caught would it be considered an out?

NoNo it is not. It is the same as if it had hit the ground. It's no longer "in flight" once it hits an object other than a fielder. It's only an out if the ball is caught "in flight." Bobbling it, or tipping it to another fielder is OK--it can still be caught for an out.


If a baseball is thrown with a glove does it have to be caught barehanded?

No


In baseball while in the field if the ball is caught in one hand and the other hand reaches out to touch the bag is it a force out or does the ball hand have to touch the bag?

As long as the player has control of the ball in either hand or glove and any part of the body touches the bag it is an out (only for a force out).