answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Nope, when the batter is hit it is a dead ball.

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a Batter is hit by pitch with runner on second base as runner steals third is this legal?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Does batter have to swing to be legal runner on a dropped third strike?

no it just has to be a strike


Minor ball tourney -- batter is awarded base on balls --- runner advances to 1st base and advances to second without stopping at first - is this legal-what if he stops at first and then goes to 2?

yes he can do it


If there is a runner on 3rd with less than 2 outs and is the tieing or winning run the batter hits a foul ball in the outfield is it legal to let the ball drop?

yes it is legal


Legal definition of thief?

Someone who steals something owned by someone else


What is an illegal batter?

An illegal batter is a batter who bats out of his legal turn.


If there is a runner on third with less than two outs and can be the tieing or winning run the batter hits a foul ball in the outfield is it legal to let the ball drop?

Yes it is. It is actually a very, very smart defensive play. By catching the ball, yes you gain the out, but the runner will most likely score. By letting the ball go, the player gave their pitcher another chance to strike the batter out or have the batter hit a ball in an easier to handle area.


What is the legal term when someone steals another's idea for a television show?

It is called plagerism.


What is a legal runner?

They generally "run" documents to court or do filings elsewhere.


What are the release dates for Just Legal - 2005 The Runner 1-2?

Just Legal - 2005 The Runner 1-2 was released on: USA: 26 September 2005 Belgium: 7 March 2009


If there’s two outs runner at third and the batter swings at strike three but the catcher misses the ball and goes to the back stop the runner at third comes to home but the catcher gets the out at first is the runner at third save or out?

When does it matter? A dropped third strike only matters when first base is unoccupied OR there are two outs. If there is a runner on first base and less than two outs, then a dropped third strike doesn't matter and the batter is out. What can the batter Do? Once a batter either looks at strike three or swings and misses at strike three and the ball is either not caught or dropped by the catcher, the batter becomes a runner and can attempt to make it to first base before either being tagged by the catcher or thrown out at first base. What if the pitch bounces? 99.99% of the time it is not a legal catch and the catcher (even if he fields the bounced pitch cleanly) must tag out the runner or throw him out at first base. Rule 6.05 specifies that a batter is out when a third strike is legally caught by the catcher and goes on to state that this must occur before the ball hits the ground. 0.01% of the time (and no these are not official calculations) the bounced pitch that is fielded by the catcher would be considered a legal catch. This can happen if the hitter swings and fouls off the pitch into the catcher's glove after the pitch has bounced. It is considered a legal catch at that point and the batter is out. What if the runner at first is stealing? If there are less than two outs, it doesn't matter. Even on an attempted steal, first base is considered occupied and the batter is out. What happens when there are two outs? When there are two outs the same rule applies with the addition that first base can be occupied. In this situation a force play can be created on other bases in addition to either tagging out the batter or throwing him out at first. Example: Bases loaded, two outs. Catcher drops the third strike. A force play has now been created at all bases as all runners must try to advance. Catcher can simply step on home plate for the force at home and third out. He doesn't have to make the out on the batter. What if a runner crosses the plate before the batter is thrown out at first or tagged? The run does not count. Example: Runner on third, two outs. Catcher drops the third strike, while he is picking it up and throwing to first, the runner from third crosses home plate. As long as the catcher throws out the runner at first, the run doesn't count. The force play at first is the same as if a ground ball was hit to another infielder. The run doesn't count.


Is it legal in MLB for a runner to jump over the catcher to score at home plate?

Yes.


If a Mexican man has had a legal residency but lost it and is going to be deported is there any way for him to gain the legal residency or become a legal citizen?

no. so just hope he is a fast runner.