It is a 5 yard penalty.
The penalty for an Ineligible Receiver Downfield is 5 yards.
The offense and the defense can each have 11 players on the field. If they have 12 ormore players on the field when the ball is snapped they are penalized.
No...he becomes ineligible whereas a Defensive player can go out of bounds and come back in.
A wide out is another name for a wide receiver. A wide receiver lines up on offense and can either be out close to the side lines or in between another receiver and the offensive line, this is known as the "slot". A receiver runs and tries to get into an open area of the field so the Quarterback and throw him the football.
The starting receiver is on the outside of the field, is the number 1 receiver on the depth chart.
Ineligible means that for some particular reason you are not permitted to participate in something (activities.) In football, certain players on the field are "ineligible" to receive a pass. If a player who is ineligible catches a pass, a penalty is called. It means that if you were entering anything or something you would not be able to do something (if you were entering a tournament under 12's and you were 15 you would be ineligible to do it.)
the team on the field is playing defense
Definitely not! Otherwise, there won't be an ineligible receiver down the field penalty. I'm not sure but in order to make ineligible receiver eligible, you need to report it to the referee before the play. No offensive lineman is eligible to catch a pass. The QB can throw to anyone who isn't a center, tackle, or guard. If a player who ordinarily plays one of those positions lines up to catch a pass, he has to be reported to the referee. For example, in the 2003-4 Super Bowl, the Patriots were at the Panther's goal line, and before the play offensive lineman Mike Vrabel reported eligible, then lined up as a tight end and caught a touchdown pass on the play. If he had not reported, not only would the touchdown not have counted, but the Patriots would have been penalized for having an ineligible receiver downfield. yes, but the ref must be informed of the play beforehand No player wearing a uniform number 50-79 may be an eligible receiver without first informing the referee. Reporting to the ref must be this player's first order of business ... he must report before the huddle is started. If he doesn't immediately report the penalty is five yards for illegal substitution. The above answers are right. I'd also add that only one ineligible player can declare himself eligible per play.
baseball does not have offense and defense but the people that are playing field or bat