answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

A batter can be credited with an RBI for every run that scores because of his hit, sacrifice bunt, sacrifice fly, infield out, fielder's choice, walk, and when he is awarded first base because of a hit by pitch, interference, or obstruction.

If there are fewer than two outs, a batter can also be credited with an RBI after having reached on an error, so long as the run scored on the play was not a result of the error.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-03-17 08:18:17
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How many ways can a batter be credited with an RBI?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Does a walk count as a RBI?

Yes, if a batter is walked with the bases loaded the batter is credited with an RBI.


Does a batter get credited with an RBI on a wild pitch?

yesAnswer


Does a batter get credited with an RBI on a wild pitch in softball?

yes


Does a batter get credited with an RBI if he hits into an error and a run scores?

no


How do you score a ground out with an rbi?

The batter would be credited with an RBI, and 0-1 for that plate appearnace


Does the batter get credit for an RBI on a passed ball?

No ... no RBI is credited for either a passed ball or a wild pitch.


Does a batter still get credited with a RBI if he drives in a run but hits into a double play?

The batter is not credited with an RBI if the double play is your garden variety 6-4-3 or 5-4-3 double play. The run is credited as "run scoring on a fielder's choice" and there is NO RBI on the play.


Does a batter get credited with an RBI if he hits into a fielder's choice and a run scores?

yes


If the bases are loaded and the pitcher walks the batter does the run that scores count as an RBI?

yes Yes, the player is credited with a RBI.


Does a batter who hits into a fielders choice and has an rbi get credited with an at bat or is it scored like a sacrifice?

Yes, the batter is credited with an at-bat and scored as a fielders choice.


Does the batter get credited with an RBI when a runner on third scores on a wild pitch or passed ball?

no


If a ground ball to the infield scores a runner when they throw to first to get the batter is it a sac for the batter?

No, it is scored as a ground out and the batter is credited with an RBI.


Does the batter get an RBI if there's an error?

He could. If in the official scorers judgement, the base runner would score if the error had not occurred, then the batter can be credited with an RBI. If the error occurs, and would have been the 3rd out of the inning, then no RBI would be recorded. If the error occurs that would have put out the base runner attempting to score, then no RBI would be credited.


Does a bases loaded walk or being hit by a pitch earn an RBI?

In both cases (base on balls, hit by pitch) the batter is credited with an RBI.


Do you get an rbi if you steal home?

No. You are credited with a stolen base and a run scored, but neither you nor the batter is credited with an RBI. It's the same way with scoring from third on a wild pitch, a balk, a passed ball, an error, or a double-play: no RBI is awarded.


When a hitter gets a single yet advances all the way home on overthrows and there is a runner on base that also scores does the hitter receive any RBI's?

The batter could be credited with an RBI if, in the scorers judgment the base runner would have scored had there not been any overthrows (errors). For example, the batten singles and the runner is on third and scores, then the overthrows occur. The batter is credited with one RBI. In your original question, the batter would, in no case, be credited with an RBI on his own score.


Is a baseball player credited with a RBI if he is walked with bases loaded?

Yes, the player is credited with a RBI.


Does the batter get an RBI if he bats into a fielders choice and a runner scores?

Yes. There are only a few times that a batter helps a teammate score but does not get an RBI. Example 1: Bases loaded, 0 outs, batter grounds into double play 2nd baseman to first baseman, runner at third scores. The batter is not credited with an RBI. Example 2: Runner on 3rd, 2 outs, batter hits a routine groundball to shortstop, but the shortstop makes an erro. The batter is not credited with an RBI because if the ball was played cleanly the run would not have scored.


How many rbi does a batter get for hitting 1 grandslam?

4


With bases loaded no outs hitter hits a shallow base hit to center field ball gets by fielder how many Run batted in is he credited with?

It would be up to the judgment of the official scorer. The batter would certainly get at least one RBI, but if the official scorer decides that the runner on second was already going to try to score before noticing the error, the batter may be credited with a second RBI.


Does a batter get an RBI on a walk in baseball?

I dont think it is a RBI Yes, the batter does get an RBI on a walk with the bases loaded. http://www.baseball1.com/faqs/scoring_and_awards.html


Does a batter get a RBI on a wild pitch?

Good question. The only thing that would be close to a WILD PITCH RBI would be if the batter swung at the pitch for a third strike, which of course the catcher couldn't catch. There would have to be a runner on third, and the batter would have to be safe at first on the dropped third strike rule. I do not believe that this would truly be an RBI though, because technically, a dropped third strike is like a walk, the batter is not credited with a hit.


When a run scores on a balk does the batter get credit for the RBI?

No. No RBI is granted in this situation.


Can you earn an RBI on a pass ball?

No, it is not an RBI. a passed ball is basically an error on the catcher and you don't credit RBI's when error's occur. This answer is basicly true in regards to the passed ball, however , a batter can be credited with an RBI on an error, if, in the official scorers judgment the runner or runners would have scored anyway had the error not occured. For example: Runner on third, less than two outs, batter hits ground ball to an infielder who was playing back..infielder commits an error fielding the ball, or throws it wild to first..in the scorers opinion had the infielder fielded the ball cleanly, or not thrown wild to first, the run would have scored anyway. The batter is credited with an RBI.


If there is a runner on third base and the pitcher throws a wild pitch does the batter receive an RBI is it scored as a WP with an RBI or just a WP?

it is scored a wp the batter doesn't get RBI