Best Answer

Four times.

1981 - Indiana

1989 - Michigan

2003 - Syracuse

2006 - Florida

1979 was the first year the NCAA Tournament began seeding teams.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How many times has a three seed won in ncaa?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

How many times has a number 13 seed won in ncaa tournament?

This has occured 23 times

How many times Norfolk State been to NCAA tournament?

Once. They went to the NCAA tournament for the first time in 2012 as a #15 seed.

How many times has a number 1 seed failed to advance to the championship of the NCAA men's basketball tournament?


How many times have the North Carolina tar heels been a number one seed in the NCAA tournament?


Did a number 12 seed ever beat a number 5 seed in the ncaa tournament?

Yes.In fact,in the 2013 NCAA men's basketball tournament, the #12 seed beat the #5 seed in three of the four regionals:California over UNLV 64-61 in the East; Oregon over Oklahoma State 68-55 in the Midwest; and Mississippi over Wisconsin 57-46 in the West.

Has a number 14 seed ever beaten a number 2 seed in NCAA tournament history?

Yes it has happened 2 times in 1986 and 1997

What is the highest seed to when ncaa basketball title?

1 seed

What seed was unc in the 2009 ncaa basketball tournament?

UNC was a number 1 seed in the 2009 NCAA basketball tournament.

How many NCAA tournaments Championships have been played with seed 1 teams?


What seed was Arizona in 1997 NCAA basketball championship?

A 4 seed.

What seed was Wake Forest in the 2009 NCAA Basketball Tournament?

Wake Forest was a number 4 seed in the 2009 NCAA Basketball Tournament.

When was the last time no No 1 seeds made the final four?

There have been three times in NCAA Men's Basketball history that no #1 seed has been in the Final Four. The only three years were 1980, 2006, and 2011 with the following teams included in their separate final fours: 1980: Louisville (#2 seed), Iowa (#5 seed), Purdue (#6 seed), and UCLA (#8 seed) 2006: UCLA (#2 seed), Florida (#3 seed), LSU (#4 seed), and George Mason (#11 seed) 2011: Butler (#8 seed), UConn (#3 seed), VCU (#11 seed), and Kentucky (#4 seed)