No it is not a travel as long as you do not take more than two steps before passing or shooting.
One type of penalty is when a defensive player hits the hand of the shooter when shooting, or travel when you take to many steps before bouncing the basketball.
2, the highest you can get without a travel is 1 and a half
No, there is no rule that says you must dribble the basketball before you can shoot it. But you may not take any steps with out dribbling the ball, if you do "travel" with the ball without dribbling the referee will whistle a penalty.
You can take three steps but you have to shoot on the third
This steps is a travel at most levels of basketball, with an exception of extremely young leagues. The maximum amount of steps a player can take without traveling is 2 steps. Even though traveling is probably the most commonly ignored penalty in professional basketball, so it would not surprise me if someone thought something like that.
the player took 3 steps without dribbling so the ref called a travel
it is a travel and the other team gets the ball
joe Davis is the founder of basketball as his mate dan street is coolTraveling is when you do not dribble and you're moving (not including the two steps took in a layup)
Well three steps is a travel. Maybe the officials didn't see the third step, they probably were not in a good angle, etc. But 3 steps are definitely a travel.
It means to travel. It is when you take too many steps without dribbling the ball. Or when you take too many steps after you stop dribbling the ball.