Best Answer

11 conferences plus 1 independent

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-11-10 19:37:08
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
See all Study Guides
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How many conferences are there in football?
Write your answer...
Related questions

How many NCAA division 1 football conferences are there?


How many sixteen team college football conferences are there?


How many conferences are in NCAA Division 1 football?


How many conferences are in the NCAA?

There are 11 conferences in NCAA Division in which a college has a football team. The exist in all areas of the United States.

Where can you watch college football conferences?

College football conferences can be watched from various media and social media as well as video sharing websites such as Youtube, Facebook, Veoh, Dailymotion, Pro Football Daily and other websites that have snippets of football conferences.

How many football conferences in college football?

in the FBS there are 11 conferences(SEC, ACC, big 10, big 12, pac-10, big east, C-USA, sun belt, MWC, WAC, and independents)

Why do NCAA football have conferences and not NFL?

The NFL does have conferences -- two of them. The American Football Conference (AFC) and the National Football Conference (NFL). The two conference winners play each other in the Super Bowl.

What are the two NFL conferences?

The National Football Conference and the American Football Conference.

How many different division are there in the national football league?

The NFL is split in to 2 conferences - the National Football Conference (NFC) and the American Football Conference (AFC). These two conferences are then split into four divisions each, North, South, East, and West. So there is a NFC West, AFC West, NFC South, AFC South, and so on.

How many conferences are in the North East Australian Football League?

The NEAFL is operated in two conferences: the Northern Conference, serving Queensland and the Northern Territory, and the Eastern Conference, serving New South Wales and the ACT.

What was the conferences the patriots played at?

Since the AFL/NFL merger, the Patriots have always Played in the Amercian Football Conferences' East Division.

Which conferences play in the Super Bowl?

A team from the AFC (American Football Conference) and the NFC (National Football Conference) play against each other in the Super Bowl. They are the only two conferences in the NFL.

Why are there two professional football conferences?

Because every sport needs to have conferences so there can be an interesting final game. This happens to be the AFC and NFC.

What are the conferences in the NFL?

2 Conferences, divided each into 4 divisions. NFC (National Football Conference) North, South, East, West AFC (American Football Conference) North, South, East, West

How many football teams are there in the national football league?

The league currently consists of 32 teams from American cities and regions, divided evenly into two conferences - the American Football Conference (AFC) and National Football Conference (NFC) - of four four-team divisions.

What college football conferences has Southwestern University been affiliated with?

Southwestern University (in Georgetown TX) does not have a football team, therefore it is not affiliated with any football conference.

What conferences is the New England Patriots in?

The New England Patriots are in the Eastern Division of the American Football Conference in the National Football League.

What are the names of the two conferences in the NFL?

The American Football Conference (AFC) and the National Football Conference (NFC).

Can a ncaa school be in two different conferences in football and basketball?

Yes, Notre Dame is independent in football but plays basketball in the big east.

How Many conferences are there in the United Methodist Church?

As of 2005, there were 63 Annual Conferences in the United States. Since then at least three have merged with other conferences. There are 68 Annual Conferences (including provisional conferences) outside the United States.

Which two leagues compete in the super bowl?

It's just one league--the National Football League--but two conferences: the American Football Conference and the National Football Conference.

What is a conference in football?

The NFL has 2 conferences. The NFC (national football conference) and the AFC (American Football Conference) The AFC was created after the AFL (American Football league) disbanded and converged into the NFL in 1970

How are college football conferences chosen or determined?

Each conference selects it's own membership. Institutions are invited to join by the other, existing members of a conference. Each member will remain a member of an athletic conference for as long as the institution desires to remain a member. Most college athletic conferences are all-sports or multi-sport conferences that extend beyond football.

American football teams?

There are a total of 32 American professional football teams. They are separated into conferences and divisions. For example, the New York Giants are in the National Football Conference and in the East division.

What is the number of teams in NFL?

There are 32 football teams in the NFL. They are divided up into two 16-team conferences, the NFC (National Football Conference), and the AFC (American Football Conference.)