How long have the Montreal canadiens been playing NHL for?

Updated: 8/17/2019
User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

Best Answer

The Montreal Canadiens was founded on December 4, 1909. From 1909 to 1917, the Montreal Canadiens were playing in the nha and soon after, from 1917, the Canadiens started playing in nha till now.

Hope that's helpful

XD c(= TM

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How long have the Montreal canadiens been playing NHL for?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

How long have the Montreal Canadiens been around?

They were founded in 1909.

How long have Montreal Canadiens been around?

They were founded in 1909.

What hockey teams that have won the Stanley cup?

The Stanley Cup was first awarded decades before the NHL was created. They awarded the cup differently then. From 1892 until 1914 they did not have a round robin playoff series like they do now. The winners of series could challenge each other for the Cup. Some challenges were played in the middle of the season as long as it was approved by the Stanley Cup trustees. Therefore, there was usually more than one challenge in a season, which in turn means the Cup was awarded more than once in a season. 1893 Montreal AAA 1894 Montreal AAA 1895 Montreal Victorias 1896 Montreal Victorias 1896 Winnipeg Victorias 1897 Montreal Victorias 1898 Montreal Victorias 1899 Montreal Shamrocks 1900 Montreal Shamrocks 1901 Winnipeg Victorias 1902 Winnipeg Victorias 1902 Montreal AAA 1903 Montreal AAA 1903 Ottawa Senators 1904 Ottawa Senators 1905 Ottawa Senators 1906 Ottawa Senators 1906 Montreal Wanderers 1907 Kenora Thistles 1907 Montreal Wanderers 1908 Montreal Wanderers 1909 Ottawa Senators 1910 Montreal Wanderers 1911 Ottawa Senators 1912 Quebec Bulldogs 1913 Quebec Bulldogs 1914 Toronto Blueshirts Between 1915 and 1927, prior to the NHL taking over the Cup, they played the best of 3 or best of 5. It was usually the winner of the NHA or NHL against one of the other leagues (Western Canada Hockey League, Western Hockey League, or Pacific Coast Hockey Association). 1915 Vancouver Millionaires 1916 Montreal Canadiens 1917 Seattle Metropolitans 1918 Toronto Arenas 1919 Series Cancelled 1920 Ottawa Senators 1921 Ottawa Senators 1922 Toronto St. Pats 1923 Ottawa Senators 1924 Montreal Canadiens 1925 Victoria Cougars 1926 Montreal Maroons The NHL officially took over the Stanley Cup in the 1926-27 season and awarded it to their annual champion. 1927 Ottawa Senators 1928 New York Rangers 1929 Boston Bruins 1930 Montreal Canadiens 1931 Montreal Canadiens 1932 Toronto Maple Leafs 1933 New York Rangers 1934 Chicago Black Hawks 1935 Montreal Maroons 1936 Detroit Red Wings 1937 Detroit Red Wings 1938 Chicago Blackhawks 1939 Boston Bruins 1940 New York Rangers 1941 Boston Bruins 1942 Toronto Maple Leafs 1943 Detroit Red Wings 1944 Montreal Canadiens 1945 Toronto Maple Leafs 1946 Montreal Canadiens 1947 Toronto Maple Leafs 1948 Toronto Maple Leafs 1949 Toronto Maple Leafs 1950 Detroit Red Wings 1951 Toronto Maple Leafs 1952 Detroit Red Wings 1953 Montreal Canadiens 1954 Detroit Red Wings 1955 Detroit Red Wings 1956 Montreal Canadiens 1957 Montreal Canadiens 1958 Montreal Canadiens 1959 Montreal Canadiens 1960 Montreal Canadiens 1961 Chicago Blackhawks 1962 Toronto Maple Leafs 1963 Toronto Maple Leafs 1964 Toronto Maple Leafs 1965 Montreal Canadiens 1966 Montreal Canadiens 1967 Toronto Maple Leafs 1968 Montreal Canadiens 1969 Montreal Canadiens 1970 Boston Bruins 1971 Montreal Canadiens 1972 Boston Bruins 1973 Montreal Canadiens 1974 Philadelphia Flyers 1975 Philadelphia Flyers 1976 Montreal Canadiens 1977 Montreal Canadiens 1978 Montreal Canadiens 1979 Montreal Canadiens 1980 New York Islanders 1981 New York Islanders 1982 New York Islanders 1983 New York Islanders 1984 Edmonton Oilers 1985 Edmonton Oilers 1986 Montreal Canadiens 1987 Edmonton Oilers 1988 Edmonton Oilers 1989 Calgary Flames 1990 Edmonton Oilers 1991 Pittsburgh Penguins 1992 Pittsburgh Penguins 1993 Montreal Canadiens 1994 New York Rangers 1995 New Jersey Devils 1996 Colorado Avalanche 1997 Detroit Red Wings 1998 Detroit Red Wings 1999 Dallas Stars 2000 New Jersey Devils 2001 Colorado Avalanche 2002 Detroit Red Wings 2003 New Jersey Devils 2004 Tampa Bay Lightning 2005 NHL Lockout 2006 Carolina Hurricanes 2007 Anaheim Ducks 2008 Detroit Red Wings 2009 Pittsburgh Penguins 2010 Chicago Blackhawks 2011 Boston Bruins2012 Los Angeles Kings 2013 Chicago Blackhawks

How long has ted lilly been in the majors for?

Lilly made his debut with the Montreal Expos in 1999 and is still currently playing with the Los Angeles Dodgers in 2011.

How long have you been or you have been playing tennis. Which one is correct?

Both could be correct. One is a question - How long have you been playing tennis? One is a statement - You have been playing tennis.

How long has samba been playing?

samba has been playing since the 1920s

How long does it take to fly from Montreal to Nasseau?

How long does it take to fly from Montreal to Nasseau?

How long does it take to drive from Montreal to Newfoundland?

how long is to take drive from Montreal to Newfoundland

How long has Mexico been playing soccer for?

Well, They Have been playing all there Life.

How long have the Chicago Bears been playing football?

They have been playing since the 1920's.

How long has Allen Iverson been playing?

Allen Iverson been playing since,1996.

How long has Logan Tom been playing?

She has been playing for USA national team since 1996.