answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

According to MLB Rule 2.00: "A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand."

"A FOUL BALL is a batted ball that settles on foul territory between home and first base, or between home and third base, or that bounds past first or third base on or over foul territory, or that first falls on foul territory beyond first or third base, or that, while on or over foul territory, touches the person of an umpire or player, or any object foreign to the natural ground.

A foul fly shall be judged according to the relative position of the ball and the foul line, including the foul pole, and not as to whether the infielder is on foul or fair territory at the time he touches the ball."

Therefore, by definition, a foul tip cannot go 'high' enough to be caught for an out. Any pitched ball the batter fouls into the air is a 'foul ball' and not a 'foul tip'.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-04-03 21:36:31
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How high does a baseball foul tip have to go to be caught for an out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

When is a foul ball caught by the catcher an out?

The baseball rules differentiate between a foul ball and a foul tip.A foul tip caught by the catcher is a strike. If it's the third strike the result is a strikeout, otherwise the at bat continues.A foul ball caught in the air by any fielder (including the catcher) is a pop out (or fly out, which is scored the same).Major League Baseball rules define a foul tip as follows:A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand.Many people were taught that a foul tip is anything that does not go over the batter's head, or that does not go at least six feet high, but those criteria are not in the rule book.


In baseball is a foul tip considered a dead ball?

Only if not caught sharply and directly by the catcher.


Can a runner on first base steal second on a foul tip?

Foul-tip Rule 2.00 see also; Strike (g) and 6.05(b) There is nothing "FOUL" about a foul-tip. It is a strike and the ball is alive. A foul-tip is the same as a swing and a miss. To be a foul-tip, by rule, the ball must go sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hand or glove AND BE CAUGHT. Confusion arises on this because people commonly call any ball that is tipped or nicked a foul-tip. It is not a foul-tip, by rule, unless the nicked or tipped ball is caught. If it is not caught, it is simply a foul-ball. A foul-ball is a dead ball. A foul-tip (a legally caught nick) is a live ball strike, just like a swing and a miss. Read the rule in the Official Baseball Rules


Is the batter out if a foul tip is caught by the catcher and the count is either no strikes or one strike?

No.MLB rule 2.00 defines a foul tip as follows:" A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand. "So the answer to your question is no since a foul tip that is caught is only considered a strike.


Why isn't it an out on a caught foul tip ball on a first and second strike but it is an out on the third?

According to MLB Official Rules 2.00 Definition of Terms:" A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher’s hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher’s glove or hand. "According to the rules, a foul tip and a foul ball are two different things.


Is a foul tip with 2 strikes that is caught by the catcher an out?

Yes


If there is a foul tip into the catchers glove and is caught can the runner advance to the next base?

A Foul Tip, which is different than a Foul, is a live ball, and runner's can advance.


What is a foul tip in baseball?

A foul tip is a ball tipped by the bat that goes directly to the catcher's glove and is caught in the air. It is treated exactly the same as any other strike. The ball remains live.


What is the minimum height of a pop up foul tip to be out?

There is no minimum height associated with a foul tip - a foul tip is defined as a foul ball which is caught by the catcher without contacting anything else. If it occurs with two existing strikes, the batter is out.


Why is a batter called out if a foul tip is caught?

The foul tip is called out if caught because it could be in bounds or out of bounds. The umps don't know where it is until it touches the ground, so if it didn't touch the ground, how could there be a fair ruling on if it was out or in. SO if the ball is hit and caught without touching the ground, it is an out, if it looks foul or fair.According to MLB Rules, Section 2, a foul tip is defined as:"a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand."


Does a foul ball count as a ball if the batter already has 2 strikes?

A foul ball never counts as a ball. In Major League Baseball, a foul ball only counts as the third strike if it's a foul tip that was caught by the catcher.


If the count is two strikes and a foul tip is caught by the catcher is the batter out?

YES.

People also asked