it's 63.72 ft
There is a pitcher's circle but no actual mound of dirt. There is a pitcher's circle but no actual mound of dirt.
To do this you would use Pathagreon's Theory. 602 + 602 = (square root of) 7200 = ~84.85 feet. This represents that straight line between the bases. It measure from the tip of one bag to the tip of the other bag. So to determine how far to the pitcher's mound you would divide this number by 2. This give you approximately 42.425 feet fromt eh tip od thrid base to the edge of the pitchers mound.
He doesn't HAVE to, he probably just does it as a sort of knee-jerk reaction - field a ball, throw it to first. It doesn't affect the play in any way. This answer is correct. In baseball, after an out is recorded with no one on base, the team will normally throw the ball around the infield and return to the pitcher by the thirdbaseman..It is more of a traditional ritual than anything else.
The official scorer would have to determine if the throw was catchable. If the throw was, then the error would be on the first baseman and he would be charged as such. If on the other hand the throw was a bad one and the first baseman had to reach and could not catch the ball, then the error is on the pitcher. Only one error would be charged even though the base runner advanced two base and scored.
Each runner, other than the batter, may without liability to be put out, advance one base when there is a balk or the batters advance without liability to be put out forces the runner to vacate his base, or when the batter hits a fair ball that touches another runner or the umpire before such ball has been touched by, or has passed a fielder, if the runner is forced to advance The bases of the baseball diamond are 90 ft apart. The diagonal distance between 1st and 3rd bases is therefore about 127.3 ft (90 feet times the square root of 2). The pitcher's mound lies (roughly) in the center so it will be half the distance between 1st and 3rd bases - 62.6 feet. That's how far the pitcher has to throw to get a base runner out on 1st. It's the same distance he has to throw to get the ball to the catcher (roughly - since he steps toward home plate as he delivers the pitch).
If a balk was called it would be called on his move to 3rd, not the move to 2nd in this situation. Balks are called on first movement, so as long as he did everything properly "stepping to 3rd", then he can throw to wherever he wants
This is because the rules of baseball say the mound is a distance from homeplate that is less than halfway the distance between homeplate and 2nd base. The distance is the same between each base in order (the same from home to 1st, 1st to 2nd, 2nd to 3rd, 3rd to home.) This results in the distance between homeplate and 2nd equal to the distance between 1st and 3rd. If you draw a line between homeplate and 2nd, and a line between 1st and 3rd, the lines will intersect in the center of the baseball diamond. However, the center point will be behind the pitcher's mound. You can use the Pythagorean Theorem to prove the distance from the mound to home is less than the center point, but that is another question. (Hint: The distance squared from home to first plus the distance squared from first to second divided by 2).
Pitcher, Catcher, 1st base, 2nd base, 3rd base or short stop
Right feild, Center feild, Left Feild, Catcher, Pitcher, 1st base, 2nd base, 3rd base, and Short stop. AND I PLAY SHORTS STOP 2nd BASE 3rd SO YA.
According to the rules of baseball if a right handed pitcher is going to make a move to first base while his pivot foot (right) is in contact with the rubber his left foot's FIRST MOVE must be toward first. It is not necessary to step off the rubber but the pitcher cannot raise his left foot as if to make a pitch and then spin and throw to first. What is important to know on this subject is that while in contact with the rubber with his pivot foot the pitcher is a pitcher. once the pitcher steps behind the rubber he is no longer the pitcher. He becomes an infielder! What's the difference? If a "pitcher" attemps a throw to first or third and the throw goes out of play all runners advance ONE base from the base they were on when the play started. When a fielder throws a ball out of play all runners get TWO bases from the base they were on when the play started. As crazy as that sounds, that is what happens all the time but it is called incorrectly. You hear "one base on an overthrow" but the reality is that when a ball is batted and the shortstop throws it out of play the BATTER who started at home plate goes to second. That is TWO bases from where he was when the play started!! In addition when a ball is thrown out of play by an outfielder then the runners are awarded TWO bases from the base they had possession of AT THE TIME OF THE THROW. This would also apply to any throw made by an infielder AFTER all runners and the batter have reached one base safely. (ex. relay throw) ---- I am so glad to see someone get this right! I believe that the popularity of the jump step, which is a quicker, better move, has many people believing that it's the only way the rules allow. But if you watched baseball in the 50's and 60's most righthanded pitchers DID NOT use the modern jump step. They stepped towards first-base while pivoting on their rightfoot never disengaging the rubber!! I used that move for more than 20 years of highschool, college and semi-pro baseball. And I only had a few balks called and they were for other infractions!